Customer Reviews


148 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game is AWESOME!
The world's coolest pink ball is back with all new copy abilities, bosses, warp stars, and tons more! This game is awesome! Even though it doesn't take long to beat the game, you can play it a zillion times! Kirby lives higher than my expectations though the name sounded kinda wierd when I first heard it. That won't matter after you've played the game. Its way different...
Published on August 1, 2003

versus
21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute but a little too lite
This is a remake of Kirby's Adventure, a game released fairly late in the NES' life. Although Nightmare in Dream Land is pleasant enough, it does suffer from two large problems. The first is the graphics. Many of the backdrops look like grainy, blurry desktop wallpapers. This is kind of ugly, and it clashes with the sprites. The second problem is the stage design, which...
Published on March 22, 2005 by Diplocephalus


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game is AWESOME!, August 1, 2003
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Kirby Nightmare in Dream Land (Video Game)
The world's coolest pink ball is back with all new copy abilities, bosses, warp stars, and tons more! This game is awesome! Even though it doesn't take long to beat the game, you can play it a zillion times! Kirby lives higher than my expectations though the name sounded kinda wierd when I first heard it. That won't matter after you've played the game. Its way different from Kirby: The Crystal Shards because if you get hit, you lose your power and there's no combos. You can also float forever. One of the copy abilities is kinda dumb its called sleep. But that's the only one. The others like laser, UFO, and needle are cool.
Multiplayer is also awesome. You can fight bosses and everybody with your friends. The sub-games are pretty cool, but when you beat the game, you get the coolest sub-game.
10/10 - Graphics: they can't make it better.
10/10 - Gameplay: cool storyline.
9/10 - Bosses: the bosses are pretty easy until you get to
DeDeDe and the nightmares.
9/10 - Duration: doesn't last long (even thought there are 8
levels) but you can keep on playing over and over and...
you get the idea
10/10 - Control: easy to control
10/10 - Overall: definetly one of the coolest game for GBA; a
must have for EVERYONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kirby is the master in DreamLand, November 15, 2002
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Kirby Nightmare in Dream Land (Video Game)
This game is unbelievable when I got it.Kirby is finaly out for game boy advance and I feel really great about it. Now that kirby is here he has over 24 incredible new attacks from all his amazing adventures. The greatest island on this game is ice cream island everyone thinks that this island seems tasty. when you play this game you can see kirby fly over things with his warpstar, battle his old bosses which are more powerful than before, and travel through many islands to save the world from the evil nightmares. when kirby fights king dededes monster all of his attacks will move even faster than before so he won't lose a life. The islands that are going to be on the game are
GREEN GREENS
ICE CREAM ISLAND
BUTTER BUILDING
GRAPE GARDEN
RED CANYON
ORANGE OCEAN
RIPPLE FIELD
FLOATING ISLAND
and RAINBOW RESORT.
Those are all the islands that are going to be on this greatest adventure game ever. Good luck Kirby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kirby: Re-done, November 28, 2002
By 
This review is from: Kirby Nightmare in Dream Land (Video Game)
This is truly a great game. I had played the very old Kirby's Adventure for NES and I noticed that this game is a remake of it! Kirby's Adventure was one of my favorite all-time games. It's a fun game and will bring hours of joy to any one. If you have played Kirby's Dremland 2-3 for the SNES it is nothing like that. Those where some really bad games (i think). This ones not all about being cute. This ones about battling enemy's by taking there power. It's a blast, espicially in multiplayer. (Which uses only 1 game pack). And it is not as easy as it may look. Some of the boss battle's will take a couple for trys. I am so glad to see this game return. It's kinda hard not to recommend this great game to anyone (and everyone)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best., December 8, 2002
This review is from: Kirby Nightmare in Dream Land (Video Game)
I personaly like this game.it is so cool.You get to fight old
baddies and suck up their power.I think kirby and Meda Knight are so cool in the game.In this game you have to get this star rod back from King Dedede.You have to beat 7 of his underlings just to get it.Meda Knight is one of them,and here's a secret.
You get to see what he looks like under his mask.Bye bye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute but a little too lite, March 22, 2005
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kirby Nightmare in Dream Land (Video Game)
This is a remake of Kirby's Adventure, a game released fairly late in the NES' life. Although Nightmare in Dream Land is pleasant enough, it does suffer from two large problems. The first is the graphics. Many of the backdrops look like grainy, blurry desktop wallpapers. This is kind of ugly, and it clashes with the sprites. The second problem is the stage design, which can be too easy-breezy. It is not good when players can fly over most obstacles in a stage without at least some aerial resistance!
Nightmare in Dream Land is very short. I finished it on a Sunday afternoon. The final boss is nice as heck. If you are looking for another GBA Kirby game, Kirby & the Amazing Mirror has much better level design, but it retains the unattractive backgrounds and has an unhelpful map. Still, I would recommend it over NiDL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My 1st journey to Dreamland, December 4, 2005
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kirby Nightmare in Dream Land (Video Game)
I had played one on Game Boy way back and the one on N64 but I couldn't remember if I enjoyed them or not. BUt I got this game anyway based on the back of the box. And boy I am not dissapointed because this game is great.

Concept: You play as Kirby, a pink blob with arms which can suck up the powers of enemies. It is extremely fun even if it doesn't sound all that engaging.

Story: King DeDeDe was taking a bath in the Fountain of Dreams and apparently he took the Star Rod(the source of power for the Fountain of Dreams). He then broke it into pieces and gave a piece to each of his underlings. Now Kirby has to get all the pieces and restore peaceful naptimes to the residents of Dream Land.

