Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

909 of 960 people found the following review helpful
on October 8, 2012
Format: Blu-ray
■■ Just a Heads-Up, Amazon has merged reviews for The Dark Knight Trilogy, and the Dark Knight Trilogy Ultimate Collector's Edition (UCE). This is a review for just the Dark Knight Trilogy. I also have a review for the UCE which can also be found here: http://www.amazon.com/review/R3SINGTZGPMNK1/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B00DUCXFUC&linkCode=&nodeID=&tag=
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Disregard all the naysayers claiming this is a money grab. No, it's called having a choice. Not everyone wants the Super Duper Ultra Rare Limited Collector's Edition, that's often filled with a bunch of useless physical items. Some people just want to have the trilogy and nothing more. For $30 (currently), you get just that, and even a little bit more.

You get the following in the Blu-ray edition:

Disc 1: Batman Begins Feature Film
Disc 2: The Dark Knight Feature Film
Disc 3: The Dark Knight Special Features
Disc 4: The Dark Knight Rises Feature Film
Disc 5: The Dark Knight Rises Special Features

PLUS you get a 64 Page excerpted (i.e. shortened) version of the wonderful book: "The Art and Making of The Dark Knight Trilogy"

That is tremendous bang for your buck! Not only with the movies, but there are hours and hours of special features included too, including a documentary about the Batmobile. The Ultimate Collector's Edition, which won't be released for another year will no doubt cost at least twice as much. The only thing I have a problem with here is the cover art. It just doesn't look anything like Nolan's Batman.

The DVD version of the Trilogy is a 3-disc set and lacks many of the extras found in the Blu-ray set, but it does look nicer. It has a lenticular cover featuring the Batman sign from all 3 movies. It looks really cool compared to the cover used for the Blu-ray edition.

All in all, this is a wonderful set to get if you don't own any of the movies yet. Heck, even if you do, it's still a great value if you just want The Dark Knight Rises. Consider TDKR sells for around $20-25, for just a few bucks more you get the 2 preceding films, and a book. You really can't go wrong here!

Here is a list of the Special Features that included. The list may not be all-inclusive. The set has no exclusive features, but rather, the same ones that come with the individual releases

BATMAN BEGINS SPECIAL FEATURES

■ In-Movie Experience: Christopher Nolan, David S. Goyer, and others reveal the movie's backstory as you watch
■ The Dark Knight IMAX Prologue (in high definition)
■ Tankman Begins: A Batman Begins spoof
■ Batman: The Journey Begins: Concept, design, and development of the film as well as the casting of Batman himself
■ Shaping Mind and Body: Observe Christian Bale's transformation into Batman
■ Gotham City Rises: Witness the creation of Gotham City the Batcave, Wayne Manor, and more
■ Cape and Cowl: The development of the new Batsuit
■ Batman: The Tumbler: The reinvention of the Batmobile
■ Path to Discovery: A look at the first week filming on rugged and remote Iceland locations
■ Saving Gotham City: The development of miniatures, CGI, and effects for the Monorail chase scene
■ Genesis of the Bat: A look at the Dark Knight's incarnation and influences on the film
■ Reflections on Writing Batman Begins: with David S. Goyer
■ Digital Batman: The effects you might have missed
■ Batman Begins Stunts: Confidential Files: Discover facts and story points not in the film
■ Stills gallery
■ Theatrical trailer

THE DARK KNIGHT SPECIAL FEATURES

■ Movie with Focus Points (picture in picture)
■ Explore your favorite movies through BD-Live(tm), an interactive gateway to exclusive content-
■ Gotham Uncovered: Creation of a Scene: Director Christopher Nolan and creative collaborators unmask the incredible detail and planning behind the film, including stunt staging, filming in IMAX®, and the new Bat-suit and Bat-pod
■ Batman Tech: The incredible gadgets and tools (in high-def)
■ Batman Unmasked: The Psychology of The Dark Knight: Delve into the psyche of Bruce Wayne and the world of Batman through real-world psychotherapy (in high-def)-
■ Gotham Tonight: 6 episodes of Gotham Cable's premier news program
■ The Galleries: The Joker cards, concept art, poster art, production stills, trailers and TV spots

