Back to Business Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq Bose SoundTouch 130 Amazon Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Shop Now Sale

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 3, 2008
"Kit Kittredge: An American Girl" is certainly heartwarming and innocent, but that doesn't mean it's shallow and cloying. I admit that I thought it would be, mostly because I was expecting a virtual clone of last year's awful "Nancy Drew." There are certain similarities: both feature plucky young girls who do a lot of investigating; both have an assortment of colorful side characters; both are based on a series of stories, both feature Max Theroit. Unlike "Nancy Drew," however, "Kit Kittredge" aims to tell a good story with real subtexts; taking place at the height of the Great Depression, we meet characters that are downtrodden and desperate, not only because their financial situations are bleak, but also because they face the scorn and rejection of ignorant people. This adaptation of stories drawn from the "American Girl" doll line mixes childish zeal with some very mature themes, and that alone made it worth seeing.

Abigail Breslin brings enthusiasm, charm, and heart to the title character, a ten-year-old girl from Cincinnati, Ohio who runs a tree house club and dreams of becoming a newspaper reporter. She wants to write stories with fresh angles so that she can finally get into print. A pair of hobos--a helpful teenager named Will (Max Theroit) and his young friend, Countee (Willow Smith)--inspire Kit to write an article on hobo life. The fresh angle is that it will be told entirely from a kid's perspective, which may be needed in this case since many adults feel hobos are good-for-nothing leeches that suck the government dry. Kit has heard this rhetoric from her neighbors and classmates--one especially snotty young boy says that selling eggs and wearing dresses made of chicken feed bags bring you one step closer to the poorhouse.

But Kit is beginning to understand the hobos' plight, not only because many of her neighbors have lost their homes to foreclosures, but also because her unemployed father (Chris O'Donnell) is forced to find work all the way in Chicago. Hoping to make ends meet, Kit's mother (Julia Ormond) turns their home into a boarding house. This is how we meet: Ms. Dooley (Jane Krakowski), a husband-seeking dance instructor; the disapproving Mrs. Howard (Glenne Headly) and her young son, Sterling (Zach Mills); Ms. Bond (Joan Cusack), a slightly goofball mobile librarian; and Jefferson Burke (Stanley Tucci), a magician. When the subject of hobo robberies comes up, Mrs. Kittredge has everyone put their valuables in her lockbox. When it's stolen, everyone suspects Will as the culprit, including the police. Kit takes it upon herself to investigate. Despite what the evidence suggests, she believes her hobo friend is innocent.

It fairly obvious that "Kit Kittredge" is a commentary on prejudice; at one point in the film, Kit tells a cantankerous newspaper editor (Wallace Shawn) that there are good hobos and there are bad hobos, much like good apples and bad apples. She then gets a hard lesson in office politics when it's revealed that newspapers print only what the public wants to read, and the unfortunate truth is that the public is intolerant of hobos. Naturally, those who say this haven't met the people living in a hobo jungle, as Kit has; they're some of the nicest people around, and they willingly let Kit photograph them and write about them for her article. Messages of acceptance and understanding are not new, certainly not for a family film. But unlike a lot of other such stories, "Kit Kittredge" doesn't condescend, and when we leave, we feel both entertained and emotionally rejuvenated.

Aside from Kit, one of the film's best characters is Sterling, who at such a young age has already been beaten down by life. Sterling's father, much like Kit's, also left Cincinnati to find work, and communication with his family has steadily decreased. You see nothing but hurt and sadness in this boy's eyes. He and Kit are practically in the same boat, which is why they form a special bond. Kit is now worried that her father will forget her and her mother completely, even after promising to write them every single week. I remember a scene when Kit types a letter to her father; the frustration and fear she pours into the first draft makes for a heartbreaking moment.

