Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original cast reunited 10 years later for this stereo remake
KISS ME KATE opened on Broadway on Dec 30, 1948 to rave reviews. Columbia records made the original cast recording, but 10 years later Alfred Drake produced this stereo re-make for Capitol using the exact same text as the first album. Again the record opens with the Entr'acte instead of the Overture. And the same trims have been made in the songs. Even conductor Pembroke...
Published on May 23, 2004 by Mark Andrew Lawrence

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the ORIGINAL "Original Cast" recording
This EMI studio remake has been a source of confusion for buyers ever since it was first issued in 1959. While it does reunite the four principals - Alfred Drake, Patricia Morison, Lisa Kirk and Harold Lang - ten years after their original 1949 Broadway recording, there has always seemed to me something a little strained and slightly faux about this entire re-production...
Published on October 19, 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the ORIGINAL "Original Cast" recording, October 19, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Kiss Me, Kate (1959 Recording With Original Cast) (Audio CD)
This EMI studio remake has been a source of confusion for buyers ever since it was first issued in 1959. While it does reunite the four principals - Alfred Drake, Patricia Morison, Lisa Kirk and Harold Lang - ten years after their original 1949 Broadway recording, there has always seemed to me something a little strained and slightly faux about this entire re-production. On the surface they are closely following the original arrangements, including the replacement singers who assume the minor roles; but the feeling they project simply doesn't match up to the original, which is still available on Sony/Columbia SK-60536.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original cast reunited 10 years later for this stereo remake, May 23, 2004
This review is from: Kiss Me, Kate (1959 Recording With Original Cast) (Audio CD)
KISS ME KATE opened on Broadway on Dec 30, 1948 to rave reviews. Columbia records made the original cast recording, but 10 years later Alfred Drake produced this stereo re-make for Capitol using the exact same text as the first album. Again the record opens with the Entr'acte instead of the Overture. And the same trims have been made in the songs. Even conductor Pembroke Davenport is back to conduct the orchestra.
With both available on cd which should you get? Tough call. The performances are a little fresher on the earlier recording but the lush stereo sound and placement help the lyrics come through with even more clarity on this disc. If pushed to choose one over the other I would opt for this edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars stereo "Kate" with the original cast reunited, July 14, 2006
By 
Byron Kolln (the corner where Broadway meets Hollywood) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me, Kate (1959 Recording With Original Cast) (Audio CD)
There isn't much to recommend this recording over the 1949 OBC, except that this recording is in stereo and the OBC was mono. In 1959, the original Broadway stars of KISS ME KATE were reunited, to record a studio album of the score in the new stereo format. While time did little to diminish the amazing vocal prowess of Patricia Morison, Alfred Drake, Lisa Kirk and Harold Lang, the overall recording is so similar to the OBC that it's almost frightening.

As my fellow reviewer Mark Andrew Lawrence has noted, Pembroke Davenport returned to fill the position of musical director, and the same snips and trims are evident from the original album.

Considering this was Patricia Morison's third KATE album (following the original London cast recording in 1951), her performance as Lilli Vanessi/Katharine is perhaps even slightly better than the OBC. Alfred Drake, who had been a constant presence on Broadway in the ensuing years, is as charming as ever. Lisa Kirk (who by this time, had actually abandoned Broadway for a very successful career as a cabaret singer) likewise finds new depths in revisiting the material.

