Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT FILM--Even for a Guy who HATES Chick-Flicks
This romantic comedy has been one of my long-time favorites. I have literally watched this film twice in one day and laughed out loud both times. The perfect blend of chemistry and comedy, it will work for both men and women. Once when watching this movie, my younger brother began to protest, "I hate girl movies!" I asked him to give it a chance and briefly explained...
Published on July 4, 2002

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FOR HE'S A JOLLY GOOD FELLOW...
This is a delightful, little known, romantic comedy. It focuses on the prospective second marriage of Kay Villano (Sally Field), who three years prior had become a widow, when her then husband, Jolly (James Caan), met with an accidental death. Her fiance, Rupert Baines (Jeff Bridges), is a quiet, academic sort of man, the antithesis of her dead husband, who was a...
Published on September 8, 2002 by Lawyeraau


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT FILM--Even for a Guy who HATES Chick-Flicks, July 4, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Kiss Me Goodbye [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This romantic comedy has been one of my long-time favorites. I have literally watched this film twice in one day and laughed out loud both times. The perfect blend of chemistry and comedy, it will work for both men and women. Once when watching this movie, my younger brother began to protest, "I hate girl movies!" I asked him to give it a chance and briefly explained some of the plot. He laughed so hard that he cried at the film's conclusion and then said the magic words "You were right." This is a great little movie that thought it could....if you can muster the open mind, you won't be disappointed. It's romantic without being overly sentimental--funny without overacting--bittersweet and perfectly played. My only regret---it's not on DVD yet. This movie also features a great song by Dusty Springfield, which found at both the introduction and conclusion. BUY THIS!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where have all the good movies gone?, April 26, 2002
By 
This review is from: Kiss Me Goodbye [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Quite an early look at Jeff Bridges. This movie was hilarious Sally Field and Jeff Bridges were so cute. I sooo miss movies like this. The actor who plays Sally's Father is so funny there are scenes he's in that you have to pay attention to because they are subtle funny.
James Caan was okay, I was much more impressed with Jeff's performance in this one.
Happy Viewing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funniest movie you will ever see, March 22, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Kiss Me Goodbye [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I saw this movie years ago and it is still one of the most consistently funny movies I have ever seen. You can watch it over and over!!! I just wish they would put it on DVD!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kiss Me Goodbye, a new classic, a must see!, March 1, 2006
By 
Dina (Williamstown, NJ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kiss Me Goodbye (DVD)
Are you a hopeless romantic? Love romantic comedies? Love Sally Field and James Caan? If you answered yes to any, buy this dvd!

This is absolute feel good romantic comedy! James Caan is wonderful as "Jolly", the dead (ghost) husband of "Kaye" (Sally Field), who yes, we really love you Sally! Only she can see him when she moves back into the house that they lived in when he tragically fell down the steps during a party and died. Upon moving back in, he starts reappearing to her, and of course she thinks she nuts and boy, she really acts this part out perfectly! Her new fiancee, 'Rupert" played by a very young Jeff Bridges, is less than thrilled of hearing her talk out loud to her dead husband whom he can't see. She then says she still loves Jolly and can't decide if she wants to live in the house with him or marry her fiancee.

I don't want to spoil the whole movie for you, but you get the idea. It has a wonderful feel good ending and ends happily ever after with Jolly saying, "Kiss Me Goodbye". Tears and joy at the same time.

I've been waiting forever for this to be released on dvd, it's rarely played on any cable channels, which is beyond me, because it's a wonderfully enjoyable movie for the whole family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FOR HE'S A JOLLY GOOD FELLOW..., September 8, 2002
This review is from: Kiss Me Goodbye [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a delightful, little known, romantic comedy. It focuses on the prospective second marriage of Kay Villano (Sally Field), who three years prior had become a widow, when her then husband, Jolly (James Caan), met with an accidental death. Her fiance, Rupert Baines (Jeff Bridges), is a quiet, academic sort of man, the antithesis of her dead husband, who was a flamboyant philanderer and well known Broadway choreographer.
When Kay decides to reopen their old home and have the wedding there, she gets an unepected visitor, the ghost of her long dead husband. Unfortunately, only she can see or hear him. She now has to choose whether to linger over the memories of the dead or embrace the idea of creating new memories with the living.
Sally Fields is absolutely delightful as the tormented Kay. Her comedic timing is great, whether as the comedienne or as the comedic foil for James Caan. James Caan takes to the role of Jolly with unsurprising ease. Jeff Bridges is, unfortunately, somewhat wooden and stiff in his role. He could have been better. The rest of the supporting cast, which includes Claire Bloom and Mildred Natwick, however, is excellent.
This film, which brings to mind the likes of Noel Coward, is a funny, well acted film. It is a light, frothy, romantic comedy and has no pretensions of being anything more. It also features a song sung by the late, great Dusty Springfield as an added treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A delightful comedy you won't say goodbye to!, January 10, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Kiss Me Goodbye [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This overlooked comedy is a delight! Its comedy harkens back to a Noel Coward farce with witty dialogue and humor arising from the confusion of characters. Is there really a ghost or is she unconsciously looking to avoid marriage? And, if the ghost is real, what are his motives? I saw Dona Flor & her two husbands, and its heavy handed drawing of the two male characters as extreme stereotypes of all intellect or all sex, is, frankly, boring. I'd pick Kiss Me Goodbye anyday. Besides, there is a hysterical scene with a "possessed" dog that is worth the whole movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You'll love it!, July 3, 2007
This review is from: Kiss Me Goodbye (DVD)
If you're looking for a light-hearted, funny but touching comedy to pass the time one evening, this is the one for you! Sally Field was great, she's a good comedic actress. James Caan was good- but not great. He makes Jolly a likable dead guy! And I thought Jeff Bridges was great! Yes, his character is kind of wooden, but I always thought that was a great way to play it- especially against the popular, talented, life-of-the-party character Jolly.
The supporting cast was wonderfully funny-especially Kay's father...but you have to pay attention when he's in a scene or you'll miss much of his humor- it's subtle!
Try Kiss Me Goodbye- you'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kiss Me GoodBye, February 9, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me Goodbye (DVD)
Xcellent comedy. The last time I saw it was when it 1st came out... 'til a few weeks ago. The dog scene in the closet & the Guy Lombardo Scene/country scene is fantastic. Was this a Neil Simon play once?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sally Field At Her Best, August 18, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kiss Me Goodbye (DVD)
Sally Field is a wonderful actress, especially in a comedy such as this when everything goes awry with her romantic life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of The Best Movies I've Ever Seen, March 14, 2001
By 
Leonard Washington (Orangeburg, South Carolina United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kiss Me Goodbye [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie is an excellent love story. Sally Fields showed a lot of skill in this one. This movie is a great commedy and should be a part of everyone's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Kiss Me Goodbye
Kiss Me Goodbye by Robert Mulligan (DVD - 2005)
$9.98 $6.62
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.