Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars B-12
This B-12 really picked up my energy I'm on Dialysis and it strips my B-12 out of my body and I'm left week and tired not to mention the Dialysis it self. I feel much better and I don't have to keep going to the doctor for B-12 every week. This product really works!!
Published 22 months ago by maxx001

versus
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why the Sucralose?
I'm anti sugar and pro probiotics now. And it seems that it's too difficult to have foods aligned with the Paleo diet and Anti fungus foods. Since Sucralose is a super sugar then it probably helps to feed fungus on a super level. Not sure about the Mannitol but people who want gluten free won't be able to eat it. B12 is needed to repair stomach/intestines and when you add...
Published 11 months ago by Jones Burrow


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars B-12, February 21, 2013
By 
maxx001 (Denver, Colorado) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kirkland Signature Sublingual B-12 5000 mcg, 300 Tablets (Health and Beauty)
This B-12 really picked up my energy I'm on Dialysis and it strips my B-12 out of my body and I'm left week and tired not to mention the Dialysis it self. I feel much better and I don't have to keep going to the doctor for B-12 every week. This product really works!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good bargain and tasty, June 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kirkland Signature Sublingual B-12 5000 mcg, 300 Tablets (Health and Beauty)
These are the best tasting of the meltaway B-12 tablets I have tried, and they are the easier to metabolize Methyl B-12 form. The price for the Kirkland brand is also by far the best price per tablet I have found for the 5000mcg size. This is a buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why the Sucralose?, January 30, 2014
This review is from: Kirkland Signature Sublingual B-12 5000 mcg, 300 Tablets (Health and Beauty)
I'm anti sugar and pro probiotics now. And it seems that it's too difficult to have foods aligned with the Paleo diet and Anti fungus foods. Since Sucralose is a super sugar then it probably helps to feed fungus on a super level. Not sure about the Mannitol but people who want gluten free won't be able to eat it. B12 is needed to repair stomach/intestines and when you add these ingredients it's irony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worked well, October 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kirkland Signature Sublingual B-12 5000 mcg, 300 Tablets (Health and Beauty)
Had my B12 levels checked after using for 2 months and it definitely raised my levels. The taste is okay and the price very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Reasons for the 1 star rating., February 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kirkland Signature Sublingual B-12 5000 mcg, 300 Tablets (Health and Beauty)
The quantity & price for methylcobalamin is excellent. I took one tablet and had to see what kind of sugar was used.
It left the aftertaste of artificial sweeteners. Sucralose is the sweetener used. I will have to give them away or toss in the trash. Sucralose was discovered by accident when the chemical company it's made by was trying to make an insecticide. Take a packet and put around an ant hill when spring gets here and watch the results when ants or insects come in contact with the powder. It's all good though because the FDA says it's safe. If you have no problems with artificial sweeteners and other additives not associated with B-12 supplementation, then this product is an excellent deal, both price and quantity.

Also methylcobalamin is short acting and water soluble, so if deficient, will need to maintain regular dosing. The parent B-12 is hydroxycobalmin which converts into methylcobalamin & adenosylcobalimin and is longer acting. Though if you can find methylcobalamin without all the additives that seem to be included, that would be good. I've only been able to find unadulterated methylcobalamin at a compounding pharmacy but it is much more expensive than I'd want to pay.

The synthetic B-12 cyanocobalimin has a cyanide molecule in it but is well below the levels deemed safe by the FDA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy, October 11, 2013
By 
Peggy (Albertson, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kirkland Signature Sublingual B-12 5000 mcg, 300 Tablets (Health and Beauty)
How wonderful to find this quantity and such a great price. There is no difference between the Kirkland brand and the name brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great value, August 27, 2014
This review is from: Kirkland Signature Sublingual B-12 5000 mcg, 300 Tablets (Health and Beauty)
This a good-value high-dose methylcobalamin. In addition to the methylcobalamin, the ingredients are: Mannitol, Microcrystalline Cellulose, Crospovidone, Stearic Acid, Methylcobalamin, Silicon Dioxide, Natural Cherry Flavor, Sucralose, Maltodextrin, Magnesium Stearate, Red Beet Root, Citric Acid.

The downside is that it's sweetened with sucralose (Splenda), an artificial sweetener. It's supposed to be cherry flavored but there was only an unpleasant sweet taste that lingered equally unpleasantly.

In animals examined for one study, sucralose (Splenda) reduced the amount of good bacteria in the intestines by 50 percent, increased the pH level in the intestines, contributed to increases in body weight and affected P-glycoprotein (P-gp) levels in such a way that crucial health-related drugs could be rejected. I've deducted one star for this but am nevertheless taking this because it's such good value and I'm gambling on the amount of sucralose per day not being enough to cause damage.

A B12 deficiency can cause many problems including (longer term) permanent nerve and/or brain damage but most of the symptoms can be caused by other deficiencies. According to "The B12 Deficiency Survival Handbook" and "Could it be B12" the B12 lab tests are not reliable - also we can be B12 deficient even if tests are within the normal range.

It's useful to know B12 is not toxic even in large dosages; trying it for a month is probably the best way to identify whether it can be helpful. These very high doses of 5000mcg (5mg) may be the most effective - but others believe there's little to distinguish between 250 mcg absorbed and 5000mcg absorbed, on the basis of reactions. It's important to also supplement with folate (vitamin B9 - avoid the folic acid version, a synthetic which can cause cancer), as B9 and B12 work closely together.

This methylcobalamin form is equivalent physiologically to vitamin B12. Avoid the cheaper cyanocobalamin (cyanide!) which has more steps before it is converted to the active, usable form. Some recommend sublingual/spray/patch but others say sublingual has no benefits, even if absorption is impaired: I don't really know either way and am not sure I would pay extra for sublingual.

It's also worth knowing that some are concerned about even the methyl form of B12 as it may "overdrive" the methylation cycle in the body which can cause adverse symptoms and even be counterproductive to the healing process. (45% are under-methylators and 15% are over-methylators; low histamine points to over-methylator: so, if you have to take an anti-histamine, you may be an undermethylator.) They suggest starting with the hydroxycobalamin form of B12. If that is well tolerated, then add methylfolate (B9). L-Methylfolate is the optimised form of B9.

However, low potassium is a common and potentially lifethreatening effect (some say it's due to overmethylation and others that it's due to finally turming methylation on enough to start making a backlog of cells from years of delayed healing) so you might want to consider supplementing with potassium even if you are taking hydroxocobalamin and methylfolate.

Finally, it's little known that men with pernicious anemia (when the body does not make enough red blood cells due to lack of B12) have a gluten problem, which is usually what causes the pernicious anemia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great way to get B12, October 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kirkland Signature Sublingual B-12 5000 mcg, 300 Tablets (Health and Beauty)
This product is a great way to get your B12. Those of us who are vegans or vegetarians may be lacking in this essential vitamin. It can really increase your energy. My B12 was a little low and after taking this for a while, it is in the normal range. Just slip it under your tongue and it dissolves fairly rapidly. I'll be buying it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product!, April 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kirkland Signature Sublingual B-12 5000 mcg, 300 Tablets (Health and Beauty)
slow dissolve for better absorption.
No cyanide molecule.
Good Taste. Big enough to not drop onto floor very often.
Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice, July 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kirkland Signature Sublingual B-12 5000 mcg, 300 Tablets (Health and Beauty)
excellent suplement for people like me that have a deficit in vitamin b12. they taste delicious and they melt in your mouth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Kirkland Signature Sublingual B-12 5000 mcg, 300 Tablets
$37.00 $22.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.