Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game, vast amount of content.
Huge world to run around in, unique art style, complex story (nod to R.A. Salvatore), and a fun combat system make this game well worth the 10$ on this current deal.

A quick note: The FOV on the default game make it a bit hard to take on PC and may cause headaches when playing in front of a computer, I'd recommend this little utility to fix it ([...]) Edit:...
Published 10 months ago by Travie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars quite a good game :-)
good game and nice bundle (Kingdoms of Amalur + DLC Bundle) as is for the price of it :-)

1
Published 8 months ago by MRLW


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game, vast amount of content., February 18, 2014
This review is from: Kingdoms of Amalur + DLC Bundle [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Huge world to run around in, unique art style, complex story (nod to R.A. Salvatore), and a fun combat system make this game well worth the 10$ on this current deal.

A quick note: The FOV on the default game make it a bit hard to take on PC and may cause headaches when playing in front of a computer, I'd recommend this little utility to fix it ([...]) Edit: Darn, I guess Amazon removes links, just google 'widescreen fixer' and it should be the first result. I found that around 70-80 FOV felt much more natural. Unfortunately since the company was not together for long after the game's release they were never able to get around to fixing it.

I'm currently on my second playthrough (first time without DLC), each DLC seems to be around 10-15 hours of extra content but can be less if you avoid sidequests.

Max game time can be upwards of 100 hours or longer if you are a completionist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome! Make sure you buy the STEAM DRM version (NOT ORIGIN ONE), March 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kingdoms of Amalur + DLC Bundle [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I bought this game prior under the Origin DOWNLOAD and install version.. and it froze after the first 5 min. I was so bummed as this game had a wonderful appeal to it from aesthetics to combat commands and quest/item management. Luckily a few Amazon post reader saw my comment on that version and told me about this STEAM DRM run version. I bought the "Online Game Code" version late last month and have been playing it every night now for the past few weeks and love it. No freezing, no hiccups, auto saves are appropriate spots. Until ElderScrolls online comes out, this game is a fantastic play... just make sure you get the version that has the DRM as STEAM (says it up top near the title) otherwise you will be very disappointed with the Origin version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For $10 what a great deal, February 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kingdoms of Amalur + DLC Bundle [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Granted it was released 2 years ago, but for a 37 yo, father of 3, budget conscienced moderate gamer, it's a great deal. The fact that this game has a easy save system and a relatively easy plot line, makes it a great game to play for 15 minutes walk away then come back.

I own an i7 Shuttle with mid-range graphics card, works great. Not the cutting edge visuals but nice.

My only complaint is the fact, even though you get a Steam code, you still have to signup with EA/Origins. Not to mention it will connect to EA servers every time you play. Not a big enough deal to remove a star but more of a peeve.

--CONCLUSION--
For $10, it's a great deal. Not to mention, you can have over 200 hours of game play... So that's 5 cents for every hour of gaming. Try to find that enjoyment anywhere else. Heck I spent over $20 waiting for my laundry to dry when I was in college. All I have to show for that is a 44th ranking with three lousy initials. A_A_S The low kick button was too overly sensitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't beat the price., February 25, 2014
By 
C. Atkinson (Lake of the Ozarks, MO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kingdoms of Amalur + DLC Bundle [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
$10 for the game and dlc. Nice. :)

Read the other reviews, particularly on Steam. They range from 65% to 90% user review scores.
[EDIT: Amazon removed the link to the reviews on steam. Google "Kingdom of Amalur Steampowered" and it will come right up. Well worth the read.]

Was easy to redeem on Steam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun game but watch for bugs, February 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kingdoms of Amalur + DLC Bundle [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I really like this game and there is a lot to do but since the company that made it went out of business there are no bug patches. So save often and keep multiple saves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for the Purchase Price, February 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kingdoms of Amalur + DLC Bundle [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
The game was good for what it was. Price point was incredible including the DLC. Sad the studio did not last long enough-would have loved to see what it was doing. Contrary to others, you do not need to login to Origin-this is Steam and it should directly send you to the menu screen. It also has the elements of a good game including:
-story was interesting
-many quests and diverse ways to explore
-not-as-linear (can go focusing on side quests or do whatever pleases your fancy)
-interesting art direction

Some room for improvement:
-character customization
-mod adaptation
-game length started to drag and lose a little luster

Recommendation: For people that enjoy RPG and carved world environments.
NOT for people with little patience or do not want to sink time into the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game for you Skyrim fans, July 16, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kingdoms of Amalur + DLC Bundle [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I was looking for a Skyrim type of game after I finished that game. This game was recommended and I was not disappointed. It's the closest game to Skyrim I've found. The plot is well done, the quests are interesting, and the voice acting is acceptable. I also highly recommend the expansion packs for it. They were pretty good as well. The only detractor that I can give you for this game is that Reckoning is an automatic IWIN button.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great to play with a joypad. Not so good with keyb+mouse, February 18, 2014
This review is from: Kingdoms of Amalur + DLC Bundle [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
My first try with mouse+keyboard made the game look bad. I give it a second chance using a joypad and it got so much better (a mix of Skyrim with God of War combat!). The story is complex but very meaningful if you take the time to talk to the NPCs. Side quests are numerous and the world is open and very vast. There is much to explore and rewards for your exploration seem to await around every corner. The combat is awesome IF you use a joypad. I really enjoy the art style as well, it doesn't try to look realistic, instead it focuses on looking cool (which is where Todd McFarlane is at his best). But dont play using a keyboard+mouse, please. It takes too many clicks to get into the menu you want and back out again and so switching a piece of armor or a weapon is more time consuming than it should be.
Flaws aside, I gave this game a **** because I really enjoyed to play it for more than 60 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Game, May 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kingdoms of Amalur + DLC Bundle [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Love it. Pretty cool game to play. Keeps me busy when I have down time during my day. Great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just finished.Loved it!, April 16, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kingdoms of Amalur + DLC Bundle [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Awesome game, neat environment. Will be a bit weird in the beginning- with weird controls. But soon ti'll be no probs.
Just finished Amalur. Now started playing Teeth of Naros.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.