Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Blood of My Enemies
My allies and I will only listen to true metal when preparing for battle. Although my foes are myriad, they cannot crush my spirit. And this album has substantially contributed to that spirit. I've got the biggest amps, and man they blast. I cannot understand why a person would by an album by any other band. Other bands play, Manowar kills.
Published on June 26, 2003 by Metal King

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
This is good, solid Manowar although I like Triumph of Steel and Return of the Warlord better. Still good battle music.
Published 14 months ago by Brent D. Sorenson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Blood of My Enemies, June 26, 2003
By 
This review is from: Kings of Metal (Audio CD)
My allies and I will only listen to true metal when preparing for battle. Although my foes are myriad, they cannot crush my spirit. And this album has substantially contributed to that spirit. I've got the biggest amps, and man they blast. I cannot understand why a person would by an album by any other band. Other bands play, Manowar kills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A joy-ride all the way through!, April 29, 2003
This review is from: Kings of Metal (Audio CD)
While rumaging through the CD's at my local Used CD store, my eyes fell upon a used copy of Kings Of Metal. I quickly picked it up. The album just blew me awy. Sure Manowar my be a little oon the cheesy side with their ourtagous costumes and unique lyrics, but their music is fun and fast. It was a nice change from listening to all the nu-metal withieir their moaning aobut how bad their life is and how society [messed] them up. Manowar is totally different. Manowar seems to be happy their metal artisits and they love to show it with their music. Belive it or not,, Manowar can be seen as an uplifting Metal group. KINGS OF METAL is so much fun. The album can make you feel aggressive and as well as make you laugh. It's a joy ride all the way through. The instrumental Sting of the Bumblebee was a real treat. Soon after my experience with Kings of Metal. I went of and bought Warriors of the World and was equally blown away. So if your sick of all the nu-metal groups complaing about their so called "bad" lives, give Manowar a try, they just may surprise you! MANOWAR, THE KINGS OF METAL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courageous Music, October 29, 1999
By 
This review is from: Kings of Metal (Audio CD)
I'd buy this CD for one song and feel I'd got my money's worth. The song: Heart of Steel. Last summer I was in Bosnia for 4 months. I listened to that song daily on my way there, while there, and on my way home. The song says "Build a fire a thousand miles away, to light my long way home." Now,I was 3 times that far away, and this song helped bring me home. I also highly recommend "Wheels of FIre", "Kings of Metal", and "Sting of the Bumblebee". Manowar isn't for everyone, but it is for adventurers and warriors. Take the risk. Stand and Fight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stand down, little man, May 5, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Kings of Metal (Audio CD)
No, no, no, little man. This one is not for you. You had best leave right now.
I know you, little man. You're little, and in your smallness you know only fear. When something BIG comes along, something epic, something heroic, something so monumental it can scarcely be believed, it doesn't even register on your little brain, little man. You're like an ant crawling on a side of a great pyramid. It's beyond your comprehension. Your little ears might hear the sounds of this album, little man, but they don't hear the music. You have never known the feeling of utter fearlessness, of living with a wide open heart, that it takes to hear the music. So this kind of power, majesty, and glory are beyond you. What you'll do is what all little men do when they encounter these things. You'll call it "cheesy" or "over the top" and cover up your fear and your lack of understanding with laughter. That will make you feel better, little man, but you're not fooling me. You're whistling past the graveyard. More than anything, this album reminds you of how small you are. That's why you hate it, little man.
Go back to the kinds of records other nonentities just like you listen to, little man. I don't know what they are. Nirvana or the Beatles or Bob Dylan or U2 or whatever other garbage it is the kinds of burnouts and dropouts who end up becoming record reviewers relate to these days. The names change as the years pass, but they're all the same.
Maybe, just maybe, you're getting tired of being a little man. Getting tired of letting other people tell you what kind of music you should listen to, what you should think, what you should feel. Maybe someday you'll realize that this is more than just the best rock record ever made, if for no other reason that, unlike the kinds of "classics" made by bands like I just mentioned, this album is about something higher than just taking dope or taking some effeminate little political position or whining about nothing or just babbling on with a bunch of nonsense -- you know, all the kinds of things little men do. No, this album is bigger than all of that and bigger than all those. This album is Wagnerian, Nietszchean, superhuman. This album is a gift from above. This album is what I would show to god himself, if he were to descend from heaven to judge all mankind for its weakness, its foolishness, its iniquities, in order to justify the existence of the human race. Not the statues of Michelangelo. Not the sonnets of Shakespeare. Not even Beethoven's Fifth. Kings of Metal, by Manowar. For where others are weak, Manowar is strong, and in thier strength they are LARGE. So large, in fact, that maybe it takes a god to hear them. Perhaps they frighten even god -- just like they frighten you, little man, for this record is large enough to let god know that real men walk this earth, men who would not back down from a fight even if it was with god himself.
No, little man, no. Not for you. Stand down. As for the kings among you, stand up. Your hour has arrived. You cannot judge this album. It will judge you. Face your fear, face yourself, and look upon this record. If you are large enough, you will hear the music of the spheres, and see the face of god. And just perhaps you will then even know his fear, the fear of men who walk like gods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Death to False Metaaaaaaal!, May 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Manowar are probably one of the most unfairly maligned bands I can think of. They're incredibly talented musically, and pretty much the only heavy metal band with a bassist who's not only good, but pretty much astounding (listen to the Rimsky-Korsakov cover, "Sting of the Bumblebee" for proof).

