Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Kiss is all I have to give: A Christmas Story
Some may balk at naming this a Christmas movie because of the subject matter, while others will see the reason for terming this very near perfect film as such. First, it takes place at Christmas, and second it is a story as sweet as the Gift of the Magi as far as different tales on the concept of gift giving. Lance Daly both wrote and directed KISSES and cast two...
Published on December 20, 2010 by Grady Harp

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great film done in by klutzy post production.
This is a great film which I was unable to fully enjoy. The description says it is close captioned, but apparently the powers that be decided it was only necessary to cc 20% of the film. It is beyond my comprehension that in the 21st century, a film company finds it impossible to produce a DVD with close captions that actually work. What were those post production...
Published 8 months ago by Neil


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Kiss is all I have to give: A Christmas Story, December 20, 2010
By 
This review is from: Kisses (DVD)
Some may balk at naming this a Christmas movie because of the subject matter, while others will see the reason for terming this very near perfect film as such. First, it takes place at Christmas, and second it is a story as sweet as the Gift of the Magi as far as different tales on the concept of gift giving. Lance Daly both wrote and directed KISSES and cast two extraordinary young actors in the main roles. His use of black and white to color in filming and his decision to focus the musical score on the works of Bob Dylan are two further bits of evidence that this is a man with a solid career before him.

In an unnamed little town in Ireland adjoining families live in rather squalid psychological conditions. Kylie (Kelly O'Neill) lives with her parents and siblings in a state of constant bickering and chaos: Kylie's uncle has in the past added his own brand of psychological trauma to her life as we hear later in the film. Next door lives Dylan (Shane Curry), a lad Kylie's age who lives with a severely abusive father and submissive mother. It is Christmas Eve and there is not a bit of joy in the air: Kylie is sent off to walk the baby and is verbally abused by schoolmates while Dylan finally is fed up with his father's behavior (Paul Roe) and after a scuffle flees out the window - with Kylie's help. The two youngsters cannot bear their disgusting family situations and off they go, finding a ride with a riverboat dredger captain (David Bendito) who introduces the to the songs of Bob Dylan. The two end up in Dublin where they struggle for food and shelter, encounter some rather gross behaving people, as well as meeting good people like Bob Dylan (Stephen Rea) for a moment and as they look for Dylan's long vanished brother they meet a street girl (Elizabeth Fuh) who when asked how she survives plying her trade tells Dylan that her only gift to people she meets is a kiss - and she gently kisses Dylan on the cheek. After finding that life on the streets of Dublin at night is very rough the two seek help from a policeman who helps them return to their homes. But a bond has been formed between Kylie and Dylan and the story just ends.

Lance Daly is a sensitive director; the portions of the story taking place in the home of the kids are shot in black and white and it is only as Kylie and Dylan discover Bob Dylan's music courtesy of the dredger does the film gradually turn to color. He also is unafraid to show the joys of the two kids as they buy things in Dublin (Kylie's uncle gave her some hush money) and shoe skate around in their new found freedom and happiness, a factor that makes the rest of the story - which is rather dreary and sad - palatable. The two young actors are superb and the music of Bob Dylan floods the screen. This is a small budget film with a big message. And part of that message is about the significance of a simple gift. Grady Harp, December 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended, June 21, 2010
By 
R Zern (Austin, TX) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kisses [Region 2] (DVD)
Kisses is an entertaining and unique film. It was interesting to watch the story of two Irish kids that run away from home unravel. Experiencing the journey with them is thoroughly enjoyable and exciting, yet believable and did not seem far-fetched.

I loved the character of Kylie. Her very expressive spirit definitely added to the storyline and made for an interesting character. Dylan's apathetic, yet pensive essence was a nice contrast to Kylie's character. The acting by Kelly O'Neill and Shane Curry was remarkable, and they definitely need to be commended.

The mood of the film was directly correlated with the music, and fortunately, the music was perfect to set the mood. I'm glad that I had a chance to watch it. I especially loved all of the Bob Dylan references.

I highly recommend Kisses!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A journey you won't forget!, June 28, 2010
This review is from: Kisses [Region 2] (DVD)
And I feel like watching it again, right away!!!