I can't guarantee that adults will be as receptive to "Kit Kittredge: An American Girl" as kids will, but I definitely recommend they give it a chance. The doll may be a hollow piece of plastic, but the character is something else entirely--she's kind, spirited, intelligent, and just plain wonderful. Some may criticize the film for being too sentimental, and indeed, it's light-hearted and optimistic, more than would be expected from a story set during the Depression. But it's more mature than it lets on. Even with a childish sense of humor, hopelessness and grief are not spared on the audience. It's always a pleasure to see a family film that was made with all audiences in mind, not just kids. "Kit Kittredge" is such a film, one of the most enjoyable I've seen all summer.
88 comments75 of 83 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2008
Coming from a 16-hear-old girl like myself, this review may be of little help to some people. But to tell my honest opinion, this movie is a good one. And when I say good, I mean it's good. It's clean, has a fun storyline, GREAT actors, cute moments...and altogether leaves you feeling satisfied. While boys and men may not find much they like about it, I would recommend giving it a try. Little girls, teenagers, and moms alike have all told me they loved it...so why wouldn't you? :)
0Comment43 of 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2008
Compared to all of these crude 3-D animated movies,the repeated Super hero flicks, and the Rated R movies that have gone too far, there is finally a movie that is good without without the phony glitz and glamor! In fact, this movie teaches kids to be thankful for what they have and forget all of that nonsense. It is educational without being boring. It is interesting and has something for everybody in this movie. I recommend it for the whole family. You MUST go see this.
0Comment17 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2008
Kit Kitteridge: An American Girl is based on the best selling American Girl Kit Books authored by Valerie Tripp.
Kit's story begins in the 1930's during the Great Depression. Kit's father, Mr. Kitteridge, owns a car dealership. Her mother, Margaret is the director of the Ladies Garden Club. Kit's brother Charlie, is serving in the CCC, created by President Roosevelt. Kit aspires to become a newspaper reporter and to one day see herself in print with the Cinncinati Register. However due to the events of the Great Depression, Kit and her family's world is turned upside down. Mr. Kitteridge becomes unemployed after the bank forecloses on his car dealership. Due to the umployment situation in Cinncinati he travels to Chicago looking for work. Margaret Kitteridge along with Kit take on the responsibility of turning their large home into a boarding house. The boarders are an eclectic mix of individuals from different backgrounds. Stirling Howard, a classmate of Kit's and his mother Mrs.Howard, Miss Dooley, a dance instructor, Miss Bond, the local mobile librarian who can only stop the mobile library if she runs into something, Jefferson Berk, a magician who has a mystery of his own, and Fredrich, the boarder whose pet monkey is always keeping everyone on their toes. Kit and her mother also befriend Will and County, two young hobos who come to the Kitteridge home looking for work and a sense of family. Of course an American Girl story would not be complete without some excitement which comes in the form of a mystery for Kit and her friends to solve. This movie features a wonderful cast of character actors: Abigal Breslin as Kit, Chris O'Donnell as Mr. Kittredge, Julia Ormond as Margaret Kittredge, Jane Krakowski as Miss Dooley, Max Thieriot as Will Shepherd, Glenne Headley as Mrs. Howard, Joan Cusack as Miss Bond and Stanely Tucci as Jefferson Berk.
0Comment24 of 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2008
I really enjoyed Kit Kittredge. I thought the film was an important and interesting portrait of life in Cincinnati during the Great Depression. As a Cincinnatian, I enjoyed seeing our city portrayed on the big screen and could relate to a lot of the local references.

The film was not the most fast-paced film I've ever seen, but it more than made up for it with its storyline. This movie is at once a drama, mystery and historical fiction. I walked away from the film still thinking about it, which is the sign of a good film to me.

The acting is terrific and includes acting giants and others I believe will be the acting giants of tomorrow. This is not one to be missed.
0Comment11 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2008
It was a really fantastic movie I really liked it because I love American Girl I definetely recommend for you to watch this movie it makes you cry!
review image
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2008
I watched this with my 11,9, and 3.5 year olds. We enjoyed it. It was clean and entertaining. My 11 year old said it was not in line with the book, but still enjoyed it. It gave us a lot of topics for discussion. Based on the depression era, we were able to discuss economy, prejudice and family. Two thumbs up from us.
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2008
It's such as shame that A+ film making like Kit doesn't do well @ the box office. I saw it 3 times & there were no more than 5 people each time in the theater. SO SO SAD! I will b buying this on DVD not just because I want it but also to support everyone behind Kit's creation. This will b one dvd you can give ANY young person boy or girl look them dead in the eye & say, 'IT'S ALL GOOD' Everyone behind Kit desirves an Oscar!
11 comment9 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2008
What a refreshing change! In a world of increasingly violent, filthy, and vulgar movies, Kitt Kittredge stands tall and proud. In essence, this is a solid story with a splendid cast.
The story revolves around its title character, Kitt (Abigail Breslin), a plucky eleven-year-old who deals with peer pressure, drastic changes in her life-style, rejection, etc., etc.
The movie flows well and has a relatively plausible story-line, which at times prompts audible laughter from the audience. There is a serious side,too, including threats (laughable though they may be) against the children and a visit to a hobo "jungle," or camp. I appreciated how they portrayed the hoboes as honest people who were down on their luck. Kitt puts it quite well.
The movie is full of talented young actors and actresses - Max Thieriot, from Nancy Drew and Zach Mills, from Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium; as well as pleasantly familiar faces such as Julia Ormond and Chris O'Donnell. And that's just dropping a few names; you'll recognize at least three other faces.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2010
This is a really fun movie. Our entire family has enjoyed watching it (including Dad!). The music in this movie is perfect for the era too.

This is a great movie that includes things like "hoboes" and foreclosures. Ironically, this is a GREAT movie about some of the things that kids are dealing with in 2009/2010.

It talks about soup kitchens, jumping trains, and even saving left-overs. Kit is a real trouper and deals with the depression era really well considering all that she goes through. It talks about important things like the CCC which was an important part of history.

This is such a fun movie with a great ending. Highly recommend it!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.