THE DARK KNIGHT RISES SPECIAL FEATURES

■ THE BATMOBILE" DOCUMENTARY: Witness all five Batmobiles together for the first time in history. Dive deep into every aspect of the most awe-inspiring weapon in Batman's arsenal as you journey through the birth and evolution of this technological marvel and cultural icon. (01:00)

■ ENDING THE KNIGHT: A comprehensive look into how Director Christopher Nolan and his production team made "The Dark Knight Rises" the epic conclusion to the Dark Knight legend.
- The Prologue: High-Altitude Hijacking
- Return to the Batcave
- Beneath Gotham
- The Bat
- Batman vs Bane
- Armory Accepted
- Gameday Destruction
- Demolishing a City Street
- The Pit
- The Chant
- The War on Wall Street
- Race to the Reactor
- The Journey of Bruce Wayne
- Gotham's Reckoning
- A Girls Gotta Eat
- Shadows & Light in Large Format
- The End of A Legend
■ Trailers
■ Art Galleries
6666 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
186 of 202 people found the following review helpful
on December 4, 2012
Format: Blu-rayVerified Purchase
Just got mine in the mail. It does indeed come with UltraViolet copies of all 3 movies!

It also comes with:
A 64 page excerpt from "The Art and Making of The Dark Knight Trilogy."

Batman Begins: 1 disc (Movie and special features together)
The Dark Knight: 2 discs (Movie and special features are separate)
The Dark Knight Rises: 2 discs (Movie and special features are separate)

And a code for discounted memorabilia. I will be posting some pictures soon.

Hope this helps!
review image review image review image review image review image
1313 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
146 of 177 people found the following review helpful
on July 12, 2013
Format: Blu-ray
■■ Just a Heads-Up, Amazon has merged reviews for The Dark Knight Trilogy, and the Dark Knight Trilogy Ultimate Collector's Edition (UCE). This is a review for just the UCE. I also have a review for the Dark Knight Trilogy which can also be found here: http://www.amazon.com/review/R18Y6HWBZGPF2K/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B009JBZH54&linkCode=&nodeID=&tag=
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you're reading this, odds are you already own at least one of the movies included here. Christopher Nolan's Dark Knight Trilogy stands as one of the best, and most successful comic book screen adaptations of all time. Warner has released, and re-released these movies several times over the years. Unfortunately, previous Blu-ray releases have not been perfect. The picture quality left videophiles wanting a remastering of the films (well at least Batman Begins and TDK), but sadly after such a long wait, Warner will be releasing the same exact transfers found in previous Blu-ray releases.

There are just a few new items included. You'll be getting 90 minutes worth of new extra features on a bonus disc, including an interview between Nolan, and Superman director Richard Donner, as well as a documentary about the trilogy. Physical extras include 3 Hot Wheels of Batman's vehicles, some Mondo art cards, and a hardcover book.

The discs aren't stored in regular Blu-ray cases, but rather in a "Book" with slots for each movie. This is similar to the Book-style packaging seen in the Alien Antrhology, and Star Wars Complete Saga sets. Some people may not like this as it doesn't protect the disc as well, but Blu-rays are more scratch-resistant so if you take care when removing and putting them back in, they should be okay.

