Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing short of death could stop Lemmy
With all the recent metal CDs coming out recently or soon (Iron Maiden, Slayer, BLS)I got to thinking that Motorhead is about due for their bi-annual release and sure enough, about a week ago I looked it up and saw Kiss of Death to be released today! I didn't hesitate to pick it up.

As usual, Lemmy delivers. As long as he lives and as long as he is putting out...
Published on August 30, 2006 by J. C. Amos

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bad album
Guys this is not classic Motorhead. Well they play in their usual style but the result is not only not good -> is bad. the re is no comparison to their older albums.
Published on April 10, 2011 by KOURKOULOS NIKOS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing short of death could stop Lemmy, August 30, 2006
This review is from: Kiss of Death (Audio CD)
With all the recent metal CDs coming out recently or soon (Iron Maiden, Slayer, BLS)I got to thinking that Motorhead is about due for their bi-annual release and sure enough, about a week ago I looked it up and saw Kiss of Death to be released today! I didn't hesitate to pick it up.

As usual, Lemmy delivers. As long as he lives and as long as he is putting out music, he will never sell out or change his formula. This can be a mixed blessing, since one Motorhead CD sounds a lot like another, but after 30 years this can pretty much be expected.

Now on to the album... It definitely rocks... and hard. It's fast, heavy and everything else you expect Motorhead to be. However, I am only giving 4 stars because their last release Inferno, which was a masterpeice, is better.

Inferno had more standout tracks than this one, particularly "Suicide", "Life's a Bitch", "In the Year of the Wolf" and "Whorehouse Blues". Those 4 tracks alone made that one of my favorite Motorhead albums. While Kiss of Death has many great tracks, there aren't too many that really stick out at me like those.

Motorhead seems to have an every other album thing going on, at least for me. "We Are Motorhead" is my personal favorite CD of theirs. "Hammered" was good but not as consistent and "Inferno" is up there with "We Are" for me as one of their best.

"Kiss of Death" is great, but for me it all kind of runs together a bit and nothing stands out as much as so many other awesome Motorhead tracks I've come to love. Here's a song-by-song rundown...

~~"Sucker," the opening track, is really good. It reminds me of "On Your Feet or On Your Knees" from Bastards.

~~"One Night Stand" is a great track and has that dirty rock and roll feel like "Born to Raise Hell."

~~ "Devil I know" is an okay track with some okay riffs, but nothing too memorable.

~~"Trigger" has some good riffs but the chorus is a bit repetitive and annoying.

~~"Under The Gun" is one of my favorite tracks on here. It's heavy and has some great Motorhead grooves.

~~"God Was Never on Your Side" One of those rare Motorhead ballads that turn up now and then, I really like this track. For having a voice like bones grinding through gravel, Lemmy can actually sing when he wants to. Great guitar, acoustic and electric, and just songwriting in general.

~~"Living in the Past" Another one of my favorites. The riff is an instant favorite. It's got dark and angry with a an awesome groove. This is why I love Motorhead.

~~"Christine" Not one of my favorites. It's another one of the Bob Seger style rock and roll tracks, but it's really cliche and the lyrics are pretty stupid.

~~"Sword of Glory" I don't much care for this one either. The guitar riff and the chorus are bit annoying for me.

~~"Be My Baby" This one is good, it picks up the pace again.

~~"Kingdom of the Worm" I like this track as well, nice and dark and the lyrics are just plain weird. Good stuff.

~~"Going Down" Kiss of Death ends on a great note. This one rocks really hard and is another favorite on this album.

Overall this is a great Motorhead album. It may not be as great as "We are Motorhead," "Bastards" or "Inferno" but Lemmy can still write, heavy, fast and bluesy rock and roll and should go down into the rock and roll hall of fame. Like Dave Groll said "F*** Elvis, Lemmy is the real King of Rock and Roll"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another very enjoyable day in the office of Motorhead, September 3, 2006
This review is from: Kiss of Death (Audio CD)
Being a band who has been around since 1975, and being a band who practically created a whole genre (speed metal) are two fairly astounding feats. Well now, Motorhead can officially add another bragging right to their list. Nowadays, there are very few bands who are twenty-years of age (or more) and still release albums that fans can know what to expect when listening to them. AC-DC, Ozzy Osbourne, and Motorhead are all bands who are like that, but AC-DC haven't released a new disc in six years, and Ozzy only makes one per Leap Year. Thus, Lemmy, Phil, and Mikkey are the only consistently active band remaining in that group.

