Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Knits for Barbie
I just got this book a few days ago and I am in love with it. The projects are georgeous and both the young person and an older collector will love the patterns. The designs are on small needles, with small yarns, but still work up quickly due to their size. I am just about finished with a sweater and have spent maybe two hours on it. This book also contains a lot of...
Published on November 9, 2001 by Krysta Bauer

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic and not so fabulous
Unfortunately, the patterns make boxy garments without much shaping. While errors, as noted by an earlier reviewer, are problems, omissions make the book deficient, and a novice would have difficulty. The book offers interesting ideas, but I found making adjustments to the instructions was the only way to get good results.
Published on January 9, 2007 by Zhang Li


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Knits for Barbie, November 9, 2001
By 
Krysta Bauer (Rogersville, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Knits for Barbie Doll: 75 Fabulous Fashions for Knitting (Hardcover)
I just got this book a few days ago and I am in love with it. The projects are georgeous and both the young person and an older collector will love the patterns. The designs are on small needles, with small yarns, but still work up quickly due to their size. I am just about finished with a sweater and have spent maybe two hours on it. This book also contains a lot of accessories and some designs to decorate Barbie's home with. A must have for any knitter who is a Barbie lover, who knows a Barbie lover, or has kids that are Barbie lovers. I can't wait to make more projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Barbie Knitting Book!, May 29, 2002
By 
This review is from: Knits for Barbie Doll: 75 Fabulous Fashions for Knitting (Hardcover)
My interest in creating Barbie clothes began with the desire to sew matching granddaughter/Barbie nightgowns. However, I am in a caregiving situation in which there is not always time to set up the necessary sewing equipment. Knitting for Barbie is the ideal solution - very portable and easy to put down at a moment's notice.
The book is very exciting with all the many items that can be knitted - even matching purses! I am an average once-in-a-while knitter and find the projects within my abilities and the directions clear. I found the suggested knitting materials online, but decided to use easier-to-find and less costly baby and sport yarn on sale at local stores. It certainly won't matter to the young girls who will be dressing their Barbies!
I am enjoying creating these tiny fashions as much as I hope my granddaughters will enjoy playing with them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tons of fun!, November 4, 2004
By 
This is a great knitting book. I'm a beginning/intermediate level knitter, and I found this book to be a great practice book before my first attempt to make a human-size sweater. Most projects can be completed in several hours - one day at the longest. I never got bored with it ;)

The book is also very clear and easy to use. I never had to look up additional information from other books -When a project requires an intermediate level stitch (that is stitces beyond basic knit/purl, binding off, casting on, and increasing/decreasing) you can always find a short tutorial about that sitch on the same page. I'm also happy that I got to use up my leftover yarns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun! Fun! Fun!, September 27, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Knits for Barbie Doll: 75 Fabulous Fashions for Knitting (Hardcover)
I love this book! I have a lot of different types of craft books, and they all have a few things I would like to try to make. But after looking through this book, I have decided that I want to make every item! I love that the same brand of yarn is used for many of the projects, and it is readily available. The detail and small size of the projects seem very challenging, but I have made one of the outfits already and was surprised to see how easy it was and how well it came out. Also, it is wonderful to be able to finish a project in a couple of nights, especially since I have countless unfinished "big" projects all over the house. The projects with angora and cashmere are so affordable, too! I would definitely recommend this book to even a beginning knitter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Basic Book for Barbie Knitters, August 29, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Knits for Barbie Doll: 75 Fabulous Fashions for Knitting (Hardcover)
On the plus side, this book has beautiful photogaphy and simple but very pretty styles, designed with an appropriate gauge (mostly about 6 to 8 stitches per inch).
The most noticeable flaw: there are several mistakes in the instructions. It's not hard to figure out the corrections, but gee whiz, didn't anybody proofread this before it was printed?
This book is ideal for beginning to intermediate knitters, who mostly want to make clothes for their kids' dolls. Advanced knitters and doll collectors, who prefer more complex, sophisticated shaping and fit, will probably find the patterns in this book too basic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little girls will want you to make everything in this book, January 21, 2006
By 
Amazon Customer "tilla2" (Waverly, KS United States) - See all my reviews
Sweaters, afghans, swimsuits, rugs, even a dog sweater. Nicky Epstein gives you a pattern for nearly anything you might want to knit for a Barbie. Well photographed pictures are followed by clear instructions for creating the items. Some of the recommended yarns are rather exotic, but an experienced knitter may be able to substitute from yarns left over from other projects. This would be a good book to have on hand if you are a knitting Mom, Grandma or doting Auntie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Knits: Hits & Misses, March 22, 2004
By 
Georgene (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knits for Barbie Doll: 75 Fabulous Fashions for Knitting (Hardcover)
The very first pattern I tried from this book had an error in the pattern. Not a huge thing for an experienced knitter, but perhaps overwhelming for a new knitter. The patterns are basic, some I have seen before. Still not a bad book for Barbie knitting. The yarns are difficult to find in many cases, but any yarn shop worth the name should have the equivalent to what is called for in the book. Directions, for the most part are basic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knits for Barbie, July 20, 2005
If you like to knit and love Barbie, you can create some great little outfits with this book. Instructions are clear and the pictures are great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Those Barbie knits, November 30, 2002
By 
"angelasc45" (Jersey City, New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Knits for Barbie Doll: 75 Fabulous Fashions for Knitting (Hardcover)
I am a knitter from way back - I've been knitting since I was 9 years old and when I saw this book, I thought this would be a way to not only knit but teach my daughter how to knit. There are some very easy patterns in the book and some harder ones, but it beats paying for all those Barbie clothes and we have fun doing them together. Right now I'm on to the wedding dress, I'll let you know how it comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love This Book!, October 25, 2001
This review is from: Knits for Barbie Doll: 75 Fabulous Fashions for Knitting (Hardcover)
This is a great pattern book for Barbie! There's very easy patterns to more difficult ones. Small needles and lightweight yarns are used. There are many coats, sweaters, dresses, hats, scarves, ponchos, etc. to knit for Barbie. Also there are some patterns for Ken, Barbie's dog, and a couple of afghans, pillow, and a rug. I just want to knit them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Knits for Barbie Doll: 75 Fabulous Fashions for Knitting
Knits for Barbie Doll: 75 Fabulous Fashions for Knitting by Nicky Epstein (Hardcover - October 1, 2001)
Used & New from: $11.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.