Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Known to Evil: A Leonid McGill Mystery
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Recess Monkey Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon March 23, 2010
In a world of overused superlatives; Walter Mosley stands out as TRUE recipient of the word 'genius' and any other accompanying synonyms. I get nervous when writing a review for one of Mosley's books because I feel like a third grader standing in front of the `Mona Lisa' and being told to critique it. So instead of trying to wrack my brain, write something profound or critique the work of a word-smith master... I'll just tell you how much I enjoyed this book (that kind of IS the purpose of a review, huh?).

Leonid is a poor man's private eye. And like any good private eye, he has people on the good (and bad side) of the law, and the good (and bad side) of society. He's like a modern day mercenary, a gun for hire, a man's-man when you're in a pinch... a professor in philosophy for the street. Leonid is caught up in another octopus-type mystery. I say "octopus-type" because there are a LOT of characters and a LOT going on within the streets of New York. Come to think of it, New York is probably the only city with enough chutzpah to handle Leonid AND Mr. Mosley. Leonid's personal life is convoluted. Leonid's professional life is convoluted. Together they create a labyrinth of shady characters, bad cops, loose women, and nocturnal friends.

The brilliance of `Known to Evil' is that it makes the classic black-n-white mystery noir seem brand new. While at the same time, continues to concretes Walter Mosley as a living literary legend. Most of us strive to leave a mark on this world by the time we die. With Leonid, Mosley is starting on his second Grand Canyon.
11 comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2010
I love Leonid McGill. It shows him as a human being with all the problems with America in general. His wife is cheating on him, he is cheating on his wife, his marriage is loveless, his children aren't genetically his except Dem, and his life is in trouble. It is a great character and overall Known to Evil is a great book. The only reason it doesn't get the Five stars is because of the ending. It was a weak ending. The Long Fall had a good ending and an excellent beginning and middle and so does this book in the latter. It has a good beginning, it is very very strong in the middle but the ending kind of lacks, well spice. Other than that one complaint, this is a very very good book.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2012
Too many periphery characters that confuse issues and plot--with an overkill of big words. The author mentions characters by one given name and confuses us by on and off calling them by different names. I have noticed that Mr. Mosley mostly runs hot and cold. I just have to catch him when he functions well as he has done with Socrates Fortlow.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 27, 2011
Known to Evil is the second book in the Leonid McGill series, about an African American PI and former crook working in NYC. In this tale, he's invited by a shadowy power broker in the mayor's office to look into what happened to a young girl. It's an invitation he should refuse, but you can't tell the broker "No", so McGill follows up and is immediately immersed in a very mysterious murder. The plot is just as complex as the first book in the series, but it holds together if you pay attention. As I said in my review of the first book, Mosely's plotting evokes the wonderful Raymond Chandler. That's not to say Mosely is derivative; it's to say he's damn good!

Being a skilled author, Mosely knows he can create a hell of a back story for McGill over the course of the series, and he proceeds to do just that with this book. In the hands of a lesser author, this could border on the pedantic. With Mosely, I never got tired of learning more about McGill. I also though the City itself came through a lot more vividly in this book.

The only problem with the series for me is the relationship with his philandering wife. It just doesn't ring true, and I don't care how much stress he can make go away with Buddhist breathing exercises. However, that's a small distraction in a great book. For anyone who hasn't read these books, but them all and read them in order. You're in for a real treat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2010
Walter Mosley made the difficult decision a few years back to stop writing about the literary creation that made him famous: Easy Rawlins, the unconventional black private eye from Los Angeles. He instead introduced a new detective series set in contemporary New York featuring a middle-aged black man named Leonid McGill. THE LONG FALL, the first installment in the series, released in 2009.

KNOWN TO EVIL, the second McGill book, confirms what longtime readers of this author have long known: Mosley is one of our best writers, not just of crime fiction but of all genres. The challenge he faced was to write a detective novel relevant to the America of the early years of the 21st century. The detectives created by Hammett and Chandler, and even late 20th-century writers like Ed McBain and Robert B. Parker, were products of the last century, as great and enjoyable as those characters were.

Mosley's McGill bares little resemblance to those earlier heroes. McGill is a likable character, but he has lived his life in a sea of corruption. He worked as a freelancer fixer for the mob, and anybody else who could pay, and freely admits to spending 20 years involved in criminal activity. "I framed these lowlifes for crimes that other crooks needed to get out from under --- all for a fee, of course," he says early on. One cop, upon meeting McGill for the first time, says, "They say you got your finger in every dishonest business in the city."

At 54, McGill has not exactly seen the light but is seeking some sort of redemption. In his midlife crises, he is wracked by guilt and relentless headaches over his past. He says, "Innocent or not, anyone can be made to look bad. And I had enough skeletons in my closet to make a death row inmate seem angelic. But I wasn't worried... just overwhelmed by the circumstances of my life." And what a life! Married for 23 years, with 20 of them marked by mutual infidelity, father to children not his own, and convinced he drove away the one woman he loved, McGill is alone, even when he is surrounded by family. While struggling to stay straight, his past is always present.