Why are they the butt of so many jokes? In case you don't know, their lyrics consist of what sound like Conan the Barbarian madlibs. Nearly every song seems to mention "steel", "warriors", "swords", and "real metal". Their music is sometimes so macho, it borders on homoerotic. They make Dio seem grounded and they lack the tongue-in-cheek self-awareness of Gwar or Kiss.

That aside, they're probably the most technically talented of the power metal bands to emerge from the 80s that had any songwriting abilities (vs. a Yngwie who's technically brilliant but can't write songs). Their songs are well structured, yet provide ample room for them to show off their skills. The singer really has a pretty astounding range. The guitarist is also excellent.

They're also extremely enjoyable fun to listen to. Their songs are fairly upbeat and promote largely prosocial messages (well, excluding the deeply misogynistic teenage wish-fulfillment fantasy "Pleasure Slave") unlike much "nu-metal" - which shifted from raiding Dungeons and Dragons for questionable subject matter to taking after serial killers, looking like glam singers with too much eyeliner, and whining about how tough life was.

This album is the best one of Manowar's that I've heard. The songs are all upbeat and ideally suited for workouts (it's in heavy rotation during mine right now).

"Hail and Kill" is a standout - as are several other tracks. The arrangements and piano as well as the clean vocals on "Heart of Steel" are really impressive. Their singer honestly could do Broadway as easily as metal, he's so dynamic and has such wonderful enunciation. The organ on "The Crown and the Ring" really adds a lot to the arrangement, too. It's nice to see a metal band switch things up and not play the same thing every track. That gets old.

The only one that's a clunker is "Kings of Metal" which includes the hysterical lyric, "Other bands play, Manowar kills" and "when parents go out speakers, explode" and "We don't attract wimps because we're too loud/True Metal people that's Manowar's crowd." Needless to say, nobody will confuse Manowar for poet laureates anytime soon. I can't listen to the song without laughing uncontrollably. Also, the song is very bluesy, which is odd for Manowar who are generally less pentatonic minor and more regular old minor scale. The singer can't really do blues. His voice is just too big. Really awful song on an otherwise really good album.

I found "Pleasure Slave" lyrically puerile, but musically it's well-written. Also, Warrior's Prayer" isn't a song - it's a medieval skit. Boring. So, in reality the album has 9 songs. 7 are fantastic, 1 is passable, 1 is atrocious. 7 really good songs on an album nowadays is 7 more than most.

