Knitting: A Novel and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $12.95
  • Save: $1.29 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
Want it tomorrow, April 25? Order within and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Used, but looks brand new. Only very slight signs of use. Cover and binding are undamaged, and pages are crisp and unmarked. Unbeatable customer service, and we usually ship the same or next day. Over one million satisfied customers!
Add to Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Knitting: A Novel Paperback – August 9, 2006


See all 17 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from Collectible from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback, August 9, 2006
$11.66
$0.01 $0.01

Frequently Bought Together

Knitting: A Novel + Casting Off + Needles and Pearls: A Beach Street Knitting Society Novel
Price for all three: $30.16

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Big Spring Books
Editors' Picks in Spring Releases
Ready for some fresh reads? Browse our picks for Big Spring Books to please all kinds of readers.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 282 pages
  • Publisher: Mariner Books; Reprint edition (August 9, 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0618710477
  • ISBN-13: 978-0618710478
  • Product Dimensions: 7 x 5.1 x 0.7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8.8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (21 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,300,718 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"A moving story about true love and haunting grief." --Adriana Trigiani, author of Big Stone Gap

"A love of the handicraft in question is not a prerequisite for appreciating [Knitting] . . . The finished product has a subtle beauty." The Washington Post

"Compelling . . . There is a lot in this book for anyone who ponders the big questions of life: the nature of friendship, the need for meaningful work, the comfort of sharing grief." Bookpage

"A quiet, literary book exploring grace, loss, suffering, community, and forgiveness." --Christianity Today

"What could be better than a good story about knitting? Anne Bartlett's Knitting fits the bill." --Creative Knitting

"Well-crafted . . . thoughtful and genuine." --Australian Book Review

"A beautiful novel that is, at its heart, about forgiveness." --Book Sense Notables

"The believable, well-constructed dialogue captures the tension and tenderness of friendship. And the words the characters don't share with each other electrify the scenes." -Sydney Morning Herald

"A sweetly winning tale." --Kirkus Reviews Kirkus Reviews

"An enthralling story about the healing power of friendship." Library Journal

"I loved Knitting. It's simply magnificent. The relationships are beautifully, delicately offered and the story is as reaffirming as anything I've read in years." --Terry Kay, author of To Dance with the White Dog

"Reading Knitting is an experience as sensual and mystical as plunging your hands into skeins of wool and color . . . A joyful narrative of creating and connecting." --Sena Jeter Naslund, author of Ahab's Wife

"A wonderful tale . . . both beautiful and deeply satisfying." --Connie May Fowler, author of Before Women Had Wings

"In the tradition of Anita Brookner and Barbara Pym, Anne Bartlett has written a sly, stirring look at women's lives." --Meg Wolitzer, author of The Wife

About the Author

Anne Bartlett spent her childhood in the Adelaide Hills of South Australia.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

It is an easy relaxed read.
Nancy Noel
The plot is a little odd at key moments, the characters are both a little quirky, but the book is well written and insightful.
Patricia
She's sad and full of grief, but I still couldn't bring myself to care about her.
BHB

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
To say Anne Bartlett is an excellent weaver of words is not only hyperbole, but totally pertinent to the subject of this story. This is a woman's book, particularly one for those who knit, and who love working with yarn. There are many references to the process of knitting and the historical importance of knitting in the life of mankind.

The character of Sandra Fildes is self-involved, seriously uptight, emotionally needy, and unable to relate well to people on a personal level. She is also a wordsmith, a writer, and a woman interested in the study of language and its nuances, along with that of textiles. When the story opens, Sandra's beloved husband, Jack, through whom she's lived vicariously for many years, has been dead of cancer for about nine months and she struggles each day to keep going. She visits an art gallery where she is struck by a glass dress. To demonstrate Bartlett's ability to meaningfully and effectively weave words together, following is the description (page 44) of the dress as seen through Sandra's eyes: "But this glass dress, this was a dress for a woman with a cutting voice and a snapping handbag, someone who ordered people around so they wouldn't see who she was. A dress for a woman who was always holding in a shriek but would let out only bits at a time, slivers of misery from behind those tight glass beads." Wow! I thought as I read the paragraph that the description could be of Sandra herself.

At any rate, Sandra and polar opposite Martha McKenzie, knitter extraordinaire, friendly and giving, but also dealing with her own deep-seated pain over losses in her life, meet under unusual circumstances. Over time, through a shared interest in things knitted, they develop an unlikely bond that in the end is healing to both.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
43 of 44 people found the following review helpful By J. Dawson on July 27, 2005
Format: Hardcover
I just finished reading Anne Bartlett's novel, Knitting, and I feel that I have been a witness to holy things. The book touched my heart. As a knitter, I enjoyed the description of the yarns and the delight that Martha took in her creations. As a spiritual person, I relished the depths of discovery that occurred in both Martha and Sandra. The characters and plot of this novel are quietly enchanting. The story grows on you as gently as a ball of yarn becomes a garment. I highly recommend this novel for women, especially knitters and meditators.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful By Armchair Interviews on January 3, 2006
Format: Hardcover
Anne Bartlett's Knitting is a superb novel for women who love to knit and enjoy a great story. The descriptions of the knitting process, its historical importance in the world and the sheer love of the craft makes it worth the read.

But it is also the beautiful, poignant story of love, healing and understanding that makes it complete.

Sandra Fildes is newly widowed and at loose ends. The loss of her beloved husband Jack to cancer has left a deep, dark hole in her life--and she seriously wonders how she can go on. She's self-centered, driven and uptight. She also loves words and textiles. She'd love to be able to knit, but doesn't believe she has the talent to be good at it.

Martha McKenzie has been widowed for many years and is a highly skilled knitter who struggles with her own demons, demons that she carries around in several suitcases wherever she goes.

Martha and her polar opposite, Sandra meet when they stop to help a man who has fallen ill. Sandra persuades Martha to help her with a retro and contemporary knitting exhibition, which is to be held in the local church hall. Each woman's personal needs collide with the others and threaten a growing friendship.

Armchair Interviews says: Bartlett weaves a story with rich characters and prose that is simply delicious. It is a marvelous first novel.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful By FaithfulReader.com on August 3, 2005
Format: Hardcover
Sandra Fildes is a woman who knows what she wants. Brilliant, high-achieving, confident Sandra is an expert in her field, the historical study of textiles. When Sandra's husband Jack passes away after a long illness, though, Sandra finds herself at a loss about how to fill her days --- and her life --- on her own.

Martha McKenzie may be Sandra's polar opposite. About the only the thing the two women have in common is the loss of their husbands; Martha's husband passed away shortly after their marriage many years ago, when Martha was just a teenager. Now Martha leads a quiet, unassuming life, cleaning a local church, living in a small flat, and filling her hours by practicing her art. Martha is a knitter, but not just an ordinary "knit a baby blanket for a friend" knitter; Martha is a true artist, with an intuitive eye for color, a daring and inventive sense of design, and the skills of a master.

Through a chance meeting, the two women form an unexpected friendship. Sandra admires Martha's quirky ways and her obvious talents; Martha envies Sandra's wealthy lifestyle and enjoys cracking her tough veneer. The two women find common ground when it comes to knitting. Through shared conversations, the two form a plan to mount an exhibition of historically accurate knitted garments, accompanied by text discussing the importance of women's domestic work through the ages. "It's something to celebrate," says Sandra, "clothes made in love and service, something women have always done."

Sandra, a merely competent knitter at best, commissions Martha to do all the knitting for the exhibit. Martha, a perfectionist with a history of mental instability, finds the task almost impossible.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Product Images from Customers

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search
ARRAY(0xa2f89f6c)

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?