Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of Ponchos!
While some reviewers have said there are only "three" poncho projects in the entire book, that statement is simply not accurate. There are three projects with "poncho" in the project name, plus five other projects with instructions for how to create a "Poncho Variation" so you can make either the main shawl/wrap/scarf or the poncho variation of that project (pages 33, 51,...
Published on September 21, 2005 by True Review

versus
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but beware of incorrect cast on sts
I love the projects in this book HOWEVER, BEWARE,there are a number of patterns that do not have the correct number of cast on stitches. For example on page 75 the white lace scarf says cast on 16 stitches but then the first row has 18 stitches. Similarly on page 79 the winter mountains scarf says cast on 36 stitches but there are at least 38 sts in the first row...
Published on November 20, 2007 by Joyce Edwards


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of Ponchos!, September 21, 2005
This review is from: Knit Ponchos, Wraps & Scarves (Paperback)
While some reviewers have said there are only "three" poncho projects in the entire book, that statement is simply not accurate. There are three projects with "poncho" in the project name, plus five other projects with instructions for how to create a "Poncho Variation" so you can make either the main shawl/wrap/scarf or the poncho variation of that project (pages 33, 51, 62, 104, 111). Further, pages 9-10 provide a comprehensive overview, complete with illustrations, of how to create four different types of ponchos simply by starting with knitted rectangles or triangles ("Anatomy of a Poncho"), followed by another section specifically instructing readers on "Making Scarves into Ponchos." It is unfair to make statements about the lack of poncho projects in this book when clearly some reviewers have not looked beyond the Table of Contents. A savvy knitter, using author Jane Davis' thorough instructions, can convert all 44 of the projects in this book into ponchos! And let's not forget the 150+ full-color photos and 75 how-to charts/illustrations to enhance anyone's ability to create anything from easy novelty yarn projects or knit and purl projects to cables and lace to beaded or embroidered pieces. There's something here--ponchos, wraps and scarves--for everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worthwhile purchase, June 17, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knit Ponchos, Wraps & Scarves (Paperback)
Jane Davis has written several fine books on beading and knitting and she doesn't disappoint with her newest one. Lots of beaded projects but also beginner projects and good explanations. There are only 3 ponchos and mainly the patterns are for scarves or wraps. Lots of techniques: cables, lace, etc. Everything is well explained and the book is beautifully produced with 150 color photos and 75 charts and illustrations for over 40 items. Each item lists the original yarn used and also uses the number guide to type of yarn weight and indicates the skill level for the project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even more, December 15, 2005
This review is from: Knit Ponchos, Wraps & Scarves (Paperback)
This is the latest in my collection of pattern books, just published in 2005. I bought this volume because of the new ideas it contains. Ways of incorporating beadwork, unusual edgings, use of yarns such as roving - these designs go beyond the ubiquitous "fun fur" stuff and offers a number of new looks and styles. Fun, inventive, not at all boring or routine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but beware of incorrect cast on sts, November 20, 2007
This review is from: Knit Ponchos, Wraps & Scarves (Paperback)
I love the projects in this book HOWEVER, BEWARE,there are a number of patterns that do not have the correct number of cast on stitches. For example on page 75 the white lace scarf says cast on 16 stitches but then the first row has 18 stitches. Similarly on page 79 the winter mountains scarf says cast on 36 stitches but there are at least 38 sts in the first row instructions or if you use the pattern diagram the first row includes 40 sts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Easy, Low-Stress, High-Fashion Projects, April 22, 2006
By 
Cable Car Belle (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Knit Ponchos, Wraps & Scarves (Paperback)
Some days I'm in the mood to knit "for the fun of it" instead of for the challenge. This book is full of projects that are easy, fun and yet still fulfilling.

The only criticism I have is that there are errors (typos) in the instructions, that are annoying and could confuse beginners. For example, one pattern gives instructions for Row 1, then Row 2, then Row 4 - which should actually be row 3. Another pattern gives an incorrect stitch count within the first few lines.

Also, there is no guage info - apparently because these items don't really need to fit. Still, if your guage is off, you may need more or less yarn. To obtain the same results as the author with the exact same yarn, I have had to adjust the needs size significantly (from size 11 to size 17).

Even with all that - I do like the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 10 Patterns have ERRORS ask Publisher for Errata Pages, April 7, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knit Ponchos, Wraps & Scarves (Paperback)
I flipped through this book at the store and found several items I would like to make. I prefer written directions so I had a problem with my first project the bead-fringe scarf. Luckily the chart was correct. I read through the reviews and saw others were having problems so I contacted [...] and they did email me corrected or clarified instructions/charts for about 10 of the projects. Pro's: Most of the projects are simple and attractive with good photos. Neg's: The directions/charts are wrong. You have to contact the publisher and request corrections they don't have an "errata page" to access at their site. I understand the occassional error will be overlooked but 10 in one book???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knit Ponchos, Wraps & Scarves, February 28, 2006
By 
C. Feyerherm (Kingwood, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knit Ponchos, Wraps & Scarves (Paperback)
As an experienced "beginner" this book is full of delightful patterns. There are certainly advanced patterns also. The color of the photographed work is exceptional. Love the close-ups. Our knitting/crocheting club refer to the patterns by color. Many great scarf patterns for gift giving. Quick, inexpensive, using only 1 or 2 skeins of yarn, and best of all, perfectly beautiful finished product. This book would be one for anyone who enjoys a fun new twist on scarves, wraps or ponchos. Check finished length on the scarves. I have found a few to be too short...I just add to the middle rows of the pattern when working in horizontal or cast on more stitches when working in vertical. (allow accordingly when purchasing yarn)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knitting Ponchos, Wraps & Scarves, October 21, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knit Ponchos, Wraps & Scarves (Paperback)
The book was very well organized and easy to follow. The pictures were clear and instructions were well written. I liked the variety of yarns used, the creativity of the author, and the overall layout. Thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great knitting, August 21, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knit Ponchos, Wraps & Scarves (Paperback)
Excellent types of products easy to follow directions made one in a matter of hours
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Basic Book. Good for Beginners., February 27, 2007
By 
Sexy Knitter (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Knit Ponchos, Wraps & Scarves (Paperback)
This is a good beginner book with simple patterns and basic photographs. It's not groundbreaking and I don't feel compelled to start anything in it, but I do like to look at it for inspiration. It has a short techniques section and simple sections on cables, lace, beading & edging. Most of the patterns are rated Beginner / Easy and 80% of the patterns are for scarves. This is a good book if you like to use fancy yarns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Knit Ponchos, Wraps & Scarves
Knit Ponchos, Wraps & Scarves by Jane Davis (Paperback - May 20, 2005)
$21.99 $19.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.