Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Knipex 8603300 12-Inch Pliers Wrench
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Melvins Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro

Price:$62.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 22, 2012
Knipex double acting pliers use compound leverage which gives gripping power far in excess of normal pliers. I use them to crimp heavy duty terminals which ordinarily would require the use of a vise.

It is a great tool.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2012
Why would someone pay 2 to 3 times what they could get a comparable 'cheapo' adjustable wrench? Because it is worth it.
I already had the 10 inch, and found the 12 inch is just as high of quality, with a little longer handles for more leverage, and appears to be a little stouter all around.
For those who have never used a wrench like this, I'll give a quick rundown. You adjust the opening by pressing a spring loaded button, and sliding the movable jaw to a wider or narrower opening, as needed. Once set, it does not move, until you re-set it, unlike some adjustable wrenches, that will wiggle more open or shut. There is a little lever on the movable handle, that engages the movable jaw, so that the tighter you squeeze the handles together, the tighter the grip on the bolt. I have yet to have them slip, even on rusted or partly rounded bolts, in fact I believe one would be more likely to twist off a smaller bolt, than have the jaws slip, they hold that well.
The jaws are as close to absolutely parallel as I have ever seen, so much so that I can grip half a penny with the 12 inch pair, the other half with my 10 inch, and with a twist of the wrist, the penny is cleanly sheared in two.
The biggest bolt size I have used it on so far, is 1 1/2 inch, and they open just a little wider than that.
One other nice feature, is that about 95% of the time, you can size it, so that it grips the bolt tightly, but when you open the handles up, the jaws open enough to allow them to rotate around the head. This makes for fast turning of bolts, as with a little practice, you just squeeze, turn, release, allow the jaws to rotate around the head as far as you can, and when you squeeze again, they grab the next flat.
One other very, very handy use for these, would be in assembling roller chains. I do maintenance on a farm, and used to have difficulty assembling the master links on large roller chains. With their parallel jaws, and cam action to squeeze the jaws together, they make the job much, much simpler. I am thinking of getting a small pair, for doing the o-ring style chains, like on motorcycles, they help that much.
About the only negative to them, other than price, is that they are directional, in that pulling them one way, they will almost never slip, but pulling the other way, they are not so secure. This can be a problem in a situation where there is not enough room to flip the tool over. A small quibble, for such a good tool.
If you can justify the price, you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2008
These are worth ever penny, so don't let the price discourage you. They are built extremely well, have a lot of heft and feel good and balanced in hand. They are made to very tight tolerance and they definitely do the job well. The operation is as smooth as can be and I love the coated handles.

Buy yourself one of these and give 'em a try. German engineering at its best folks, you won't be sorry.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2013
I have all 4 different sizes. Incredible quality, will last for ever.
If you only want to have one of their tool sizes, the 10 inch is best.
The 12 is a little large for most applications, and the 6 inch is a little
small, 7 inch is good, but I think the 10 inches best over all!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2010
Amazing pliers recently used on small 5/16" bolts and it grips the bolt heads better than a crescent wrench. Super quality. This really is a WRENCH, the jaws are parallel and smooth. Knipex makes great pliers with serrated jaws as well.... they are all great.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2010
As an aircraft mechanic, these pliers are awesome. I also recommend the smaller ones, which I use more. These do come in handy!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2007
Have you ever tried to use a regular adjustable wrench? You know - the kind with the little swirl under the jaws you try and try to rotate to get a good grip on a bolt - only to have the jaws loosen up just as you try to turn the bolt or nut? Or maybe try to use one on a bolt with rounded corners - only to discover that the tips of the adjustable wrench are not stable - and it slips and finishes rounding off what little bit of shape was left on the bolt head?

Well - HERE IS THE ANSWER!

These Knipex Plier Wrenches are the best thing since sliced bread, if you need an adjustable wrench THAT WORKS. They are GREAT! I have several of these in my personal tool box, and I absolutely LOVE THEM! If you need an adjustable wrench - GIVE A SET OF THESE A TRY. You will fall in love with them and wonder how you got along without them for so long!

This tool gets 5 stars - only because I can not give it 6! EXCELLENT!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2014
This wrench is big. With most adjustable wrenches that limits what can be done with them, but I've use these monsters on 1/4" nuts with no problem. The mount of force you can put on them without stripping the bolt is impressive. Hint: adjust the wrench so the handles are close together for maximum torque.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2013
super clamping power. I use these for auto body, the jaws are so powerful they effortlessly straighten flat edges and flanges. If you are showing off they will pinch the edges of quarters and nickles. Every tech I've showed them too has bought a set. Top quality.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2014
These things are awesome for anything that you don't want teeth marks on, like chrome plated plumbing fixtures. I also use them as a small vise to grip or bend things. They have so much leverage you can squeeze the edge of a penny to 1/4 it's thickness.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.