Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of nice patters for mittens and hats!, September 1, 2012
By 
Line (oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knitting Hats & Mittens from Around the World: 34 Heirloom Patterns in a Variety of Styles and Techniques (Hardcover)
I just received this book and i really like what i've seen this far! There is a lot of REALLY nice mittens and hats patterns from all around the world.

I love to knit mittens! And i have a lot of experience.
I don't think it a good mitten book for beginners, because Its not any how-to guide, there is just a lot of patters which is exactly what I was looking for.

I've would recommend this book for those of you who love mittens and are looking for new inspiration and new patterns. Some of this designs are really pretty and modern, and I can't wait to get started on a new project!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully Eclectic Selection of Patterns!, October 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knitting Hats & Mittens from Around the World: 34 Heirloom Patterns in a Variety of Styles and Techniques (Hardcover)
The designers included are: Sigrid Arnott, Dawn Brocco, Elinor Brown, Beth Brown-Reinsel, Lily M Chin, Donna Druchunas, Anne Caroll Gilmour, Jennifer Hansen, Janel Laidman, Elanor Lynn, Helene Magnusson, Heather Ordover, and Lizbeth Upitis.

The book is filled with excellent photographs, including closeups, and most feature a product or item associated with the particular region. (An exception to this is the wooden shipping crate clearly stenciled with Milwaukee, Wisconsin, pictured with hat and gloves from the Aran Islands, which I find curious, although there is, no doubt, an excellent reason for this choice!)

While there are only four actual glove patterns, the fingerless gloves and some of the mittens are ideal candidates for converting to gloves. The hats are mostly in the beanie/cloche style, although there are also berets, and a wonderful British driving cap with coordinating knucks.

To quote Donna Druchunas: "Whether you are looking for an easy project or something more challenging, you'll find patterns in this collection that you'll love to knit and wear."

I've already found some likely candidates!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Inspiring, February 19, 2013
By 
D. Burger "Cerdeb" (Blue Ridge region, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knitting Hats & Mittens from Around the World: 34 Heirloom Patterns in a Variety of Styles and Techniques (Hardcover)
This book is just full of beautiful and inspiring projects, and clear instructions on the techniques needed to make them. I knit a lot of mittens, and this year am hoping to work my way straight through the offerings here. Pages are nicely laid out, plenty of white space, clean font, clear photos and diagrams. I'm very glad I bought this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mittens and hats to knit, April 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knitting Hats & Mittens from Around the World: 34 Heirloom Patterns in a Variety of Styles and Techniques (Hardcover)
There are 34 hat and mitten patterns in this book, organized by region--Scandinavia, Europe (including Greece, Britain, The Baltic, The Far East and the Americas (South and North.) Most of the patterns are colorwork; there are some texture or cable stitched patterns as well. If you like colorful hats of all shapes (earflaps, berets, toques, caps with brims) then you're going to like this book. At the cost of knitting patterns today, running an average of about five bucks per pattern, the book is actually a bargain if you like a majority of the patterns. Even if you don't like the colorwork, the shapes can be useful and you can often use them to substitute your own color charts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful patterns, August 1, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knitting Hats & Mittens from Around the World: 34 Heirloom Patterns in a Variety of Styles and Techniques (Hardcover)
I almost never buy knitting accessory books ... although i do buy lots of knitting books. The cover design pulled me in to "look inside" and found that there were so many beautiful hats and mitten/glove combinations that I had to own the book. I typically have a skein or two left over when I complete sweaters .. the patterns in this book will provide a great use for these stray bits. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book with good instruction and patterns!, December 18, 2013
By 
Anke "Anke Jorrit" (Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knitting Hats & Mittens from Around the World: 34 Heirloom Patterns in a Variety of Styles and Techniques (Hardcover)
This book has a very detailed section in the beginning with instruction on colorwork, stitches used and correcting mistakes. There are some beautiful patterns in the book! I plan on knitting the mittens on the cover after the holidays!

I have been looking a countless 'colorwork' books and settled on this one... the patterns are well documented and there are a lot of pictures. ...it is really a beautiful book, nice paper and binding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful knitting book, October 25, 2013
By 
Berg (Washington, DC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Knitting Hats & Mittens from Around the World: 34 Heirloom Patterns in a Variety of Styles and Techniques (Hardcover)
This knitting book has some wonderful patterns and lovely photographs. I made the feather-and-fan beret and matching fingerless gloves for my teenage daughter. She wears the beret constantly and gets many compliments on it. The gloves turned out to be too large for her (she is petite) so perhaps we will give them away. At any rate, the directions are very clear, patterns are well-written, and the background material is interesting to read. I certainly do recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, April 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knitting Hats & Mittens from Around the World: 34 Heirloom Patterns in a Variety of Styles and Techniques (Hardcover)
All kinds of beautiful designs and patterns from all over. Beautifully illustrated. Can't wait to get started on a project!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I highly recommend this book, December 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knitting Hats & Mittens from Around the World: 34 Heirloom Patterns in a Variety of Styles and Techniques (Hardcover)
If you are a knittiing enthusiast you will find this book both interesting and challenging. If you are tired of the same old basic patterns you will find a fun project here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent knitting book, February 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Knitting Hats & Mittens from Around the World: 34 Heirloom Patterns in a Variety of Styles and Techniques (Hardcover)
My wife's friend showed her this book. It has the most interesting patterns. She is looking forward to making many items in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Knitting Hats & Mittens from Around the World: 34 Heirloom Patterns in a Variety of Styles and Techniques
$24.99 $16.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.