Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strategy guide writers, use this as your guide
This is just about the best strategy guide I've ever seen. It has:
1. Clear, well-organized lists of all the items, weapons and spells in the game, accompanied by short descriptions that provide useful information.
2. Excellent character profiles that enable you to customize your party to the fullest.
3. A pitch-perfect beastiary with, from what I've seen,...
Published on March 12, 2003 by J. Roberts

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe this is just me
I really appreciate walkthroughs and strategy guides when I play through a game. Maybe it's the perfectionist in me, but I love spending hours and hours mastering every aspect I possibly can. Kingdom Hearts just happens to be one of my absolute favorite games; I've probably logged over 200 hours on it (don't judge me! haha).

I ordered this book for kicks and...
Published 21 months ago by DarKnight36


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strategy guide writers, use this as your guide, March 12, 2003
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts Official Strategy Guide (Signature Series) (Paperback)
This is just about the best strategy guide I've ever seen. It has:
1. Clear, well-organized lists of all the items, weapons and spells in the game, accompanied by short descriptions that provide useful information.
2. Excellent character profiles that enable you to customize your party to the fullest.
3. A pitch-perfect beastiary with, from what I've seen, accurate statistics for every beast in the game, including bosses.
4. A clearly written walkthrough. While some of the hints and descriptions are a little lacking in detail, this is a very large game, and providing step-by-step illustrations could have proved even more confusing or just ruined the fun of playing the game through.
5. Ideal boss fight strategies, providing more information about the boss than about how you should deal with it, allowing the player to adjust their style of play to each new bad guy while not wasting time.
6. The simply cool addition of a map and stickers to keep track of your progress with puppies and Trinity Marks. At first I though this was cheesy, but it's a great way to track your progress.
The last bit is the most important though: this is a guide through the game, not a step-by-step, this is how you beat the game, kids, completely outlined with no room for interpretation rulebook, giving you the freedom to enjoy the game at your own pace and in your own style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent -- precisely what a strategy guide should be, October 29, 2002
By 
TritoneAngel "tritoneangel" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts Official Strategy Guide (Signature Series) (Paperback)
This guide is filled with all the things a good strategy guide must have: clear maps, practical strategies, helpful tips and comprehensive item/accessory listings. You get the complete bestiary, complete with weaknesses, locations and pictures. This is particularly helpful if you need particular items from particular enemies for item synthesis (all of which, both enemies and their respective items, are meticulously detailed in this guide in a clear layout). You get walkthroughs of every world, every step of the way -- and if you've played this game, with the expansive worlds it features, you know this is absolutely necessary. It would have taken me at least three times as long to navigate through Atlantica (the Little Mermaid stage) without this guide, but thanks to its clear delivery and direction, I whizzed through it. You get strategies for all bosses and hidden bosses that actually work -- including warnings of special attacks and effects (i.e. - the tips for the Ice Titan keep you from getting frozen to death by his giant freezing attacks). In short, this guide does exactly what a good strategy guide is supposed to do -- it helps in every area of the game from walkthroughs to navigational difficulties, and reveals all hidden possbilities. If you want to master this game, or if you're having the slightest trouble getting through it, this guide will make sure you're an expert in no time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Guide., April 8, 2003
By 
tvtv3 "tvtv3" (St. Louis Metro East Area) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts Official Strategy Guide (Signature Series) (Paperback)
After purchasing and playing KINGDOM HEARTS, I got addicted. However, after advancing rather quickly in the game, I got stuck between Monstro and Atlantica. I scoured the Internet, but it soon became a hassle to visit the net anytime that I reached a point I couldn't get past. So, I broke down and purchased the Official Strategy Guide. I'm really glad that I did. This is an awesome strategy guide! Without it, I would not have beaten Kingdom Hearts. The information contained within has also helped me beat 2 out of the 4 super bosses (I have yet to beat The Phantom and Sephiloth). Advanced gamers may not find this book useful, but just about everyone else who plays Kingdom Hearts will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect...except for one thing..., May 30, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts Official Strategy Guide (Signature Series) (Paperback)
This guide really is great. If you are having trouble with Kingdom Hearts, you'll definitely want this guide. It tells you everything you need to know, from the basics, to the worlds, to the secret bosses. Everything is explained throughly and the maps and screenshots are great followers. Plus, the biographies for each character are cool to read and the pictures of the characters are so pretty to look at! The only problem with this guide is that it's a major spoiler for the game. The game is supposed to be a surprise every time you go to a new world or seal one of them. See, each of the worlds is supposed to be nothing like the last except for the fact that they're all Disney Worlds. When reading the player's guide, I always knew what was going to happen, and that's not very fun! If you like spoilers, read ahead in the guide. If you like surprises, don't read ahead unless you're extremely stuck. 'Cause without the player's guide, it's true: You never know who you'll run into next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST (and only) guide for Kingdom Hearts, October 19, 2002