Graphics: Simple, charming, and appealing. Bright colors perk up the background and character models.

Sounds: Catchy sounds and fun music.

Gameplay: Very simple. Down-Duck, A-Jump, & Left or Right- Walk. Double tap Left or Right-Run. Tapping A more than once and Kirby floats. B-suck enemies and after you suck one tap Down then you obtain their power. That about all there is too it.

Overall: Very simple yet entertaining enough to keep playing. Trying to get 100%, fun mini-games, half-life mode, and the ability to play as meta-knight give this game great replay value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent game.One of the best on the Game Boy Advance., April 25, 2004
By 
J. Parmelee (Spring Lake, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kirby Nightmare in Dream Land (Video Game)
This game is a lot of fun. Its the sequel to Kirby 64 which was one of the best games on the Nintendo 64.All platform style Kirby games are really similar but that doesnt really take away from how fun they are.The graphics are great and the music is pleasant and Kirby is one of the best heroes in video game history.This is one of those games that you can play again and again and not get sick of.Now for the pros and cons-
Pros: One of the most fun games available
Good graphics and sound
Kirby can copy enemies abilities
Ranks up there with Super Mario World and
the Sonic Advance games
Cons: May be a little too simple and easy for more
experienced gamers
Cuteness may be a turn off for some people
All the Kirby platform games are very similar
In conclusion the good outweighs the bad for me and people like me although more experienced gamers might want to stick to games like Zelda and Metroid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kirby's glory days revisited on the GBA, August 4, 2006
By 
F0X H0UND (Greenwood Lake, NY) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kirby Nightmare in Dream Land (Video Game)
Nightmare in Dream Land's story is simple: King DeDeDe has stolen the Rod of Dreams, which in turn takes away the people of Dream Land's dreams. It is up to Kirby to get it back and restore everyones dreams.

The gameplay is real basic, and to be honest, real fun. You run around the levels as Kirby who has the power to jump, inhale air and basically fly for a little bit, swim, and swallow hisenemies for thier abilities. There are roughly 30 moves, some exclusive to this NES remake, including shooting lasers, throwing large blade-boomerangs, turning into a tornadoe, or surrounding yourself with ice.

If you find certain secrets within the stages, you can unlock mini-games and an "ability gallery" which was cool. Some mini-games include grinding on a pipe and having to press "A" to jump over spiked portions of the railing while racing other colored Kirbys, or having to face-off with a handful of enemies by pressing "A" faster then they can so you can beat them up. There are more but I just don't feel like getting into it. As for the gallery, it's pretty sweet - you enter this room and usually there are 2 different abilities waiting for you to take them. Sadly, this game didn't borrow from the SNES smash hit "Kirby Super Stars" or even the N64 title "Kirby Crystal Shards" with the idea of combining abilities, but we can look past it for now.

The graphics are definitley an upgrade from the original NES title, and are very colorful and nice. The enemies style look unique and interesting, the abilities still look devastating, and levels are really nice looking for a GBA game. It sort of has a cartoon feel now that I think about it..

The music is great and really catchy. I can't really explain it - imagine it as sort of a techno beat, but much more...hmm..less serious and more experimental. The SFX are great as well - I love the sound of the bombs exploding or the firey sound.. superb. There isn't any talking in this game, but after witnessing the cartoon series and the N64 game of Kirby, I'm grateful for that.

Nightmare in Dream Land isn't really too hard of a game, and it isn't really a long game either. Sure there are maybe 7 different worlds with about 8 different stages within the worlds, but they fly by pretty quick and easily. What is kind of annoying is that sometimes the controls will be unresponsive - you'll be running forward, then wanna quickly turn around to attack an approaching enemy, but Kirby is still running forward and BAM you get hit. I'm not going to type out the ending, but lets just say it was sorta dissapointing.

To finish it up, I highly suggest you atleast play this game. Yes, it gets repetitive, but with it's basic side-scrolling gameplay, nice graphics, interesting levels, and wide array of abilities & mini-games, how could you truley get bored? Better yet, its a remake of an old NES game, and a good one at that. Go and play Kirby: Nightmare in Dreamland if you haven't already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kirby Rocks, December 13, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Kirby Nightmare in Dream Land (Video Game)
This game is really good, there is a percentage that you get to see to know how far you are from beating it. Its good except it is really quick. I am usually really good at these games except in this i could barely get by the 83rd percent, there is a really hard boss.
The game has lots of great things, Pros: there are more than 15 powers you can contian by swollowing a guy. only around seven you can use more than once.
con: there are a lot of levels, 6 i think but they go by really quickly, well thats pretty much the only problem, i finished it in less than a day.
There are other things too, you can play sub games which you play in the real game too, they are pretty cool. I would barely give this five stars but i think it deserves it.
Oh, and if you finish the game, it is fun to do it all over again!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for any Kirby fan!, January 1, 2003
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Kirby Nightmare in Dream Land (Video Game)
I've been a Kirby fan scince the Anime came out. I loved it, and after I saw it I wanted to get all the games. That's when I noticed that Kirby's Adventure was for NES, and my brothers sold the one I had years ago. When I heard this game was a remake of that one, I was VERY exited! I got it for Christmas eve, and beat Nightmare on Christmas morning. After playing for a while, I got 100%, and unlocked Extra. Normal was easy, but EXTRA... You only have 3 HP! It took me over two hours to beat Nightmare! I'm not telling you what I got after beating that, but let me tell you this: IT WAS WORTH IT! I say EVERY Kirby fan should own a copy of this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6c5d648)

This product

Kirby Nightmare in Dream Land
Kirby Nightmare in Dream Land by Nintendo (Game Boy Advance)
$84.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.