Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Look Park Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 11, 2007
Loved the movie. That said, I was confused on what the differences were on the 3 DVD versions, but found some details that I've posted below. As for me, I'm going with this two-disc unrated version.

Basic extras -- available on all (both R-rated and Unrated Editions):

- Deleted and Extended Scenes
- Gag Reel
-"Directing the Director" (Capote director Bennett Miller stops by to help Apatow get the job done)
- Line-O-Rama (Tons of alternate takes)
- Audio commentary with Judd Apatow, Seth Rogen and Bill Hader
- Roller Coaster Featurette

Goodies available only on the Unrated releases:

- MORE Deleted and Extended Scenes (some pretty raunchy ones, reportedly)
- Topless Scene: "Web Design"

And finally, extras available only on this 2-disc Unrated version:

- Judd Apatow's Video Diaries
- Finding Ben Stone (A mock casting session)
- Stripper Confidential (Rogen and Paul Rudd wade through some Sin City salaciousness)
- Even MORE Deleted and Extended Scenes / Gag Reel Footage!
- Another topless Scene: "Restaurant"
- Katherine Heigl's Audition Tape
.. "and more" (I'm really hoping for another "You know how I know you're gay?" extended scene like in 40-year-old Virgin)
55 comments| 93 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 2, 2009
Writer/director Judd Apetow is building his own franchise and making a real name for himself with his high quality comedies with his unique special brand of humor and great casting. SUPERBAD does seem to be the most popular thus far but KNOCKED UP is in the same league for me.

Story line is pretty basic. We have an average stoner guy and a beautiful professional woman who meet at a bar, get drunk, have sex and she gets pregnant. In real life such different types of people may not try to make a relationship work but here it is very believable and the development of each character about life, love and acceptance is very realistic as the pregnancy develops. Katherine Heigl and Seth Rogen are in top form as their lives are forever altered. Dialogue is funny, circumstances are realistic and having the marriage of Heigl's sister to compare with works great. Paul Rudd shines here and steals all the scenes he is in.

This is a bawdy comedy but manages to put across positive messages about safe sex, responsibility and the fact that relationships can be difficult. It is not a message film by any means but it manages to spread a good positive vein about life and its complications.

Blu ray usually is put to its best use with action films or films with great cinematography which show how the 1080p can be brilliant and how audio can transcend. Comedies can sometimes appear bland on blu ray but this film is crisp, colors are vibrant and video and audio are both at levels above that of the regular dvd. There is much talk of this movie being too long. For me it was not. You will either love it or you won't. For me it had a purpose in the length and the character development also warranted it.

I highly recommend the blu ray version of this film as well as the film itself.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2008
The movie is great. If you haven't seen it, I'd highly recommend it. This one is directed by Apatow himself; so, you you know it's one of the better ones that carries his "brand"...unlike some of those cheeseball movies with Will Ferrel. More to the point, you get the sense that he made this movie for himself or his family. For example, his wife in real life is Leslie Mann, and his daughters play his and Leslie's daughters in the movie. But enough about a review of the content...I assume that if you're considering the Blu-Ray release of Knocked Up, you've seen the movie before.

I don't know about you, but when I am considering purchasing a Blu-Ray, what I want to know is (in order of importance) 1) How good does it look? 2) How good does it sound? 3) What special features distinguish it from the DVD version that I might possibly own already. The picture quality is good but not amazing. I have yet to find a BD that has worse picture quality than its DVD counterpart, but we're not expecting minor improvements from the BD. Considering a dual layer BD can hold 50 GB compared to a DVD-9 that can hold 8.5 GB, we expect A LOT more from Blu-Ray...and rightfully so! The audio is fine, but my expectations for a comedy are much lower as I tend to be more interested in content than technical achievements and fidelity; whereas, action movies force me to be a more discerning critic. That said, I don't find anything particularly impressive or irritating about the audio on this disc.