Discs

Disc 1 Batman Begins Feature + Special Features
Disc 2 The Dark Knight Feature
Disc 3 The Dark Knight Special Features
Disc 4 The Dark Knight Rises Feature
Disc 5 The Dark Knight Rises Special Features
Disc 6 Bonus Disc of New Special Features (details follow)
Plus: Ultraviolet Digital Copy code for all 3 Movies

(Full details of all the existing Special features included here can be read in my previous review found on The Dark Knight Trilogy page)

NEW Special Features:

■ The Fire Rises: The Creation and Impact of The Dark Knight Trilogy - The inside perspective on the fascinating story behind the creation of one of the most celebrated franchises and how it changed the scope of movie making...forever. Full of never-before-seen footage, rare moments, and exclusive interviews with Guillermo Del Toro, Damon Lindelof, Michael Mann, Zack Snyder, Richard Roeper and others.
■ Christopher Nolan & Richard Donner: A Conversation - For the first time, Directors Christopher Nolan (The Dark Knight Trilogy) and Richard Donner (Superman) sit down to discuss the trials and triumphs involved in bringing the two most iconic superheroes of all time to the big screen, and how Superman influenced Nolan when developing Batman Begins.
■ IMAX® Sequences: The Dark Knight; The Dark Knight Rises - See your favorite scenes as they were intended in the original IMAX© aspect ratio

Exclusive NEW Memorabilia:

■ Premium Mattel Hot Wheels Vehicles: Batmobile, Batpod and Tumbler

■ Newly commissioned collectible art cards by Mondo featuring Scarecrow, Joker, Bane, Harvey Dent, and Ra's al Ghul

■ 48-page hardcover book featuring production stills and behind the scenes images from all three movies

So is this worth the $100 suggested price? If you already own the movies, I'd have to say no. The cars are made by Hot Wheels, and are probably just a few steps up from Happy Meal toys, and if you want a book on the trilogy, I recommend the definitive The Art and Making of The Dark Knight Trilogy. While it isn't quite as "Ultimate" as the name suggests, newcomers, and die-hard fans will still find some things to enjoy here. Everyone else will be better off saving their money and getting the standard trilogy set, or the individual releases.
1111 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
109 of 139 people found the following review helpful
on December 5, 2012
Format: Blu-rayVerified Purchase
 The boxset has finally been released; all three installments of Nolan's realistic and cinematic take on Batman dispersed on five discs. While people tend to focus on the acute realism, it is not so grounded that it defies the source in which it came from. The three films circle around different Batman comic arcs in unique ways. This boxset includes:

Batman Begins (2005)
The Dark Knight (2008)
The Dark Knight Rises (2012)

A 64 page book detailing behind the scenes with the inside look many of us have been yearning for, which makes for an entertaining read. Those hours of extra content on the discs are just not always as accessible as a quick read available right away at your fingertip. All three films come in great, the picture truly is wonderful as it actually is filmed on, well film. 70 mm cameras come in handy when heightened realism is at foot, which illustrates a distinct contrast to the digital jitter of today's 'films'. The explosive scenes and death defying stunts go beyond the mystery of cape and cowl, the bonus content reveals the meticulous care for quality and picture quality.

Batman Begins is self-explanatory, Bruce Wayne finds himself with guilt, anger, and more importantly fear. He must confront his inner demons to establish truthful vengeance. Begins was foreshadowed by its 2008 sequel The Dark Knight, which displayed Heath Ledger's acting prowess as the chaotic Joker.

Batman's dilemmas were always skin deep, literally as Bruce Wayne juggles his persona's before the Jokers attempt to disrupt society. The Dark Knight gravitated audiences eyes on the villain whose intensity was so hot make up would smear and further taint that gruesome near necrotic scar cheek to cheek. It was as though Bruce's conflict were buried in favor of the Joker's antagonizing run through Gotham City. It is not to be overlooked though, the Joker tempts Batman's vary nature. The Dark Knight is often considered top dog of the three, pitting Begins and Rises for the second position.

In all honesty I thought The Dark Knight Rises was just as engaging, just not in equal amounts. Rises, frame for frame is every bit as good as The Dark Knight. Ounce for ounce it becomes a bit more on the rare side when it comes to Batman, who has disappeared after the events of The Dark Knight. Likened to that of a hermit Bruce once again must learn what it means to be Batman, and not just a man in a mask.

