Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet Another Compelling Story from a Master of the Genre
This story is vintage Mark Gado, troubling the line between harmless eccentricity and horrific aberration. It both facinates and disturbs. It forces the reader to question his or her own ability to recognize when quirkiness has transgressed the border of civility, slipping--descending--into the realm of criminality. Could there be a more convetional American city than...
Published on June 19, 2012 by Donald H. Mengay

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Short, but Interesting
This book is about the case of John Jamelske. It was an interesting read that kept me focused. I would have liked more details about the investigation.
Published 19 days ago by Teresa Quintana


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet Another Compelling Story from a Master of the Genre, June 19, 2012
This review is from: Kiss The Girls Goodnight (Crimescape Book 13) (Kindle Edition)
This story is vintage Mark Gado, troubling the line between harmless eccentricity and horrific aberration. It both facinates and disturbs. It forces the reader to question his or her own ability to recognize when quirkiness has transgressed the border of civility, slipping--descending--into the realm of criminality. Could there be a more convetional American city than Syracuse, NY? And could it be more shocking than to find a modern case of sex slavery, unlawful imprisonment and abuse, all in the context of an otherwise typical house,in an otherwise typical neighborhood? In this story Mark Gado continues to amaze in the way he's parlayed a decades-long career in law enforcement into a life of storytelling. He has a genuine knack for it, for suggesting haunting, yet elucidating, questions about the human condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Talk to Strangers!, June 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kiss The Girls Goodnight (Crimescape Book 13) (Kindle Edition)
What's hard to believe is that these young women would even get into a car with some strange old man, much less follow him into his basement and into dark, hidden rooms before realizing that he might have any bad intentions. They were indeed 'lucky' that he did not kill any of them and just lived out his bizarre fantasies at their expense. People like the deranged subject in 'Kiss the Girls Goodnight' are out there right now, plotting and planning to victimize innocents from all walks of life. Knowing that this actually took place is enough to scare you silly and keep you turning page after page. Great job, I highly recommend this fast paced read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to believe there are such evil people out there...another good one from Mark Gado., April 24, 2012
This review is from: Kiss The Girls Goodnight (Crimescape Book 13) (Kindle Edition)
I love these true crime stories that Mr. Gado has been writing. I read his two hardcovers several years ago(Killer Priest and Death Row Women) and read both of his e-books recently - he just gets better and better. I can't wait to see what he writes about next. It's hard to believe that these stories are taken from events that have really happened and that there are such evil people walking around out there. I highly recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I could not put it down, February 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kiss The Girls Goodnight (Crimescape Book 13) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this "true crime short" because I had read Detective Gado's MOM: The Killer (a case that makes Casey Anthony look like a Girl Scout) and Nightcrawler. I found both of those "true crime shorts" to be credible and sensitive presentations of absolutely shocking cases that if they occurred today would dominate the TV news. No, he doesn't write like Hemingway, but the cases that he writes about are not suitable for atmospherics that you find in novels. He's a veteran detective and is trained to present facts and he does that very well. And, as a man with decades of experience on the police force, I would assume that he can get more candid views from investigators and prosecutors on any case than some hack reporter.

Now, to this particular book, Kiss the Girls Goodnight, it is truly shocking and profoundly disturbing that an intelligent, well-to-do married man with apparently normal adult children could plan and execute the building of a dungeon in his own home with the express purpose of luring girls to get into his car so that he could make them his sex slaves. This is not acting on some fleeting sexual fantasy, but a determined plan that stretched over many years.

There will always be individuals that think they can tell if a stranger is trustworthy. Remember in the 1970s, when girls thought it was okay to hitchhike until serial killers and serial rapists exploited their naiveté? Well, this sex slaver found the next generation of gullible females. I would make this story required reading for any teenager, male or female, because it's not only girls that are the victim pool for clever perverts. The lesson here is that you do not make yourself vulnerable to anyone that you do not know personally, and even then with caution. The most successful criminals are the ones who have conned people into thinking that they are harmless, helpful people. Look at today's politicians and bankers.

I found this book to be well written and compelling. Once I started it, I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars thriller, March 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kiss The Girls Goodnight (Crimescape Book 13) (Kindle Edition)
Like detective and crime novels- good listen. would recommend to my friends.. I do thank you for a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sick man, March 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kiss The Girls Goodnight (Crimescape Book 13) (Kindle Edition)
Interesting read. My heart goes out to the victims and their families. This man stole something from them that they can never get back....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weird, February 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kiss The Girls Goodnight (Crimescape Book 13) (Kindle Edition)
I found this book a bit weird and twisted. I thought the man was a complete sicko and couldn't understand why the girls he kept locked up were lured to him in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Psychologically adventurous, January 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kiss The Girls Goodnight (Crimescape Book 13) (Kindle Edition)
Most fascinating. I didn't want to put it down but needed to take a break from the world created in this book. It was a trip through the unimaginable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read!!, December 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kiss The Girls Goodnight (Crimescape Book 13) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed reading this book. I really don't understand why a man who had everything going for him turns out to be a sick, master manipulator who prays on younger girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard to read, November 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kiss The Girls Goodnight (Crimescape Book 13) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoy is not the right word for this book. I found it very disturbing and unsettling but I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.