Some would argue that remaining so consistent isn't something to be proud of because it probably means that the band has played it pretty safe and not tried anything new. But look at it this way: Motorhead is the heavy metal equivalent of comfort food. Their albums are reliable, but not in a bad way because fans are never disappointed. After all, most Metallica fans hated "Load," right? Indeed, Motorhead are an old band who won't win any new fans, but they still have lots of juice left in them, and they're still able to kindle the same kind of excitement that they first produced thirty-some years ago.

Motorhead's twenty-third album, this year's "Kiss Of Death," is no different. It's a little short on surprises, but it covers all of the band's well-known and perfected bases, so the songs have a tried and true sound. The album is ripe with all of the Motorhead goods: groovey guitar riffs/leads, speed punk drumming, and frontman Lemmy Kilmister's famous throat cancer vocals and usually earnest lyrics.

"Sucker," bolstered by a propulsive, blistering riff, gets the album off on a strong foot (and would also make a great show starter). Later on, "One Night Stand" and "Under The Gun" are highlighted by great, wailing, ascending guitar solos, and songs like "Trigger" (which also features a classically catchy Motorhead chorus that'll stick to your brain), "Be My Baby," and "Kingdom of the Worm" all sport deep, adherent grooves, making them among the year's top cuts in speed metal. The acoustic tear-jerker, "God Was Never On Your Side" (which is just as depressing as previous ballads like 1993's "Don't Let Daddy Kiss Me") also comes to mind when thinking of favorite tracks, and so do the fiery, chugging "Living In The Past," the toe-tapping rhythm of "Christine," and the super fast (almost careening) closer, "Going Down." The bonus material, "R.A.M.O.N.E.S.," is a cool track, but it's not worth going out of your way to get because it has shown up on a couple of other places in the past.

In short, "Kiss Of Death" might not be exactly unpredictable, but it will almost definitely satisfy any fan who buys today's Motorhead albums. And it might not quite rank up there next to "Ace Of Spades," but you should still definitely go ahead and add this one to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great post-Eddie release, February 2, 2007
By 
This review is from: Kiss of Death (Audio CD)
I suppose there are a lot of Motorhead fans who prefer the halcyon days of the original line-up, with classic releases like "Ace Of Spades" and "Bomber". I know I do, mainly because "Fast Eddie" Clarke was the most stylistic guitar player in the band's long history.

However, Motorhead is Lemmy Kilmister's band, and for a man who just turned 60, "Kiss Of Death" is a punishing loud rock and roll album that fits easily into the already impressive catalogue.

Back to a three piece, Phil Campbell has forged his own sound that doesn't resemble Clarke's, but still lives up to the expectations this type of music demands.

"Kiss Of Death" isn't without a couple of surprises - acoustic guitar during "God Was Never On Your Side", a diatribe against religion, one subject Kilmister truly hates, a blues stomper, and lyrically, "Sword Of Glory". Here, Lemmy is earnest and thoughtful - the insanity of war and all its empty praise for those who fall for unworthy causes, and the admonition that those who fail to learn from history are indeed condemned to repeat it. He even urges the listener to read!

For this cut alone, Lemmy deserves a medal. Yes, the silly stuff is still there, but he uses his bully pulpit from time to time to try to educate his fans, and here's hoping he's successful. I hope I can rock out like this when I'm his age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "we are motorhead, and we play rock and roll", September 8, 2006
By 
This review is from: Kiss of Death (Audio CD)
"We are motorhead, and we play rock and roll."

Kiss of Death is a 13-track, 45-minute plus whirlwind combustion of just that.

If Inferno was any clue that Motorhead was still going strong after almost 30 years, well, they still are on "Kiss of Death."

There are some plusses to Kiss Of Death over Inferno:

1. Kiss of Death kicks off with the scorchering "sucker", whereas Inferno opened with "terminal Show", a slower, rhythmic tune.

2. Kiss of Death also ends with a sonic bang. The album culminates into a great force of sound in "going down", with Lemmy declaring "you can't mess with Dr. Rock", a humorous poke at their roots. The bonus song "Ramones", sounds looser and harder that when it was originally recorded on the album "1916".