From the very first moment until the very end, the two kids,Dylan and Kylie take us on an emotional journey while they're trying to escape their futile lives.
Great acting and a very dynamic picture language create a magical atmosphere.

Definitely not only for Bob Dylan and Dublin fans!

Eine mitreissende Geschichte ueber die Sehnsucht zweier Kinder nach Freiheit und Liebe. Geniale Besetzung und wunderbare Bilder. Absolut sehenswert!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A charming and overlooked film, January 12, 2011
This review is from: Kisses (DVD)
A boy and a girl from broken homes run off into the city in this Irish film. The two encounter both friend and foe while walking the streets for an evening. The longtime friends develop an even closer bond while trying to survive the rough downtown life. The low budget shooting enhances the realism of the film, with the viewer becoming invested in the welfare of the protagonists. This is a strong recommendation for a charming little movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For luck, April 4, 2010
This review is from: Kisses [Region 2] (DVD)
Great movie mostly shot around Dublin. The kids swear like (Irish) sailors but there is magic in it all the same. The summary on this listing gives you a pretty fair idea of the plotline. A few moments of movie magic to be found in this little ditty which enjoys paying tribute to Bob Dylan along the way. The title makes sense by the end. Well worth catching. 4.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a dear, lovely, plain, beautiful, unsentimental film, January 7, 2011
By 
Susan Doran (San Francisco CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kisses (Amazon Instant Video)
The only way to rate movies is to leave a review. I wasn't prepared to write a review but Kisses is such a worthwhile film I'm rating/reviewing it, and doing so immediately after viewing/renting on-demand. I may edit this review, and flesh it out more after digesting the movie. But the following are my initial impressions.

Kisses subtly, and wholly successfully, evokes subcultures of South Dublin (Tallaght) and Dublin proper. It's no easy task for a filmmaker to draw viewers into his world so gently and firmly. To see and convey things as they are--not smash you upside the head with "brutal reality" nor to balk and sugarcoat. This is a film that deeply respects us, as viewers, as well as the characters--all of the characters, in their plain, understatedly endearing (and, for a handful of characters, rather awful) complexities. The acting is flawless. I didn't want to say goodbye to these characters, and yet the film is the perfect length. The characters will go on with their lives as they did before we met them, and I feel honored to have been able to spend some time with them.

What Kisses is NOT: slick, polished, tidy (in any way), fast-paced, maudlin, cute, patronizing, grotesque, or sentimental. There are no uproarious pratfalls nor clever plot devices--tho it is quietly *very* funny, and quietly *very* smart.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, February 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kisses (DVD)
Excellent sync between image, colors, feelings and action.A vision of life through the eyes of innocence and perspicacity from two kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kisses (DVD)
Great movie about young love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gem of a movie, March 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kisses (DVD)
This movie was a pleasant find. The two young actors are really great. The plot was involving, and the script was good. Where this movie really shines is in the directing and cinematography. It was beautiful in the way they captured the kids' adventure as they both run away from horrible home circumstances to even worse circumstances in the big city, where reality hits them straight in the face. We really feel the huge character arc from beginning to end. A good one to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully shot, moving film, October 29, 2012
By 
Ben Kane (Nr Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kisses (DVD)
I'd heard of this film some time ago, but hadn't got around to watching it until recently. I was attracted to it because it's about Ireland, but as I watched it, I soon realised that it was a genuinely good film. It's about two young children, about 11-12 years old, I'd guess. Neighbours, they are good friends, quite possibly because their home situations are so dire. As I mentioned in the title, this film is beautifully shot - some important scenes are filmed in monochrome but gradually change to full colour. The two main actors play convincing roles, and their story as they run away from home, into the centre of Dublin, is believable, intense and moving.

Most convincingly of all, the film does not give us a sugar sweet ending. Instead, it brings us a moment of huge passion and emotion, and an open-ended possibility that things might go well - or that they might not. This is a fine film, almost definitely made on a shoe-string budget. Highly recommended.

Ben Kane, author of Spartacus: The Gladiator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Kisses
Kisses by Lance Daly (DVD - 2010)
$14.99 $9.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.