Highly Recommended for metal fans (provided they enjoy fantasy lyrics).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This One's Got It All..., May 10, 2004
By 
S. Morales (Levittown, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kings of Metal (Audio CD)
This is a band who's gotten a bad rap by most metal fans throughout the world, everyone just seems to write them off as the "cheesiest metal band ever." Blender magazine (corporate junk) made them one of the top 50 worst acts of all time. Gimme a break! I was hesitant to buy this at first but i wanted to see what all the fuss was about. I am more then happy with my purchase.
The opening track "wheels of fire" could really be compared to the opening track on Metallica's "Kill em All" debut. It's about riding your bike at night and not caring, the rebellious attitude that goes hand in hand with heavy metal music, just in with the Metallica line "no life till leather..." A fantastic way to open an album, the song is catchy, memorable, and will have your fist in the air in no time. The second track is really kind of egocentric, basically about how Manowar kills every other band out there, a good song, another fisterupper, but the lyrics you just gotta appreciate for their again, rebellious attitude. The third track is a pretty good ballad, but I've heard better. Good acoustic work... yes, they use ACOUSTICS! Although the vocals really weren't made for acoustic ballads. Next there's a bass guitar solo that's so fast and energetic it's amazing on "sting of the bumblebee." A fast high note bass guitar really does sound like a bee!
After this there seems to be a break in the album's attitude, which is a really cool thing, the songs "Crown and the Ring" and "Kingdom Come" are fantasy oriented power metal tracks, one which mostly sticks to keyboards and clean vocals, slows down but has a very epic stand-atop-a-cliff-with-sword-in-hand feel to it, creative and highly melodic.
Afterwards there's "Pleasure Slave" which starts out by hearing women having sex and loving it, it's a pretty sleazy sounding song and displays Manowar's love (or disrespect depending on which way you look at it) for sex and women, a surprise track which further enhances the variety of the record. Track 8 is somewhat mediocre but still decent, another hard hitting metal track. Track 9 is just an old man telling a boy a story, a fantasy tale of war an battle, which works as a good opener for the final amazing track "Blood of the Kings." Now this is a GREAT fantasy metal track, their use of choir type vocals during the chorus makes this one extremely catchy and melodic.
In the end i really have to say that this record emcompasses everything a passionate heavy metal band loves, whether it's fantasy, rebellious leather clad attitudes, sex, or a sensitive acoustic ballad, it all goes to show that these guys, though image wise are seen as idiots, really are imaginative, creative, sensitive and passionate human beings. This MUST be in EVERY metal fans collection, it's a classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an unexpectedly great album!, June 25, 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kings of Metal (Audio CD)
I have to confess: I'm not a real heavy metal fan, and even within the heavy metal genre I don't particularly like the "fantasy metal" gods/swords/battle/death genre that Manowar exemplify. The only reason I bought this album is that I'm a huge fan of the Dictators, and Manowar's lead guitarist is (was) Ross the Boss, one of the founders of the Dictators. So nobody was more surprised than me when this album turned out to be a real ... pleasure! The songs are heavy but are always melodic, unlike so much modern metal. The musicianship is outstanding; in addition to Ross' killer guitar playing, Joey DeMaio shows off his bass chops in "Sting of the Bumblebee", a free adaptation of Rimsky-Korsakov's "Flight of the Bumblebee" (I'm surprised his fingers didn't fall off!). The song lyrics are bombastic but (as far as I can tell) sung with tongue firmly in cheek. The vocals are also great. As I listened, I kept wanting to turn up the volume, always a good sign. And as an added treat, there's the song "Pleasure Slave", which is so sexist I think even rappers would find it offensive ;-) As for me, I'm definitely going to check out Manowar's other albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kings of Metal, August 29, 2002
This review is from: Kings of Metal (Audio CD)
Modesty has never been a trait you connected with Manowar, and they are no doubt reffering to themself with the title of their 1988 album.
The album is a definitive improvement over Fighting the World, and includes some of Manowars classics. Starting out fast and furious with Wheels of Fire, the album covers the whole spectrum. Over the slow hymns, like the crown and the ring and to storytelling, in The Warriors Prayer. We also see yet another bass solo by DeMaio, Sting of the Bumblebee, which reminds of Williams Tale from Battle Hymns.
When released I was convinced this was Manowar at their best, that this, they could not beat. I was right at the time, only to be proven wrong when they released The Triumph of Steel.
Some cd's contain a bonus track called Pleasure Slave. I don't really consider it a bonus though. I think the cd was just fine in its orginal version, and Pleasure Slave should have been left out in my opinion.
But it is still a good album, one of the best powermetal albums released in the 80's, maybe one of the best ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Metal, January 7, 2005
This review is from: Kings of Metal (Audio CD)
This is Manowar's best album, the best introduction for a neophyte, and just a sick album. Plus it's Ross the Boss' last. Each of the recent reviewers I read, however, don't understand metal, just their ass and its peculiar needs.
"A music fan"? This anonymous, little twig of a person loves saying, "naturally growing psychoactive drugs." Besides being lame, how old are you? Grow up and do some drugs, quit tucking it between your legs, and take your pseudo-intellectual lingo elsewhere. You said nothing.
"Prehistoric Predator" has a problem with the "arrogant and cheesy lyrics." Prehistoric Predator? What are you saying? Cheesy? You suck, just like your crappy name, and have no idea what you're talking about. Again, I'd say that P.P. is another know-nothing teen who, due to a paltry knowledge of heavy metal, needs some guidance. I mean, look at the cover-you know what you're getting, dummy.
"Deathraider2000" (sounds like an evil dildo) also has a problem with this classic cd. Says "silly tracks like Warriors Prayer" ruin things. You, like the others, are not a Manowar or a metal fan, sound extremely young, and fail to grasp what the music of the band is all about. Go think about it for a while, you twerp, and show that you have an inkling of what heavy metal is all about.
"Rayotron" was completely set off by the ubermensch review that said that Manowar was better than the Beatles. Now, one gets the impression that Rayotron was never going to write a review at all, until those gods of his were mentioned. Who knew? All of the sudden 'Manowar sucks, Judas Priest is number one, you all have small penises,' etc. Dude just flipped out. He even forgot how to spell half the words he was using. They must have some killer weed down there in Mexico.
Look, this album is Manowar's best, and instills in one a feeling that any of life's difficulties may be conquered. Besides being great music with heartfelt lyrics, this album has inspired people all over the world and continues to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars *HAIL*, April 1, 2000
By 
Chris Pinto (Mahopac, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kings of Metal (Audio CD)
Kings of metal, (Manowar), create an album of great power & speed metal! This is one metal CD which belongs in any "metal-maniac's" CD rack. This album will take you on a fantastic journey to a time of old, and a time when warriors fought to the death! The music is sort of a mix of "Flotsam & Jetsam" meets "Blind Guardian".
Get it, listen to it, crank it WAY UP! >HAIL<
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Kings of Metal
Kings of Metal by Manowar (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.