3. Great guitar sound. The mixing was done very well for this album, and it shows in Phil Campbell's playing. One sizzling track that reminds me of "overnight sensation" is "Devil I know", which has Phil's signature tone front row center, and Lemmy declaring, "I might be a dog, but honey you're a bitch". Several other tracks that highlight Phil's guitar sound are "under the gun", "living in the past", "sucker", and "going down".

4. Kiss of Death has some of the best rocking blues tracks ever recorded by the band. The two all-out blues rockers, "one night stand", and "Under the Gun", are placed strategically after two full-force motorhead powerhouse tunes to give the album a deinitive groove, and keep the listener interested. "Under the Gun" has such a catchy chorus and guitar hook--it probably will be played live in one of their upcoming tours.

5. The ballad. While motorhead has done it's shares of hits and misses in the acoustic section, "God Was Never on Your Side" works. The pacing is perfect, and the song simply softens and loudens when it needs to. Like "whorehouse blues", it is also another sleeper for Motorhead.

6. The automatic classic. As soon as I heard "trigger", I knew that Kiss of Death was not going to be some lame, uninspired sequel to "Inferno".

Lemmy's voice throughout the album sounds sinister, especially on the groovy, sacrifice-like "Kingdom of the Worm", which has Mikkey Dee playing great drums to start the song.

The album does have a mid 90s retro feel to it, like the Sacrifice/Overnight Sensation era, but I think that's a positive aspect for the album.

I was not disappointed by too much, other than lackluster tracks such as "Christine", and "Sword of Glory", which I think the band has rehashed in many other song forms on previous albums.

Perhaps my favorite track on the album is "Living in the Past", a very hard-rocking soon to be classic to be that shows hints of Lemmy's deep raspiness found on "Orgasmatron" over 20 years ago.

On Kiss of Death, Motorhead came to play rock and roll, and they don't disappoint.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grade A Stuff [4 1/2], August 30, 2006
This review is from: Kiss of Death (Audio CD)
I got this album yesterday, and was disheartened to find no review up yet on amazon. Being one to never write the first review for an album, I opted to wait for the guys with real balls. Anyway, this is a VERY solid release by Motorhead. This album follows a very similar path of Inferno, but it's not completely a rehash. Lemmy still has plenty of tricks up his sleeve. This is my favorite part about Motorhead- every album can sound essentially similar yet vastly different at the same time.

But anyway, the album has it all in it. The essential Motorhead Rockers: Sucker, Sword of Glory, Going Down, and more. There's the groovier rockers like Kingdom of the Worm. Especially notworthy is the rarity of a Motorhead ballad- God Was Never On Your Side- a VERY heartfelt yet forceful song. My favorite track is probably Trigger, for it is a throwback with a very hooky chorus.

People say Motorhead haven't changed. That's a lie. Motorhead have most definatley matured, but they never slowed down and never put out a poor album, so there's no reason to complain. Please buy this album, Sanctuary is a crappy label and wont put out the proper advertising to make this album sell the way it should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another gem!, April 15, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kiss of Death (Audio CD)
Considering the blokes from Motorhead have released more albums than I have fingers and toes, I'm constantly blown away by how good they usually are.

For a band that hasn't really ever changed their sound, Motorhead has been unbelieveably consistant in delivering good albums that don't just sound like they're ripping themselves off constantly.

"Kiss Of Death" is another surprisingly strong entry, especially so since Lemmy Kilmister is a staggering SIXTY years old at the release of this album!

But aside from the amazing fact that a man six decades old is still managing to rock just as hard as he ever did, there isn't a truly bad song on here, and most of them are darn awesome!

In fact, this album is also pretty diverse, considering its all pure Motorhead. It still sounds like the band I know and love, but there are several interesting bits on the album. Lets discuss:

"Sucker" and "Going Down" are classic fast rockin' Motorhead, think "Ace Of Spades" or "On Your Feet Or On Your Knees," you know, those kind of Motorhead songs.

"One Night Stand" has a great sort of Bob Seger chug to it, very classic rock. Until the solo, which has this great stuttering riff backing it that really caught my attention.

Speaking of classic rock chugging, "Christine" sounds like the worlds heaviest New York Dolls song. Which is awesome! Generic lyrics certainly don't keep it from being a classic in my book (it sure didn't stop "Shine").