I wrote up an in-depth review for The Dark Knight Rises the other evening, which can be found under the normal release of the film, if anyone is interested. The `Ultraviolet' digital stream is available until December 2014, the other slip insert I still have yet to read. The box itself is quite nice for the price. Best obtain now, three great films with a book and a digital `copy' for a little over the price of the average movie release is quite the deal.

I had to shrink the video, literally compressing it to a file size that would upload. I apologize about the video size, and the noise. Lastly, this trilogy is a great buy, the price is just a bonus.
review image review image
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on November 15, 2013
Format: Blu-ray
Note: This is a product specific review for the 6-disc Blu-ray Ultimate Collectors Edition released in September of 2013.

===============================================================

If you're reading this, chances are you've seen the movies and you love the series. And, sadly, chances are you probably already own one, two, or all three movies on DVD/Blu-ray and you're thinking if you want to double dip on this ultimate collectors eddition. Hopefully this review can help you make tha decision!

First off, let me go over the contents:
- There are 6 Blu-ray Discs, the contents of the first 5 discs are 100% identical to the previously released versions, but the print is redesigned to fit the art in the hardcover book where the discs sit (kind of like the Bond 50 set). the 6th disc has new contents.
1) Batman Begins Disc
2) Dark Knight Movie Disc
3) Dark Knight Bonus Features Disc
4) Dark Knight Rises Movie Disc
5) Dark Knight Rises Bonus Feature Disc
6) Ultimate Trilogy Bonus Feature Disc
- a 48-page picture book, pretty awesome!
- 3 standard hot-wheels sized replicas of the bat mobile, the bat pod, and the bat. they're small but relatively high quality (like all hot wheels cars)
- a set of 5 villains cards, the size are the about the same size as the box itself.
- a letter from Christopher Nolan (pretty lame with not much added value IMHO)

The next section I will focus the review on the content of the 6th disc that is never before released.

The new bonus disc has 3 special features, a documentary (about 90 minutes), a featurette, and the IMAX sequences from the Dark Knight and The Dark Knight Rises. Now while most people will think the IMAX footage included here is pointless, this is actually the feature that made me decide to double dip on this set, this is why:

The IMAX sequences presented here are in its original 1.44:1 IMAX aspect ratio, and they simply look awesome! It is letterboxed to fit the screen (black bars on left and right) but if you have a projector or a big enough screen, sit a little closer to your screen and it will blow you away! I played it on my 1080p projector's 120" screen, with the 1.44:1 IMAX aspect ratio, the screen turns out to be about 100" or a little less. but after moving my seat forward a little, it's just amazing! over 100 minutes of IMAX goodness! Still haven't finished it yet but I just love love love it!! This is my new demo disc!

A few little complaints tho,

1) This is my major complaint: They still left out a few IMAX shots from both movies, generally the 3-to-5-second second-unit shots they use in between scenes. I'm particularly unhappy about missing the Hong Kong day scene when Fox's helicopter lands on the helipad, and the sea plane landing shot. Those are among the most beautiful shots in "The Dark Knight".

2) When they intertwine normal 2.35:1 and IMAX 1.44:1 shots, the 2.35:1 shots expand to the sides of you 16:9 Blu-ray frame (the "normal" look) and the 1.44:1 shots has black bars on the left and right sides. so in a sense, you're neither getting constant height NOR constant width! I'd like to see a constant width presentation, but this is just a minor complaint

Overall, the collector items and this disc made double dipping worthwhile IMHO
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on December 8, 2012
Format: Blu-rayVerified Purchase
I already had Batman Begins on Blu Ray, but when comparing the price of The Dark Knight, and The Dark Knight Rises to this three movie set, it was cheaper to buy this trilogy than the other two movies individually. I love a bargain and will now give my Blu Ray Batman Begins to a family member.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon December 28, 2013
Format: Blu-ray
I had very little interest in the character of Batman until The Dark Knight Trilogy came about. What Nolan did with the trilogy raised the bar for not just superhero movies, but all summer blockbusters in general. I imagine most people already have seen these films (and perhaps you even own them on blu-ray), so the question before us is as follows: Is the Ultimate Edition worth a purchase?