Lastly, the special features are good but nothing, IMO, that warrants buying this disc if you already own the DVD. Again, if you're like me, you're only going to watch the special features so many times. The audio and video quality of the main title are what I am most interested in, and I am unwilling to pay $20 for the BD version at this time. If Amazon takes it down to $15, I'll take the plunge but not before.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 5, 2007
Knocked Up. A 23 year old unemployed slightly overweight guy goes to a club with his crazy 20 something group of friends. He helps this lady buy a Corona and they exchange small talk and end up spending the night together. She is a TV anchor for a famous channel. Circumstances continue, she wakes up in the morning and regrets her pick but doesn't seem overtly rude about it. The central character doesn't seem like the kind of guy you would ever get angry at. Few weeks down the line, the same girl realizes she's pregnant. Now what? Now Knocked Up.

The humor in the film is the reason it is one of the best films I've seen this year. Some dialogues tickle your bone in a very unconvential smart way. There is no toilet humor and it doesn't hurt your intelligence. The acting is very good and it is easy to relate to all characters without them seeming corny or ridiculously exuberant for any reason.

Loved it.

Why not 5 stars? I don't know, there's nothing wrong with it but it just isn't a classic, really. Watch it for the humor, watch it for Seth Rogen. Excellent acting, production and sense of emotion but comedy made this film,really.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2007
Director Judd Apatow makes another R rated comedy with a heart. He makes characters that are real and we can relate to with raunchy humor, however he slyly wraps it up with a message about responsibility as he did in 40 Year Old Virgin with celibacy.
A hilarious, real, and ultimately touching film with a message and one of the best of 2007.

This is one of the highest rated films of the year it earned a 91% positive rating out of 177 critics reviews.

Heres info I found on the dvd on movieweb:

According to The Digital Bits, Judd Apatow's box office smash Knocked Up is going to be coming to DVD in 4 different versions on September 25 from Universal Studios Home Entertainment.

There is going to be an "R-rated widescreen, Unrated (and Unprotected) widescreen and Full Frame (that will sell for $29.98 each) and a 2-disc special edition in Unrated (and Unprotected) widescreen (that will sell for $30.98), as well as an DVD/HD-DVD Combo version of the Unrated edition (that will sell for $39.98)."

DVD Features:
- Audio commentary with writer/director Judd Apatow, executive producer/star Seth Rogen and actor Bill Hader
- Deleted scenes
- Extended and alternate scenes
- Gag reel
- "Line-O-Rama" Featurette
- "Roller Coaster Doc" Featurette
- "Directing the Director" Featurette
- "Topless Scene: Wed Design Company" Featurette
- Loudon Wainwright III music video
- Picture in Picture video during the film (HD version only)
99 comments| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 29, 2008
"Knocked Up" revolves around the importance of using birth control, especially when you're sleeping with a less-than-desirable partner. Alison (Katherine Heigl) and Ben (Seth Rogen) meet at a club and hook up for a drunken one-night-stand that results in an unplanned pregnancy. This mismatched couple tries to make things work for the sake of their unborn baby, but it isn't easy. Alison and Ben are as different as two people can be. She's gorgeous, classy, and has a successful career. He's chubby and stoned most of the time, and his only professional ambition is to launch a successful Web site that revolves around female nudity in films. Despite their differences, Alison and Ben manage to support each other until Alison finally begins to question whether Ben is capable of being a responsible father figure.

I enjoyed this movie. There are a lot of funny moments in the film, but there are also quite a bit of not-so-funny scenes. Heigl and Rogen both deliver solid performances, but there is absolutely no chemistry between their characters as a couple, and I couldn't understand why Alison was so desperate to make her relationship with Ben work out, even though she had a baby on the way. Also, beware the crowning scene near the end of the movie (I did NOT need to see that!). Fortunately, "Knocked Up" boasts a wonderful supporting cast. Alison's sister and brother-in-law are absolutely hilarious, and I though Leslie Mann and Paul Rudd were the best parts of the movie.

