Customer Reviews


2,094 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,797)
4 star:
 (174)
3 star:
 (51)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (59)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


872 of 922 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just want the Trilogy? This is for you
■■ Just a Heads-Up, Amazon has merged reviews for The Dark Knight Trilogy, and the Dark Knight Trilogy Ultimate Collector's Edition (UCE). This is a review for just the Dark Knight Trilogy. I also have a review for the UCE which can also be found here:...
Published on October 8, 2012 by M. Pereira

versus
133 of 162 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite the Collection Gotham fans Deserve
■■ Just a Heads-Up, Amazon has merged reviews for The Dark Knight Trilogy, and the Dark Knight Trilogy Ultimate Collector's Edition (UCE). This is a review for just the UCE. I also have a review for the Dark Knight Trilogy which can also be found here:...
Published 15 months ago by M. Pereira


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proved me wrong, December 6, 2012
This review is from: The Dark Knight Trilogy (Batman Begins / The Dark Knight / The Dark Knight Rises) (DVD)
Absolutely loved both Nolan movies before this. When I heard Bane (a mindless idiot in the Clooney-wreck) was the main villain, I was pretty skeptical. I have seen that movie, and how could that Bane ever measure up to Heath Ledger's showing as the Joker?

I was pleasantly surprised. I think the true hero of this film is the writer, could not have been better. CAUTION CONTAINS SPOILERS: The end of this movie has so many plot twists it's incredible, then everything gets wrapped up perfectly. If he weren't dead, I'd suggest Shakespeare wrote it, it's that good. SPOILERS END

Buy the movie. As a conclusion of the trilogy, it's epic, even as a stand-alone, it's still 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman!, December 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For 30 bucks this set is a total deal, especially for blu-ray. I was just going to purchase the dark knight rises but after seeing this on sale for 30 bucks, i just went for the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He rises, October 18, 2012
This review is from: The Dark Knight Trilogy (Batman Begins / The Dark Knight / The Dark Knight Rises) (DVD)
We are in a golden age of comic book movies right now. No movies show that as perfectly as Christopher Nolan's "Dark Knight Trilogy" -- three movies that explore the formative years of the legendary superhero Batman, from the beginning of his crusade for justice to the explosive climax. Even people who aren't into capes and tights can appreciate this story.

"Batman Begins": After his parents' murderer is paroled, young bazillionaire Bruce Wayne (Christian Bale) vanishes on an aimless journey across the world. He's taken under the wing of the mysterious Henri Ducard (Liam Neeson), who offers to train him to be a member of the League of Shadows. But then Bruce learns that the League plans to annihilate Gotham, his home city.

Gotham has become rotten to the core with mobs, crooked cops and a fear-inducing shrink. Using the company's discarded prototypes, Bruce fashions an armored bodysuit and tanklike vehicle, and uses them to fight crime wherever he finds it. But the League still has plans to destroy Gotham, and the only one who can stop them is Batman.

"The Dark Knight" is feeling pretty good about his battle against crime, especially since the new DA Harvey Dent (Aaron Eckhart) is a morally-upright good-guy. But Batman isn't prepared for the Joker (Heath Ledger) a mad clownish psychopath who has hired himself out to the mob to destroy their worst enemy, the Dark Knight. Even worse, he has the ultimate way of blackmailing Batman into doing what he wants: holding all of Gotham hostage.

"The Dark Knight rises picks up eight years later -- crime is almost gone, Batman has vanished, and Bruce Wayne is a recluse. But then a terrifying masked man named Bane arrives in Gotham, attacking Batman as revenge for the League's destruction. He will turn Gotham into a living nightmare, unless the Dark Knight can rise again...

Most directors would have given these movie a distinctly comic-book, slick pop-culture feel. But no matter how hard you search, there's not a single hint in "The Dark Knight Trilogy" that anything kitschy or campy came before it, or that it was originally a comic book. Instead Christopher Nolan creates a movie as dark, tightly-wound and intense as Batman himself.

But since this is a comic-book movie, Nolan peppers them with kinetic action, high-speed chases and massive explosions. The dialogue is drizzled with dry humor ("That isn't exactly what I had in mind when I said I wanted to inspire people"," Batman says, looking at a bunch of impersonators), mostly to temper the overhanging sense of horror and apprehension.

The most striking part of these movies is Nolan's delving into morality, and the darker side of human nature. He heaps more tragedy and trauma on Batman than just his parents' death, and delicately traces the moral boundaries -- or lack of them -- between Batman and his foes.

Christian Bale is simply brilliant as Bruce Wayne/Batman -- sure, his growly voice can get a bit silly at times, but he perfectly conveys the strength, pain and determination of a man who will sacrifice everything to save others. Michael Caine is awesome as his faithful butler/father figure, and there are solid backing performances by Morgan Freeman and Gary Oldman.

And the performances of the villain actors are absolutely brilliant. Everybody knows of the late Heath Ledger's spellbindingly chilling performance as the Joker, a casually corrosive creature who believes himself to be the yin to Batman's yang. But Tom Hardy and Liam Neeson are also brilliant as cunning, clever people who are determined to destroy Gotham.