When a powerful New York political fixer needs a job done, McGill is not in a position to say no. Alfonso Rinaldo is the unofficial, unelected "special assistant to the City of New York." He is not an assistant to the mayor but to the entire city somehow --- the power behind the powers. He needs McGill to check up on a mysterious young woman, but no further details are forthcoming. McGill goes to an address and literally walks into a double homicide with the bodies still warm.

Now McGill has a real problem. Is he finally being set up himself? The cops are thrilled to see McGill stumble onto their crime scene. Various members of the NYPD have been looking for something to nail him on for years. McGill can't mention Rinaldo's name to the cops or else he will be in even deeper trouble. When it turns out that neither victim was the young woman, Rinaldo insists that McGill continue looking for her, not even telling him why he wants her found.

Before THE LONG FALL, Mosley said he wanted to write a contemporary urban noir. And he has succeeded beautifully here. McGill is not a knight-errant. He is a man just trying to survive, a small dangerous fish in a world of invisible giant sharks. Like a noir character from the classic period, his journey through the underworld of modern-day New York takes him from the secret warehouse detention centers of the National Security State to the sparkling corporate towers of midtown Manhattan. At one point, he meets a woman as powerful as Rinaldo on the top floor of a bank skyscraper accessible only by private elevator.

"`New York is like a boiling cauldron,' [McGill] said, only dimly understanding why. `We are all consumed therein.'

`That's down on the street you are talking about,' Sanderson told me with a dismissive wave of her liver-spotted hands. `Up here it's different. Up here we can make a difference.'"

Mosley writes about that difference. And, like in the Rawlins books, there is plenty of social commentary about modern America here. McGill says, "The government, even in a democracy, has the power to indict and condemn with impunity --- below a certain income bracket, that is. And even though I was working for Rinaldo, that didn't mean he would protect me. My independent status made me expendable, and if I tried to bring him down with me I'd end up one of those lamentable suicides hanging from the bars of a subterranean cell."

The corruption at the heart of this book revolves not around the murder of two people or the disappearance of a young woman, but deals with the fact that the system we have been brought up to believe in perhaps bares little reality to what actually goes on behind the scenes where the actual power lies. And maybe the real crime is that we are all guilty on some level. McGill says, "At any moment almost any American (barring movie stars, publicly acknowledged billionaires and sitting members of Congress) could be whisked away to that nameless building, en route to one of our satellite Siberias, and kept there until a botched water torture or the shrug of some judge sent them home."

But then McGill abducts off the street an assassin sent to kill the young woman and calls in a specialist he knows to torture the man in a Brooklyn warehouse until McGill obtains the information he needs to get a handle on his case. He lets the man live, but he knows he is not much better than the state officials who use "enhanced interrogation techniques."

Walter Mosley has written a vibrant detective series for the new century, reflecting the America of today. We live in uncertain times, and Mosley captures that perfectly here. McGill's old boxing trainer, now dying of cancer, says to him, "...there comes a time when you just don't win anymore." McGill responds, "But there is always a chance at a comeback." KNOWN TO EVIL is an entertaining, powerful mystery novel, one of the best of the year. And it will be enjoyable to watch Leonid McGill fighting for his comeback over the next several years.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2014
Walter Mosley writes iconic, fully developed characters in riveting stories. Leonid McGill is just one of them. I wonder only that they are not depicted in screen versions of these stories. These films are begging to be made. These characters are bursting with a life that could fill the largest of movie screens. Why don't we see "Devil in a Blue Dress" ever? Walter Mosley has lessons for everyone. Let him be read. Let him be seen. His protagonists are heroes twice over and more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2011
If your a Mosley/McGill fan you'll like this one. It's quite interesting, gives more insight into his personal life, and gives McGill a dimension that I'd like to see on screen (the big on or a television series). It's really stange to me why more of his novels haven't been made into movies or a series. They'd certainly be better than some of the stuff out there now. I'd recommend this one to old fans and new.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Walter Mosley continues to develop the protagonist Leonid McGill in his novel titled, Known to Evil. The motivation of private detective McGill is to act in ways that atone for his bad behavior, and it his redemption that becomes a life goal. In some ways McGill is both hero and everyman. Thanks to Mosley's fine writing, the dialogue seems realistic, the characters are well-developed, and the insights about human condition are profound. The personal circumstances that led McGill to this moment in his life and those of society at large contain a randomness that's sobering.

Rating: Three-star (Recommended)
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2016
Outstanding. Terrific. Whatever positive superlative you want to heap on Known to Evil, I'm down with it. Leonid McGill, a formerly bent private dick, is trying to walk the straight and narrow, and one of the most powerful people in New York City has enlisted him to look up on a girl. That alone could be a pretty good novel, but Walter Mosley just heaps mystery upon mystery (and misery upon misery) on McGill, forcing him to juggle so many storylines that even the reader can get lost in the dramatis personae from time to time.

It's a master class in suspense and detective fiction by one of the best in the business.

Highest recommendation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2011
A Walter Mosley series featuring a Private Detective with marital problems, kids in the house that are not his, and an assassin friend. Doesn't this sound familiar? Granted, the book was good. However, if this was the path that Mosley was going to take with a character he could have just continued the Easy Rawlins' novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse