Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Kirby and the Amazing Mirror
Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 19, 2004
I just got this game, and it is so awesome. I'm 17 years old, and I've been an on and off admirer of him. Now that multiplayer compatibility is available for most of the games coming out for GBA, Kirby knew that the only way to stay alive was to make a 4-player adventure. Bingo.

I've only played the game a couple times, and the multiplayer is probably the only reason I'd like it even more. You've got 3 other Kirby's bouncing around the levels. Even if you don't call them up, they're bound to be in another level in the game, and you can find them yourself and join them!

If you love Kirby, you'll love this (no brainer). If you're interested in Kirby, this would be a great game to start off with. If you hate him, you should at least rent it. Hey, it couldn't hurt.

If you beat the first Kirby game in one day, then you MIGHT not have as much fun with this one. I've beaten a few levels, and I'm 7% complete. I have no idea how many more levels there are or anything, but all I'm saying is don't waste your money on something knowing you'll beat it in a day, or a weekend, unless you are just radical about beating games over and over again.

Overall, this is a great game to add to your GBA collection.
33 comments| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2005
wow, i feel like a geek even writing this since i seem to be so much older than all the others who have rated this game (and female)! i just recently got a GBA SP and decided my first game purchase would be a kirby game. i had played kirby: crystal shards on N64 and loved it. i have also played some of the older kirby games on NES and SNES. i am a recent kirby fan, but WOW, what a cool game! i love this game and kirby can do so many cool things. i haven't beaten the game yet, and in fact, have been playing it for hours (maybe i am just not smart enough to figure it all out). this game, even for a 29-year-old, is definitely challenging. the challenge? figuring out where you are, where you need to go and how to best get there. the levels aren't so hard themselves (esp. with the help of the other kirbys), but finding the boss to beat and get the mirror shards is kinda difficult!

i would highly recommend this game for ALL ages. it's fun, challenging and it definitely keeps your attention.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2006
Kirby is really cool. He is pink, squishy, cute, and is so popular he even has his own tv show.

About the game: It is so fun and, while it did take me a while to beat the game, that is one of the good things about it. It's not like, once you beat the big boss, it's all over. You have to explore every nook, cranny, and corner to find all the items and get 100%.

Kirby having 3 new buddies that look a lot like him is exciting and fun, and while they don't always do everything you want them to, they are VERY helpful if you're fighting a tough boss. Plus, the ability to call your friends or even a flying star taxi with kirby's new CELL PHONE is new, fun, and helpful if you're in a jam.

Another thing I want to mention is the mini-games. They are really fun, and I like being able to choose the difficulty so I'm not way in over my head.

Overall, this is one of my favorite games and I highly recommend it to anyone with a thirst for adventure, fun, and cute pink characters!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2004
I am a BIG Kirby fan (Sort of) I ussaly only like one thing at a
time, and I'm also an OLD-SCHOOL Nintendo character fan Like
Mario, Luigi (Mostaly Luigi), POKEMON, Kirby, Link, etc. And thats not the point. The story line is that a shadow has found
a way to mirror world, and has defeated Meta Knight! And it
slashed Kirby and made four look-a-likes, and Pinky (I call Kirby "PINKY" sometimes) has to go to the mirror world and
stop the evil shadow... And this time, Nightmare, and Dark Matter are NOT the evil monsters behind the plot this time...
And you get to play mini-games that seem a LOT funner than
"Nighmare in dreamland" like the mini-game were you eat apples,
or the game that you crush a giant rock! or SURFING!!!
believe me, if the first one was a "easy" ranked game and was fun, what about this "MEDIUM" ranked sequel!? JUST IMAGINE THE
FUN!!! And the best is for last, Kirby has brand new copy abilities like, Cupid, Magic, Cook, and Bomb,Super Smash Bros, etc. And if played Super Smash Bros 1, and MELEE you would know
that the MASTER HAND(S) are in this game! and unlike the last one, this game you can call your "Clones" for help! and you
see the mini-boss's name on his health meter, and rumor has it
that Kirby's health meter rizes...

PS. BUT THIS GAME, YOU WONT REGRET IT (Unless you hate Kirby, or
if you get bored of side-scrolling games, WELL GUESS WHAT!!!
the 1st one you could beat it in ONE day! This one is gonning to
be harder!!)

PSS. More information (INCLUDING THE UP-COMING KIRBY'S MAGIC PAINTBRUSH (title for now) for NINTENDO DS!!!) is at
KIRBY'S RAINBOW RESORT,(...)
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2005
Kirby has been my favorite video game character for quite some time. I love the cute and colorful scenery and enemies in Kirby games, and I like how they are fun, but have minimal violence. Kirby and the Amazing Mirror, although sharing the colorful graphics and lack of violence of the other Kirby games, is actually quite different. In Kirby: Nightmare in Dreamland, you just cruised your way through levels randomly sucking up enemies. The levels were one-way, and you could finish a world in less than an hour.