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts Official Strategy Guide (Signature Series) (Paperback)
This guide was awesome and of great help to me! You can't get any better than this right now. The BradyGAMES Signature series continues with Kingdom Hearts. This guide is jampacked with detail after detail, maps upon maps, and boss stategies upon boss strategies of help!
However, there is at least ONE spoiler in the guide (the only spoiler actually) that you may want to wait and it just so happens to be in the last few pages (in other words the final boss), so take your time with this one and use as you go through the game and don't be like me and read the whole walkthrough before you even start!
BUT the guide has so much to offer. Fully detailed map that pin-point the location of items and trinitys. Boss tatics that will actually lead you to victory against some of he toughest bosses in the game with NO plot spoilers whatsoever (and thats a good thing cuz this storyline was absolutely breathtaking)!
Tips on how to customize your characters and list of abilities! Side quest and optional bosses revealed, including Sephiroth! Comeplete coverage and tips on how to build the perfect gummi ship! Stats on each blue print.
Character profiles identify who's with you and who's not, who is the best in battle, and who...[isnt] Complete bestiary with complete stats on all the enemies in the game!
Detailed items and synthesis list and complete list of weapons to let you know what's best for your characters.
A free poster is included to help you find all 99 Dalmations and all the trinitys. This is THE guide for Kingdom Hearts, the complete game is covered and they tried so hard to satisfy us (it worked on me) by actually taking things into account this time. This is the best guide out there.
OVERALL
Positive
+Great in-depth walkthrough
+Free poster
+All side quest covered
+Boss strategies that just blow us away
+Complete Bestiary
Negative
-Get to the point BradyGAMES! Waste too much time
-Maps are handrawn (still detailed)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Needed!, January 25, 2004
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts Official Strategy Guide (Signature Series) (Paperback)
I love the game, and l love it even more with this book! EXcelent! I mean, you don't ever get frustrated and this is an easy game to get frustrated in! Doesn't make the game any less fun, but more since you don't get frustrated. Grab the game and the guide and have a blast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have!, January 4, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts Official Strategy Guide (Signature Series) (Paperback)
you must have this guide!it tells you what to do next,how to beat bosses(yay!)and how to get the KH2 preview(win hades cup,get all the puppies,and seal all the worlds.I haven't seen it because i'm still at Hollow Bastion so I haven't beat the game but i'm close and I hear the KH2 preview is really Specktangular!!!(...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A MUST for the Kingdom Hearts Player, April 4, 2003
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts Official Strategy Guide (Signature Series) (Paperback)
If you bought the game, I know you will NEED this book. Thankfully, the people at Brady Games did not do a "Play Online" thing in this book as they did with Final Fantasy IX, so this game is SO much more useful.
In any case, this book not only gives you rather decent instructions on how to navigate the tricky worlds such as Hollow Bastion or Wonderland, but it gives detailed lists of monsters, spells, and items.
This book is really needed if you wish to open the whole game up and see everythign there is to see in this game. Not only does it have these normal stats, but it also includes information on the four additional bosses that the North America branch of Squaresoft added to give players more challenge. The most infamous of the four additional villians happens to be Final Fantasy VII's Sepheroth!
The book if fully illustrated, but sometimes it's easier to follow the maps than the written instructions, but in either case, it's a big help to anyone who plays this game.. and saves one from having to go online and find the answers that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it'll amaze you, April 28, 2006
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts Official Strategy Guide (Signature Series) (Paperback)
This game is far more complex than I could have ever expected and you can beat it and still leave half of it unplayed! I fell in love with kingdom hearts and decided I couldn't be happy until I'd seen all there was to see. With the guide, you'll have the advantage in tournaments, mini games, item hunts, and leveling up not to mention the random secret events and movies hidden in the game. A must-have for any kingdom hearts fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To Play and Be Prepared: This is the guide to own!, February 15, 2004
This review is from: Kingdom Hearts Official Strategy Guide (Signature Series) (Paperback)
I'm not one to usually buy books with a game, but I got this one as a gift, and am so glad I did. The book is catagorized by each world. The top of each page has a tab of which section it is referring to. Organization is great, the pictures are wonderful as well.
Monsters HP and items they drop during the game is shown in the back of this book.
Also, any weapons you wish to synthisize, it gives the complete recipe to what you need!
Everything about this book is great. The game is easy enough without the book, but if you want to collect everything, get all the best weapons, and defeat the toughest bosses in the game, this is your best bet.
The boss strategies are very helpfull. Sometimes, the bosses were easy enough, and the guide wasn't needed, but when encountering opponents in let's say, the tournaments, this is a great help.
Stickers are included to help you keep track of finding all 99 dalmations.
Step by step, Kingdom Hearts can be completed without an item missed with this book!
Excellent!
Another excellent strategy guides:
Final Fantasy X-2 - Official Strategy Guide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Kingdom Hearts Official Strategy Guide (Signature Series)
Kingdom Hearts Official Strategy Guide (Signature Series) by Dan Birlew (Paperback - September 21, 2002)
$14.99 $12.07
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.