"Devil I Know" has a pretty cool Judas Priest style groove to it. Its not the best song on the album, but I dig it.

Speaking of not being the best song on the album, while "Sword Of Glory" isn't the most musically remarkable thing Motorhead has done, its got some great lyrics about the dangers of history repeating itself. Its nice to see Lemmy use his age-aquired wisdom to write a truly affecting song.

"Trigger" has a nice catchy chorus to it, but what I really like are the Iron Maiden style harmonized lead guitar lines in the song.

"Under The Gun" has a swaying verse riff. Its one of the weaker songs on the album but its still interesting to hear Motorhead play a riff that reminds me of a ship sailing choppy waters.

"Living In The Past" has a mean tone and a MONSTER of a groove. Great riff. This one is a classic.

"Be My Baby" seems a bit clumsy with the song structure (the verse into the pre-chorus never feels natural), but the riffs and rhythms are certainly worthy of some headbaning, and even though its far from my favorite Motorhead song, I find it getting stuck in my head a LOT.

"Kingdom Of The Worm" is a total death grind. It's a pretty unique entry for Motorhead.

Did I forget anything...? Oh, right, "God Was Never On Your Side." Thats a dull ballad. Its perfectly okay as far as Motorheads ballads go, but I don't really care much for it.

So thats it. Another great Motorhead album. Fans should LOVE it. And if you're new to Motorhead and want to see how good their post-"Ace Of Spades" output was, well, this is just as good as any other album they've released since AOS.

In fact, its better than quite a few of the post-AOS albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delivering the goods, January 3, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kiss of Death (Audio CD)
I LOVE this CD. For the past 30 years Motorhead have been nothing if not reliable (don't read that as predictable). And unswervingly dedicated to their style. Kiss Of Death continues the tradition and serves up a medley of hard and fast rockers, the occasional tricky time signature, the power-ballad (!) "God Was Never On Your Side", and satisfies like only Motorhead can. Lemmy can deliver some surprisingly thoughtful, and thought-provoking, lyrics at times.

By now they are playing to their own audience and are a relic in this world of 2-minute attention spans and single-song downloads. So what! They may not convert any new fans with Kiss Of Death, but those of us in the know - we know they haven't failed to deliver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best yet, January 23, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kiss of Death (Audio CD)
I was intruduced to Motorhead through my stepson. Since then I have been into a lot of metal. Motorhead is his favorite, and strangely has become mine too. I have almost all of their albums, but this one is by far the best yet. The best of the best here I think is "God Was Never On Your Side". You cannot go wrong with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked Heavy, January 3, 2007
This review is from: Kiss of Death (Audio CD)
Awesome! Not much more to say than that. Better than "Inferno".

"Nobody cares if you're in or you're out,

We're gonna give you a smack in the mouth,

Whether you go or whether you stay,

I guess it just ain't your day,

Sucker!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kiss Of Death, June 9, 2008
By 
This review is from: Kiss of Death (Audio CD)
Motorhead-Kiss Of Death *****

While I greatly enjoy the Fast Eddie Clark time period of Motorhead more than any other I am going to go so far as to say that aside from Ace Of Spades this is the second strongest Motorhead album to date. It's loud, fast, furious, intense, angry, and well....Motorhead.

For me Motorhead is one of the those bands along the lines of The Ramones in the since that they really can do no wrong and have yet to disappoint me. Kiss Of Death was released in 2006 with Mikkey Dee on the drum kit, Phillip Campbell on the guitar, and he sure gives Fast Eddie a run for his money here, and of course the indelible Lemmy Kilmister on bass vocals and lyrical duty.

Songs like the fireball 'Sucker' and 'One Night Stand' give us a glimpse into the Motorhead of old, while 'God Was Never On Your Side' takes the Motorhead of own, with it's socially conscious lyrics and takes it to the tenth degree creating one of if not the greates Motorhead song of all time. 'Christine' sounds like 1979 while 'Kingdom Of The Worm' owns just about every punk and metal track out today, and the great thing is they set out to do neither of those.

Kiss Of Death is essential, is pure, it's honest, it's good time rock n' roll at it's finest. Motorhead is legend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Kiss of Death
Kiss of Death by Motörhead (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.