Kirby and the Amazing Mirror, however, requires good thinking skills and an eye for detail. Different doors take you to different places, and you often switch from world to world without even noticing. To find your way around, you can use maps, but first you must discover where they are located After defeating all of the bosses, including the final one, your game is usually still not 100% finished. You have to explore every world and make sure to discover every room and open every treasure chest.

Inside the treasure chests could be spray paint bottles, sound effects from the game, world maps, or even a heart to increase Kirby's vitality by one. These objects go into the Collection Room. Spray paint bottles can be used to change Kirby's color at the start of a game, sound effects can only be listened to once you discovered the Sound Player, and World Maps and Vitality Hearts effect your game automatically.

The graphics and sounds in this game are great, and not annoying in the least. This Kirby game is as cute as always, but it has a slight twist on the Kirby style. Also, you can call the other Kirbys for help when you need it, but you can only call so many times before you need to collect batteries. I reccomend this game to anyone who like cute games or non-violent games.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2007
Kirby the Amazing Mirror is a game that can be played over and over. It never loses its appeal, and the auto save makes it a great game to play in short, 10-minute stretches. Here are some of the major features that I think add the bounce to this game -

-Replay Value

I have never played another game with this much replay value. Kirby is not the sort of game that you play for the plot, so the experience of a fresh, new game is still there when you start up that new file.

-Unlockables

Kirby is heavily based on a reward system of unlockables. There are items hidden in treasure chests all over the mirror world, and once the treasure chests have been opened, the items are stored in a place called the collection room. These items include items that make the gameplay easier, such as extra slots for Kirby's health points (once you collect all of these, Kirby can be damaged by the enemy 10 times before losing a life), as well as items that just amuse the player, like spray paints to color your Kirby different shades and a sound test that lets you play all of the music and sounds in the game when you collect music sheets (yet another unlockable.) There is also an unlockable mini-game, an unlockable power room (more on this later)... even the Final Boss level is unlockable, from gathering all of the pieces of the amazing mirror. These items make it very rewarding to play the game.

-Puzzle AND action

There is more to Kirby than simply running through levels and defeating enemies. There is a puzzle aspect of the game, where Kirby has to collect certain powers from swallowing enemies to get past certain parts of the game. These include the Burning power to burn through metal blocks, and the Mini power to crawl through tight passageways. These tasks become much easier when you unlock the special Power Room, which gives you free access to all of the powers except a select few, and they are extremely simplified when, after defeating the Final Boss, you gain a special power called Master, which can apparently solve all puzzles.

-Everyone can play it

The game of Kirby is a game that is simple enough so that it can be played by young children, yet it is still satisfying to older players. There are no bloody or otherwise graphic scenes that are to be avoided. In addition, the squishiness and general cuteness of a Kirby appeals to plenty of people, me included. :D

Overall, the Kirby game is a great title, and I highly recommend it. Kirby Forever!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2004
this is what the games is about The Kingdom of Mirrors has been invaded by a dark shadow, and Kirby needs backup. He splits into four Kirbys of different colors, and with his trusty cell phone, he can call up his colorful alter kirbys for a little help.

Features

Play solo or link up with your friends (one Game Pak per player required to play the multiplayer main game, single Game Pak needed for multiplayer sub-games)

cool new copy abilities range from the arrow-shooting Cupid to the melee moves of the Smash ability

Use Kirby's cell phone to call in some friends to help you find your way through the Kingdom of Mirrors

Play lightning-fast sub-games like Crackity Hack and Speed Eaters

Kirby leaves the Dream Land series for an all-new adventure with awesome side games and innovative copy abilities that are sure to please fans of the series and new players looking for a fresh, exciting multiplayer experience. buy this game and put my review as helpful
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2006
This game is incredible! the graphics are splendid and there are plenty of unique copy abilities to expierement with. the last boss is a bit challenging, but all in all this is an awesome game.

p.s. buy this game. now.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2005
I got Kirby and the Amazing Mirror for Christmas. This game is so much fun! You can swallow eneimes and copy their powers. Plus you can call the 3 Kirby clones for help. I have finished the game and it's a real challenge in the last levels of the game! This game is so cool I couldn't put it down!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2005
this game is awsome. it is alot harder than the other kirby games and the new powers are cool like cupid or smash kirby also has new moves like the roll ram and that he can fly faster. the sub games like crackity hack and kirby wave ride are more fun than bomb rally and kirby air grind so Im glad I got this game

also the other kirbys are a big help in the game.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.