Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and frothy romance
Carly Phillips's books are always a fun read and this one is no exception. Coop and Lexie are fantastic characters, and I love their interactions. A bored reporter by day, novelist by night, Sam Cooper (Coop) foils a jewelry store robbery and is given a ring as a reward. Turns out this ring has a past--and Lexie Davis recognizes it as a match for her grandmother's...
Published on July 27, 2010 by Mary@BookSwarm

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing
Kiss Me If You Can (Hqn) was a major disappointment. Not a mystery: the puzzle in the plot was so simple it could be explained in a few dozen words, and was predictable. Not a romance: little besides hormones driving this "relationship". Not a thriller: the author wasn't able to involve the reader in the little moments of danger she created. Not a people-watcher's story:...
Published on August 31, 2010 by William C. Mead


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Flirty and funny, March 16, 2013
By 
Renasmea (Minnesota United States) - See all my reviews
Nice romantic story with a little crime mystery involved. Best comic relief is Lexi's grandmother Charlotte. Early Phillips story writing is simple, flirty and fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!!!, March 9, 2013
The perfect mix of sex, love, and intrigue!!! I couldn't put it down and read it cover to cover in one day!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Carly Phillips Does it Again!!, January 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've never read a book by Carly Philips that i didnt enjoy, like and couldnt put down. if you have the opportunity read all her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steamy, yet sweet....., October 20, 2012
This review is from: Kiss Me If You Can (Hqn) (Mass Market Paperback)
I checked this book from the library and was not disappointed!! Two not so painfully flawed characters finding love when they really were not in the market for it made this book believable.

Sam Cooper (Coop) has become the talk of the town through a "Bachelor Blog" in the newspaper he works for. His claim to fame was based upon "being at the right place at the right time" to foil a jewelry heist. His initial reward? A ring that was stolen some 50 years ago. When his heroic act is caught by the local news, he was reluctant to accepting a reward, but picked out something he figured was too cheap and ugly to be considered a loss to the jewelry store. Later to find out that it was one piece of three that was stolen and the case was left cold and unsolved. Sam's desire is to be a novelist beyond the small publishing house he was working with. Considered a hobby by those that knew him, but a dream nonetheless. The mystery of how that ring appeared in his hand and the story behind it sparked his interest and plowed through his writers block.

Upon seeing the news report of Sam's heroic act and his reward, Lexie Davis and her eccentric grandmother look in awe at the similarity that ring is to Lexie's grandmother's necklace. Lexie tries to contact Sam about purchasing the ring once she gets a better look at it, but is thwarted by his sudden fame in the bachelor blog. In a desperate attempt to obtain the ring before her grandmother's birthday, she manages to find Sam at the back of the newspaper building dumping the enormous load of letters, packages and whatnot from adoring women seeking to claim the bachelor for themselves. Sam has no interest in desperate women, but becomes quite smitten with Lexie.... the woman that is not interested in him or his bachelor status.

With a mystery to solve about the story of the ring and the other two pieces of jewelry that were stolen some 50 years ago, Sam and Lexie team up to solve the mystery. Between their respective jobs and this quest for answers, they have a connection that scares both of them. Sam, the homebody and Lexie, the world-traveler, could not be more different, but need each other to come to terms that their way is not the best way.

The side story about Lexie's grandmother, her best friend and the jewelry store owner is what ties the mystery to be solved. This is a light read with some funny parts that sure had me laughing. With this being the first novel I have read from this author... I look forward to more of her works in the future. Nice start to the short series that this is (there are only 2 books in the series). While I have not seen as high of reviews on the second book.... this can be considered a stand alone in its own right and is a guarantee that it is going to be an enjoyable one. The story is sweet, the sex is steamy, and it is a well told story. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mystery & Romance, May 21, 2012
Mystery, suspense, & romance- I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Definitely a page turner, Ms. Phillips pulled out the twists & turns, while adding steamy, yet appropriate, sex scenes. I can't wait to start the Serendipity series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Exciting, Romantic Escape, May 20, 2012
This review is from: Kiss Me If You Can (Hqn) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book follows Phillip's history of writing fun and romantic stories. I was captured by the character's love story but also with the side mystery story. The book is a quick read (I read it in part of a day), but I enjoyed every minute of it. If you are looking for an enjoyable romantic fiction book set in current day times, this book is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but not spectacular book, March 19, 2012
I liked this book, but I didn't love it. Coop is a really likeable, relatable character, and I enjoy his interactions with Lexie. He's sensitive and sweet without being perfect--he makes his own stupid mistakes in their relationship too, lending the story more realism. Charlotte and Sylvia are a riot, and the scene where Lexie and Coop finally confront them had me laughing out loud. I don't want to spoil it, but their role in the whole situation was a little disturbing--but it was certainly different! Sitting here to write this review, though, I was trying to pinpoint what kind of fell flat for me about the book. It's Lexie! Personally I found her kind of annoying. She was selfish and flakey. Sure, she's a free spirit, and normally I like those kind of characters, but Lexie was contradictory. For instance, she says she's a "love em and leave em" babe, but then she also implies she's not used to being with many guys. She goes on and on about how she needs honesty and plain talk, but then she hides her thoughts about leaving and gets instantly mad when anyone calls her out on her own BS. Most of all, she shows almost no interest in Coop. He makes a major effort to get to know her family, sticks by her during tough times, helps her figure out what she wants from life. She does ask about his writing (though only to offer him one brief moment of criticism), and not much more. She barely asks about his ex-wife, what he feels about being a reporter, or even much about his family beyond the basics. She never tries to discuss travel with him and talk about why he's not enthusiastic. She goes on and on about how nobody could possible understand her so there's no point in explaining, but then keeps saying Coop "gets" it. It's not until the very last scenes of the book that it even comes up that he's afraid of failure, and suddenly she says she "understands" him. Why wasn't she offering him any support in return for all he was giving her? Coop too could make more of an effort in some places, but I still kept thinking he could do better. :) However, the book was fun and a nice light diversion if you enjoy fluffy romance novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, November 26, 2011
This review is from: Kiss Me If You Can (Hqn) (Mass Market Paperback)
Great book! Really enjoyed it and would recommend to anyone looking for a light fun easy read! l l l l
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing, December 27, 2010
I have been reading Carly Phillips books ever since The Bachelor was released. This was by far her best book! The story, setting, and love scenes were so detailed that any reader would truly fill the connection. The second book in the series was great but the story between Coop and Lexie was so interesting that I couldn't put the book down!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, November 14, 2010
This review is from: Kiss Me If You Can (Hqn) (Mass Market Paperback)
A great, fun read- a little suspense/ mystery to carry the story, but overall a light read. Very consistent writing style and theme- her novels are always 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Kiss Me If You Can (Hqn)
Kiss Me If You Can (Hqn) by Carly Phillips (Mass Market Paperback - July 27, 2010)
$7.99 $6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.