Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


Kings of Calypso [Import]

Various ArtistsAudio CD
3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

Available from these sellers.

Amazon's Various Artists Store

Visit Amazon's Various Artists Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Product Details

  • Audio CD (February 5, 1998)
  • Original Release Date: 2005
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Castle/Pulse
  • ASIN: B000008582
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #839,339 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Donkey City
2. Heading North
3. Zombie Jamboree
4. You Don't Need Glasses To
5. Belly Lick
6. Prince Rainer
7. Woman Police In England
8. Dingo Lay
9. Lazy Moon
10. Tv Calypso
11. Me One Alone
12. Patricia Gone With Millic
13. My Experience On The Riep
14. New York Subway
15. Calypso War
16. Down The Line
17. Reincarnation
18. Jamaica Girl
19. Don't Fence Her In
20. Not Me
See all 28 tracks on this disc

Editorial Reviews

Tracks Include: Ben Bowers: Donkey City, the Mighty Terror: Heading North, Lord Invader: Reincarnation (The Bed Bug), Noel Anthony: Down the Line and More.

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
3.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BBC Calypso December 27, 1999
Format:Audio CD
This recording is a bit unusual. If you are familiar with how indigenous Calypso sounds, you will recognize the "acoustic" differences right away in these British recordings. The Calypso of the 30's through to the 50's (the golden age of Calypso from which these classics are culled) is blaring and brassy...almost like mambo music. But the favorites on this recording seem to have been re-recorded (in the BBC studios or something) with a jazzy little guitar & sax ensemble. The result is quaint, cozy and a little too polished, coming off like those smoothie novelties from Harry Belafonte or even Bobby Darin in the 50's. This "novelty" feeling is compounded by the fact that only about a third of the Calypsonians are Trinidadians (the rest from Jamaica, apparently). In fact The Mighty Terror (one of the Trini contingent) points this out in his challenge to "impostors" on the 15th track, "Calypso War" in which he says he and Lord Kitchener (the Grandmaster of Calypso, lamentably not represented on this album) are the only real Calypsonians in England. He calls the pretenders out and challenges them to compose "extemporaneously" on the spot (a proud tradition in Calypso much like rappers do today). Nevertheless, this recording is a cool, breezy, hotel-lounge version of Calypso that was actually played throughout the Caribbean in the 50's, especially for tourists. Also, for it's importance as a source of alternate recordings by Calypso champions like Terror and Invader, I have to praise this recording. Jazzy or brassy, cool or hot, Calypso is still clever and catchy. And have you seen the price for this CD? Buy it quick before Amazon comes to their senses!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category