Well, there are two things that set this collector's edition apart:

1. THE BONUS DISC
This set comes with an exclusive bonus disc, which contains the following:
- The Fire Rises - a 75-minute documentary that looks back at the impact and making-of the trilogy. It's a great documentary with some behind-the-scenes footage and new interviews, but it is by no means comprehensive. I feel they are only scratching the surface, and as a big fan of these movies I wanted much more.
- Interview with Christopher Nolan and Richard Donner - these two filmmakers have a discussion about superheroes, and they discuss the influence of Donner's Superman films on Nolan's Dark Knight Trilogy.
- Original IMAX Footage - all the IMAX scenes from The Dark Knight and The Dark Knight Rises. Scenes are presented in their original aspect ratio, meaning the image is framed exactly as it would be on a real 70mm/15 perf IMAX screen.

2. THE COLLECTIBLES
The Ultimate Collector's Edition includes the following memorabilia:
- Outer Box is labeled Limited Edition and is individually numbered.
- 3 Hot Wheels mini vehicle figures - The Tumbler, the Batpod, and the Bat.
- Hardcover Book, which also serves as the disc storage (the discs do not come in normal blu-ray cases)
- Collectible Booklet w/ images from the films, includes some production photos/concept art.
- 5 Art Cards (measure 7x10 inches) - Ra's al Ghul, Scarecrow, The Joker, Two-Face, and Bane
- Letter from Christopher Nolan (printed on card stock)

So that's it. There was just enough extra content and collectibles to make this worth a purchase for me. Still, there are a number of other things I wish were included. In terms of special features, they're still a bit sparse on making-of videos (especially when compared to the Lord of the Rings and Star Wars bonus material). How about an in-depth look at filming with IMAX cameras? And we never got any deleted/extended scenes on any of the blu-ray releases. As the for collectible items, they are nice (I really like the villains art cards) - but I would say they fall slightly short of the collectibles included in other WB Ultimate sets (such as The Wizard of Oz and Gone with the Wind, etc).

Overall, this set is probably worth it if you are a big fan of the Batman films. But for casual viewers, the Ultimate Edition can probably be skipped. I certainly don't regret buying it, but I was left slightly disappointed and would have loved even more content and higher-quality collectibles.

*Note: This is a review of the Ultimate Collector's Edition set. If you're just interested in the movies themselves and want to buy the Dark Knight Trilogy without all the extra goodies, try this: The Dark Knight Trilogy (Batman Begins / The Dark Knight / The Dark Knight Rises) [Blu-ray]
review image review image review image review image
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on January 2, 2013
Format: DVDVerified Purchase
the artwork of the DVD version looks Great! it's better than i expected.
and the movies, what can i say? i love this trilogy!
review image review image review image
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
55 of 77 people found the following review helpful
on October 19, 2012
Format: DVD
I'd rather pre-order this and save money. I don't really care about special features and extra items too much, the point is to have the film itself. Those who say it's quick money grab, it's his/her choice. It's going to be more expensive in the future. Besides, Not everyone uses the extra content that comes with their special/collectors edition. It's useless to me. I am sticking with this one.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on December 4, 2012
Format: Blu-rayVerified Purchase
Considering that, say, the LOTR trilogy box set was close to $100 when it came out. This batman trilogy is a steal at $30. I was already going to purchase TDKR on blu-ray but it only cost a few more dollars to get the other two as well (which I only have on DVD at the moment). Well worth it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
The Dark Knight Rises [Blu-ray]
The Dark Knight Rises [Blu-ray] by Christian Bale (Blu-ray - 2012)
$7.99

The Dark Knight (+ BD Live) [Blu-ray]
The Dark Knight (+ BD Live) [Blu-ray] by Christian Bale (Blu-ray - 2008)
$7.99

Batman Begins [Blu-ray]
Batman Begins [Blu-ray] by Christian Bale (Blu-ray - 2008)
$7.23
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.