Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good & bad
The bad: Circles are a big thing in knitting at the moment, & a designers are creating interesting circular patterns. One can also find interesting circular-based vintage patterns. This book does not contain any patterns that are interesting or even attractive. The knitted up styles are...downright grotesque. . The worst things about the garment designs is that, not...
Published on September 13, 2012 by vigb

versus
85 of 89 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty but of Limited Utility
I love Nicky Epstein and own several of her books, including all of the Knitting on the Edge books, the book of blocks and the book of flowers for knitting and crochet, so writing this tepid review of her latest work that I pre-ordered is not a task undertaken lightly or without thought.

First for the good, as always, the instructions to make the circles and...
Published on September 11, 2012 by Anastasia McPherson


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 89 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty but of Limited Utility, September 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knitting in Circles: 100 Circular Patterns for Sweaters, Bags, Hats, Afghans, and More (Hardcover)
I love Nicky Epstein and own several of her books, including all of the Knitting on the Edge books, the book of blocks and the book of flowers for knitting and crochet, so writing this tepid review of her latest work that I pre-ordered is not a task undertaken lightly or without thought.

First for the good, as always, the instructions to make the circles and the patterns included are comprehensive and clear and cover everything from lace to eyelets to colorwork both stranded and intarsia. I decided to keep this book just for the circular patterns which might come in handy at some point. The instructions to put the garments together are a lot less clear and this is the first of my problems with the work. Putting together a garment after knitting and blocking and ending with a garment that is attractive and wearable is no small task. Gauge is more important than beginning knitters know and blocking and seaming have entire books devoted to getting it right and here I am referring to putting together a four piece sweater or a five piece cardigan with regular shapes that go together without any spaces between the seam lines.

The projects in this book have a far larger number of components and the knitter will have to put together as many as ~twenty pieces (the dress) in different sizes and gauges and cope with the holes left by the very nature of seaming circles. Indeed, many of the "circles" are blocked into ovals to cope with this difficulty. I honestly believe that any knitter not of the caliber of Nicky Epstein would have trouble ending with anything that anybody wanted to wear. Furthermore, many knitters chronically avoid the finishing work, having more pieces and those pieces irregular is going to make that problem worse.

Finally, beyond the technical problems that I honestly believe will daunt even the advanced and accomplished knitter is the projects themselves: in my opinion very few of them are that attractive. The capelets and pullovers in bulky yarns end up looking bulky and dumpy and even with a knitter of Nicky's talent and experience the technical challenges of working with circles are apparent in design and finished product. The scarves require the seaming of several pieces and are not inspiring enough to justify the additional work - especially when there are literally countless numbers of scarf patterns that are beautiful and require little to no seaming - knitting on a lace edge (itself not an easy task) is usually the most difficult technical issue with scarves or shawls - here difficulty is added to no benefit. Nor was the obvious use of circles for scarves (e.g. seaming the lovely lace or colorwork circles end to end to form a scarf) weren't explored. The adventurous knitter and the first time knitter in circles might actually try this as a skill builder, but no skill builders are included. Even using the admittedly attractive circle patterns as an edge treatment for a sweater, dress or skirt requires a lot of advanced construction and finishing techniques that most knitters will find overwhelming.

All in all, I found Knitting in Circles to be a rare miss from a genius knitter and only a knitter of Nicky Epstein's accomplishment and experience could have made the challenge of working entirely in circles result in any viable and viewable projects. The rest of us may be up a creek or spend years with a bag of knitted circles that are never put together. For those intrigued by Nicky Epstein I recommend Epstein's Knitting on the Edge series, books that I have used in several successful designs and that include lovely, wearable designs that are within the skills of the average to advanced knitter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good & bad, September 13, 2012
By 
vigb (West Virginia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knitting in Circles: 100 Circular Patterns for Sweaters, Bags, Hats, Afghans, and More (Hardcover)
The bad: Circles are a big thing in knitting at the moment, & a designers are creating interesting circular patterns. One can also find interesting circular-based vintage patterns. This book does not contain any patterns that are interesting or even attractive. The knitted up styles are...downright grotesque. . The worst things about the garment designs is that, not only are they incredibly tacky, ugly, ridiculous, they don't incorporate any interesting, new (or even old) techniques of shaping or construction. But then, I'm not a big fan of Nicky Epstein's finished designs in any case

The good: On the other hand, I find her books on knitted details very useful, indeed --for creating my own designs. Knitting in Circles is similarly useful. The circles are not strikingly original, but there are a lot of circular designs, & when I want one, it saves me puzzling out my own stitch patterns. And so, it assumes an honorable place on my knitting bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 Needle, circular and straight needle, circle knitting choices, March 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knitting in Circles: 100 Circular Patterns for Sweaters, Bags, Hats, Afghans, and More (Hardcover)
Directions in both chart and written form. Good color photos of each pattern and interesting patterns to provide food for thought. Lots of "bouncing off" ideas in the volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars beautiful book, March 30, 2013
By 
The pictures of the samples in this book are inspirational and make me want to knit. The directions are clear and well written. I love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Knitting in Circles, March 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knitting in Circles: 100 Circular Patterns for Sweaters, Bags, Hats, Afghans, and More (Hardcover)
I borrowed this. Book from my local library. Liked it so much I came to Amazon to get my own copy. Plan on making the learning of the techniques my summer knitting on the beach projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, January 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knitting in Circles: 100 Circular Patterns for Sweaters, Bags, Hats, Afghans, and More (Hardcover)
Nicky Epstein wrote the book...of course it is perfect!
The pictures will make you drool, and then scamper for yarn basket and knitting needles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, January 5, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knitting in Circles: 100 Circular Patterns for Sweaters, Bags, Hats, Afghans, and More (Hardcover)
I got this for a gift for an ambitious new knitter. She will get so much out of it because there is nothing but beauty in it to try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars round and round, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knitting in Circles: 100 Circular Patterns for Sweaters, Bags, Hats, Afghans, and More (Hardcover)
gave me several good ideas for unusual things to do for presents -- a couple of circles put together for a bag and another couple for a round pillow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful idea knitting book, December 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knitting in Circles: 100 Circular Patterns for Sweaters, Bags, Hats, Afghans, and More (Hardcover)
This book inspires me to get out the yarn and start some projects--amidst my other projects but her books are always great for a knitting library for fresh ideas and very unique projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good one from Nicky, March 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Nicky Epstein authors great knifing and crochet books with great patterns and many wonderful photos.am so happy it is on Kindle so I can carry it with me .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Knitting in Circles: 100 Circular Patterns for Sweaters, Bags, Hats, Afghans, and More
$29.99 $20.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.