Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Backpack! Kid's Review
This is a Kid's Review (there is no "if you are under thirteen, click here" button)

I ordered a Kipling Alcatraz II in true blue from the Altman Luggage Co. It's a wonderful backpack - large, sturdy, and rather stylish. It has a lot of zippers and pockets that you can easily reach, instead of some backpacks where you have to fumble around for a while. The...
Published 13 months ago by Andy

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great bag but not as spacious as it looks!
I bough this backpack before i went traveling. It looks very spacious on the picture, and i liked the fact that it has a laptop sleeve. The other nice part are the wheels that can be put out if needed, that part was handy. However, space wise, its not very spacious, cant put a lot inside.
Published 5 months ago by Xalerka


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Backpack! Kid's Review, September 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kipling Alcatraz II (Accessory)
This is a Kid's Review (there is no "if you are under thirteen, click here" button)

I ordered a Kipling Alcatraz II in true blue from the Altman Luggage Co. It's a wonderful backpack - large, sturdy, and rather stylish. It has a lot of zippers and pockets that you can easily reach, instead of some backpacks where you have to fumble around for a while. The color is heavenly - I have a fondness for black, though the black Kipling held no desire for me. So I looked for a lighter alternative and found the true blue, which is basically a navy.

The handle goes up smoothly and feels . . . robust, for lack of a better word. The wheels run smoothly - but beware, they are a bit slippery at times. Compared to the size of the backpack, the wheels seem a bit small, though it works just fine.

However, and this is not a complaint, the fabric feels different than what I expected. It says it's made of nylon. From the picture, I gathered the fabric would feel rather spongy, but its texture is practically the complete opposite of that! It feels rather like denim, though with a smoother feel and without the coarseness of denim.

Everything fits easily with a bit of room to spare - and, mind you, there are a lot of school supplies.

The inside of the backpack is as visually appealing as the outside. Mine appears to be a grayish-green with Kipling symbols alternating between dark and light. If you're scared about purchasing this because of the large buckle - that you might not be able to get it open, etc. - don't be. The buckle is even easier to open than zippers in my opinion.

And we mustn't forget the monkey! The adorable, furry little thing hangs by a keychain and has arms that you can put in any direction, and it droops back to its original position right after you let go. It's soft, cute, and has a puckered-up mouth with a hole in the middle, though I'm not sure how deep the hole is.

I'll add to my review after I see how it holds up after a few months of my sixth grade torture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great backback for traveling, December 28, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kipling Alcatraz II (Accessory)
I needed a good backpack with wheels when traveling for business to carry my computer and other stuff on the plane and STILL be able to take a rollerboard with me. It's light and sturdy and has lots of accessible pockets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Backpack!, July 25, 2012
I LOVE this backpack. It's very sturdy and great quality. I was worried due to the light color of the fabric it would get dirty very fast when traveling etc. though to my surprise it stayed like new! In case anyone wondered, this does or should, fit under the seat on an airplane. It also has a great amount of storage space and really does protect your laptop. I would definitely recommend investing in this backpack over any other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great bag but not as spacious as it looks!, May 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kipling Alcatraz II (Accessory)
I bough this backpack before i went traveling. It looks very spacious on the picture, and i liked the fact that it has a laptop sleeve. The other nice part are the wheels that can be put out if needed, that part was handy. However, space wise, its not very spacious, cant put a lot inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Backpack, April 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kipling Alcatraz II (Apparel)
This is a nice backpack, cute for teens. Nice gift to give. Robust and very well built. The price is compatible with the features it offers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars junk, May 22, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kipling Alcatraz II (Accessory)
After 4 mos of use by a 12 year old, this bag looks like crap and the primary zipper is broken. There is only 1 zipper on the front pocket which is impractical and the money we spent should have given us a minimum of a school year. This bag cost twice as much as his Gap backpack, without a monogram and it has lasted less than a quarter of the time. Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good., December 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kipling Alcatraz II (Accessory)
It is Good, it is useful, and i like it to go to school and travel. I can bear heavy book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, October 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kipling Alcatraz II (Accessory)
The smoothness of how it rolls is great. Plenty of room and pockets too! The handle could be more sturdy though. Wish there was a way to tighten it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely adorable!, June 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kipling Alcatraz II (Accessory)
Perfect for overnights or an extra bag when flying. I have a bad back, so I bought it for the wheels rather than as a back pack. The color is great and the monkey is really cute. Light weight and yet roomy. Great quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My second one, July 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kipling Alcatraz II (Accessory)
My all time favorite travel bag. Fits under airline seats (tip put it in backwards, small end fits almost every time.) Rolls smoothly, fits a lot of stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.