If you already own the OBC, you'll probably ask why you should buy another recording, but completists will want this CD anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Still looking for a good overall version of KMK, February 24, 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My title says it all. I have yet to find a version of Kiss Me Kate that I like in terms of orchestrations, sound fidelity, and singing ability.
The original '49 version, IMHO, is too old making the orchestra and cast sound boxy and somewhat unintelligiable. Original cast recordings of the '40s generally sound that way and no amount of digital remastering would improve them much (BTW, Brigadoon might be the exception to that rule.)
The later '59 studio version has HiFi stereo quality but while the orchestra sounds much better, the original actors sound 10 years older (Lisa Kirk's alto, in particular, has grown even huskier, and therefore unbearable for me to listen to, compared to her younger, more pleasant, late 40s-style crooning counterpart).
The recent Broadway revival has fine Tony-winning orchestrations, Stokes Mitchell and Mazzie do a fine job, but Spangler and Berresse are uninspiring as singers and song interpreters.
Finally, I went and bought this recording (1987 London Revival) on the strength of Fiona Hadleys pussycat-sexy version of "Why Can't You Behave."
***
I'm still looking for a good overall recording of Kiss Me Kate. Hadley sounded fine fine for me, although some would object to the English accent and her often fruity tone production. (I accept those elements as part of her sex appeal!) The new orchestrations, however, sound VERY bland and unbroadwaylike. They seem to evaporate at times, much like common elevator music. Furthermore, Paul Jones can hardly sing and Nichola McAuliffe's voice is just as stuffy as Patricia Morrison's, who was in the '49 Broadway and '59 studio versions.
Sigh. I guess the search continues...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic OBC, April 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me, Kate (1959 Recording With Original Cast) (Audio CD)
This Original Broadway Cast recording brings back the excellence of the end of the golden age of musical theatre. How can one go wrong with a score by Cole Porter sung by four of the great singing performers of the past--Alfred Drake, Patricia Morison, Lisa Kirk, and Harold Lang? Drake and Morison in particular are in fine voice and recall an era when singers could had finer vocal quality and tone than many out there today. The orchestra under the leadership of Pembroke Davenport is also top-notch. A must-have for all OBC collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good recording, June 1, 2001
By 
Charles Grigaitis (Worcester, MA United States) - See all my reviews
I bought this recording when it first came out approximately 10 years ago.Being a big fan of the movie, I was dissapointed in the original Broadway cast recording(have since changed my opinion of that). I found the new musical arrangements to really add a great deal to the show, and the vocal performances are very good, even for British singers. I recomend you add this cast recording to your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where Is My Purchase, January 19, 2007
I have had several back-order messages for a product that was supposed to be a Christmas Gift. No one seems to know much about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Look elsewhere for Kiss Me Kate, July 2, 2003
By 
G. Reed "parent" (Alexandria, Virginia USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having performed "Kate" twice I love the music - but not as it's performed here. The singers camp it up too much, and the accents they use in a vain attempt to sound American are horrible; twangy country, slurred urban, downright silly. While the recording does include more songs than most other "Kate" soundtracks, and therefore more Porter lyrics, the singing really gets in the way of enjoying the show.
There are many other "Kate" soundtracks - a quick searh nets 24 hits - look for one of the other ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst album of KATE to date!, May 23, 2004
The disk starts off promisingly with a well-played Overture, but once the singing commences we're in trouble. They force American accents and oversing the roles. At least they can sing...the leading man, Paul Jones cannot. It is painful to listen to him warble through the Porter classics written for a legitimate voice. His voice has no top end and no bottem end, and the middle range is pretty shakey. Is it any wonder his Act II solo reprise of "So in Love" was left out? Stick with Alfred Drake and the original cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Broadway Classic!, August 25, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Kiss Me, Kate (1959 Recording With Original Cast) (Audio CD)
One of the greatest shows in Broadway history, Kiss Me Kate is complete with witty book, beautiful, memorable score, and a little dose of Shakespeare. A play within a play, Kate is about a once-married couple playing opposite each other in a musical version of The Taming of the Shrew. I am currently in a community theater production of Kiss Me Kate, and it's a thrill to be in. Cole Porter's score is a dazzling work of art. I own this particular version, and also made an amazing find in Virgin Records (NYC) and found a two-disc recording of the complete Kiss Me Kate. I also recommend the MGM film soundtrack, which I also plan on getting. If you've never heard Kate before, buy this or any other Kiss Me Kate CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Kiss Me, Kate (1959 Recording With Original Cast)
Kiss Me, Kate (1959 Recording With Original Cast) by Kiss Me Kate (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.