Overall, this film is good for a few laughs, but with so much hype surrounding it, I just expected more.
66 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2007
HILARIOUS!! I was itching for this to arrive in the mail!! I saw this twice in the theater and wasn't disappointed with the DVD. I chose the original theater version because it is what I fell in love with and din't want it altered. I'd be curious to see the additional footage though. At first I thought this was going to be another stupid movie, but I was SO wrong!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Probably because there is something fundamentally poignant about watching people you deem hopeless stumbling toward responsibility, this movie reminds me of the old Natalie Wood/Steve McQueen dramedy, 1963's Love With the Proper Stranger, about a Macy's salesgirl who gets impregnated by a ne'er-do-well jazz musician during a one-night stand and then tracks what happens afterward. However, this is the 21st century, and the girl is now an interviewer on E!, and the guy is a very non-McQueen-like slacker in this uproarious and quite humane 2007 comedy, the latest work from writer/director Judd Apatow (The 40-Year-Old Virgin). In both comedies, he manages an amazing balancing act between a raunchy, post-frat hilarity and a shrewdly observed social commentary. Yet, there is no discernible fluctuation in the humor or the genuinely good spirit the films generate. Blessedly free of exhausting crescendo moments, the dialogue has a nice ramshackle feel and so do the characters. You really feel you want to know what happens to them after the film ends.

The story looks at the outset like your standard Hollywood opposites-attract rom-com as it centers on the burgeoning relationship between Ben Stone, the perfectly named definition of a slacker, and Alison Scott, the beautiful entertainment reporter. They meet at a trendy LA bar where she is celebrating her promotion to on-air personality. Ben buys her a beer, and she is impressed enough by his unexpected chivalry to keep him company. One thing leads to another, and you can guess the rest. But what you can't guess so easily is how these characters respond to the situation and to each other. There is also a surrounding gallery of characters offering their own opinions about what is developing, in particular, Alison's acerbic older sister Debbie, who is facing a crisis of her own as the control-freak wife of passively dissatisfied husband Pete. Their story intertwines nicely with the main plotline to the point where each makes the other more resonant.

Familiar faces from The 40-Year-Old Virgin return in this movie beginning with Seth Rogen, who proves he can carry a movie as Ben. Despite outward appearances to the contrary, his shaggy-dog demeanor and sometimes piercing self-deprecation provide much of the heart in the picture. As a last-minute substitute for Anne Hathaway, Katherine Heigl proves she can translate her natural likeability on Grey's Anatomy to the big screen with ease. As Alison, she shows herself to be the rare actress who can be drop-dead gorgeous, smartly aware and genuinely non-judgmental. Apatow's wife Leslie Mann, who memorably demanded French toast while driving drunkenly through LA in Virgin, is terrific as Debbie, an often-irritating mass of neuroses whom you somehow like despite herself. She has a great self-revelatory scene with a bouncer outside the same bar we see at the beginning. Paul Rudd plays Pete in his deceptively casual manner with a standout scene stoned in a Vegas hotel room.

Harold Ramis has a nice small scene as Ben's proud dad, while Ben's friends are an assortment of slacker-types played out like a well-tuned improv troupe. My one complaint about the film is just some of the sluggish pacing toward the last third of the film, the same problem I had with Virgin. A running time of 129 minutes seems a bit long for the story being told here, though the birthing scene is hilariously executed, in particular, a scene-stealing bit by Ken Jeong as the passive-aggressive gynecologist called on to deliver the baby at the last minute. One other minor irritant is the deliberate reference to Virgin in some of the dialogue between Ben and Pete. Regardless, this is one smart, heartfelt character-driven farce that far exceeded my expectations.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2012
Romance and romantic comedies are my favorite type of movie, and so I'm pretty tolerant of even the mediocre ones. Knocked Up is worse than mediocre.

The premise has comic potential: A schmoe of a guy (I mean, an unattractive, immature, profane slob who wants to do drugs all the time, masturbate to porn and never get a job) by pure luck scores a one-night stand with a beautiful, ambitious and successful woman. Well, it's not exactly pure luck that gets them together; they're both drunk out of their minds and don't know what they're doing. Ben - the schmoe - doesn't even remember the fantastic sex he had with Alison - the beautiful woman. Alison at least is smart enough the next morning to limit the damage to a one-night stand, though Ben was hoping for more.