The biggest problem is that Nolan isn't very good at casting women. Maggie Gyllenhaal and the pouty Katie Holmes are both hideously miscast as the cruel, manipulative Rachel Dawes, who treats Bruce's heart like a toy. Anne Hathaway is the best of the bunch -- a pretty baffling choice as Catwoman, but she does a decent job.

"The Dark Knight Trilogy" contains some of the best superhero movies ever made -- a dark, gritty, richly-imagined tale of one man's quest against chaos and evil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great price for people who want three Blu-Rays..., October 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I know people are boohooing because this isn't the "Super Amazing, Ultimate, Christian-Bale-lives-inside-of-the-boxed-set" 2013 version of the Trilogy. But for someone like myself who has a moderate movie collection, this is the perfect deal for the perfect price. I am not a big "new-release movie purchaser" to begin with (I wait 1-2 years until the movies are dropped to under $10). So for me, having all three on Blu-ray for $30 is just fine. We don't own any of these yet, so I'm happy for this great deal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Collector's Edition, November 15, 2013
By 
Rainy Storm (California, USA) - See all my reviews
Note: This is a product specific review for the 6-disc Blu-ray Ultimate Collectors Edition released in September of 2013.

===============================================================

If you're reading this, chances are you've seen the movies and you love the series. And, sadly, chances are you probably already own one, two, or all three movies on DVD/Blu-ray and you're thinking if you want to double dip on this ultimate collectors eddition. Hopefully this review can help you make tha decision!

First off, let me go over the contents:
- There are 6 Blu-ray Discs, the contents of the first 5 discs are 100% identical to the previously released versions, but the print is redesigned to fit the art in the hardcover book where the discs sit (kind of like the Bond 50 set). the 6th disc has new contents.
1) Batman Begins Disc
2) Dark Knight Movie Disc
3) Dark Knight Bonus Features Disc
4) Dark Knight Rises Movie Disc
5) Dark Knight Rises Bonus Feature Disc
6) Ultimate Trilogy Bonus Feature Disc
- a 48-page picture book, pretty awesome!
- 3 standard hot-wheels sized replicas of the bat mobile, the bat pod, and the bat. they're small but relatively high quality (like all hot wheels cars)
- a set of 5 villains cards, the size are the about the same size as the box itself.
- a letter from Christopher Nolan (pretty lame with not much added value IMHO)

The next section I will focus the review on the content of the 6th disc that is never before released.

The new bonus disc has 3 special features, a documentary (about 90 minutes), a featurette, and the IMAX sequences from the Dark Knight and The Dark Knight Rises. Now while most people will think the IMAX footage included here is pointless, this is actually the feature that made me decide to double dip on this set, this is why:

The IMAX sequences presented here are in its original 1.44:1 IMAX aspect ratio, and they simply look awesome! It is letterboxed to fit the screen (black bars on left and right) but if you have a projector or a big enough screen, sit a little closer to your screen and it will blow you away! I played it on my 1080p projector's 120" screen, with the 1.44:1 IMAX aspect ratio, the screen turns out to be about 100" or a little less. but after moving my seat forward a little, it's just amazing! over 100 minutes of IMAX goodness! Still haven't finished it yet but I just love love love it!! This is my new demo disc!

A few little complaints tho,

1) This is my major complaint: They still left out a few IMAX shots from both movies, generally the 3-to-5-second second-unit shots they use in between scenes. I'm particularly unhappy about missing the Hong Kong day scene when Fox's helicopter lands on the helipad, and the sea plane landing shot. Those are among the most beautiful shots in "The Dark Knight".

2) When they intertwine normal 2.35:1 and IMAX 1.44:1 shots, the 2.35:1 shots expand to the sides of you 16:9 Blu-ray frame (the "normal" look) and the 1.44:1 shots has black bars on the left and right sides. so in a sense, you're neither getting constant height NOR constant width! I'd like to see a constant width presentation, but this is just a minor complaint

Overall, the collector items and this disc made double dipping worthwhile IMHO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy, July 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First off - the product itself and packaging. This is a very nice set, the quality of it is top-notch and the art book is a nice bonus. The outer box that holds everything even has a nice feel to it. They need to make more sets like this, a lot of people could learn from this set. The 5 discs are nicely contained and kept safe in their own fold out style book, and easy to remove when needed. Not much more to say about it really, just very nice set especially for the price.

Not going to get too much into the movie because chances are if you are here looking to buy this you have seen them or know something about the movies already. I will keep it short...the movies are well done, the Blu-ray quality is up there and if you are even a remote fan of comic style movies this is a must see/own collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars why not?, January 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
for all the losers giving one star and picking on this set:

you paid 28 bucks for 3 great movies in 5 discs plus great behind-the-scene extra content. why so whiny? stop bitching and grow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Video cd purchased, January 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The person I bought it for loved it! We are all video people and I wass
thrilled that you had it on hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything great but digital copy., January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this box set! The only exception being that the digital copy that it comes with does not work with iTunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best movies ever made!, December 5, 2012
By 
Marty (Raleigh, NC United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These movies literally give me chills. I've seen all the Batman movies ever released and this new style is by far my favorite. I watched Dark Knight Rises so loud last night it scared my dogs, it really rumbles the speakers. The bluray quality is amazing. Buy and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Dark Knight Trilogy (Batman Begins / The Dark Knight / The Dark Knight Rises)
$38.99 $14.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.