And that would be the end except that Alison discovers she is pregnant a couple of months later. What does a beautiful, intelligent, ambitious, and successful woman do? Well, of course, she calls Ben and just about immediately starts planning to spend her life with him, because their kid deserves the chance to have the traditional pair of loving parents. Okay, I can go with that, it's still got some comic potential, and Alison (Katherine Heigl) is nice enough to look at. :-)

Ben has no problem hooking up with the beautiful and employed Alison. He's not exactly crazy about being a dad, but hey, a girl like Alison doesn't drop in on your life every day. And Alison isn't stuck up or condescending to Ben at all. She seems perfectly willing to let him continue with his lifestyle of drugs and unemployment. She laughs at all his rude, crude attempts at humor. Much to Ben's delight, she is perfectly willing to initiate plenty of sex with him, and she's not shy about telling him how much she likes it. Every schmoe's fantasy, right?

There's more to the story. There's Alison's sister, her husband, and their two kids. They have a pretty dysfunctional marriage, but in the end they love each other in their own volatile way. In one scene with the kids, a little girl tells Ben that she heard her parents call him a prick and she asks what that means. Ben, being the straightforward kind of guy he is, explains that it's a penis. The little girl laughs and repeats the word. I've seen other movies where making little kids say sexual words is intended to be funny. I'm no prude - when it's done well I enjoy crude humor as much as the next schmoe - but I really fail to see what is so funny about profane kids? Was that scene really necessary? It serves to demonstrate the level of the humor in this raunchy film - there is a lot of gratuitous profanity from all of the main characters. And it's the profanity itself that is supposed to be funny. It's not as if the profanity is embedded within the wit and sophistication. Profanity, in and of itself, is funny to some people, but ever since I was a teenager I usually need a little more than that.

There's one more aspect to the story - the various "bromances." Guys loving to hang out with other guys. The crude humor works best between the guys, maybe because I'm a guy. But I'm also a guy who loves to watch a good romantic comedy, so the parts with the girls has got to be good, too. :-)

The movie did shine in a few places, which is why I'm giving it two stars. The scene with the doorman (Craig Robinson) when Alison and her older sister go clubbing featured some absurdly funny humor. There was some great lowbrow humor in the scene where all of Ben's roomies get pink eye. There's sort of a running gag about all the gynecologists. If the entire movie was up to the level of those scenes, I'd give it four stars.

If you enjoy comedies that rely on a lot of crudeness and profanity, you'll enjoy this movie. If you're a schmoe who fantasizes about a beautiful girl getting stuck on you, you'll enjoy this movie. If you prefer romantic comedies with wit, warmth, and humor, you might not enjoy this movie.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 1, 2007
In the movie Knocked Up, Katherine Heigl plays Alison Scott, a twenty-something career gal who has just been promoted to an on-air position with E! Entertainment Television. The day she receives her promotion Alison goes out to celebrate with her older sister, Debbie, at a nightclub. It's there that she meets Ben, an unmotivated pothead who lives with four roommates and doesn't have a job "per se." Ben and his roommates are working on creating a Web site that will allow you to search for your favorite actress's nude scenes. When Ben and Allison meet, even though she's gorgeous and he's a pudgy, hairy mess, there's something about his personality and charm that wins her over. Eventually they wind up back at her place and you can guess from the title what happens next.

Knocked Up is the story of the way that Alison and Ben have to navigate an unplanned pregnancy and what it will mean for their individual futures, the future of their unborn child, and their collective relationship. It goes over every aspect of an unplanned pregnancy: do we or don't we have it?, what's going to happen to my career?, is this the right person for me? All of these questions are tackled in an honest and humorous fashion. And, even if you aren't into it for the pregnancy angle, there's so much more to the movie. Alison's sister has been married with children for a few years and feels that her relationship is stagnating. Her husband, played by Paul Rudd, is in no such rut and instead manages to be completely oblivious to his wife's concerns. Ben's roommates, also unmotivated potheads, have to figure out what to do if their planned celebrity sex scene Web site doesn't pan out the way they'd planned. As a whole, Knocked Up was just an all around interesting and multifaceted romantic comedy. And it doesn't hurt that the movie was downright hilarious.

Knocked Up is the sort of movie you can see with a friend, family member, or significant other and everyone will have something to laugh about. I can't remember the last time I was at a movie where every seat was filled and everyone laughed pretty much the whole time. It's definitely going to top the list of one of the funniest movies of the summer.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.