Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Koan
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Instantly with Amazon Music Album
"Please retry"
Other Formats & Versions Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, September 29, 2009
"Please retry"
Available from these sellers.

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

Multi-instrumentalist Tyshawn Sorey is fast becoming a vital voice in New York City's creative music scene. Originally self-taught in composition, piano, trombone, and percussion, he has worked with many of the leading lights in the jazz/creative music scene of New York and Europe, including Misha Mengelberg, Wadada Leo Smith, Steve Coleman, Dave Douglas, Anthony Braxton, Werner Klausnitzer, among many others. He has composed works for solo piano, various chamber ensembles, and for his main working group, Oblique.


There has been music very roughly comparable to this, with one foot in ultra-minimalism and one in the free-jazz performance tradition - like the late-1980s record News From the Shed by a consort of British improvisers, including the saxophonist John Butcher - but Mr. Sorey s Koan music otherwise resists characterization, except as slow and quiet... --The New York Times

...hauntingly spare, radiating a gentle beauty where each gesture carries maximum weight... --Destination Out

...minimalism slowed down to a ruminative crawl, and it's perhaps like nothing else out there. All of it is rather extraordinary. --Gapplegate music blog

1. Awakening
2. Only One Sky
3. Correct Truth
4. Nocturnal
5. Two Guitars
6. Embed

Product Details

  • Audio CD (September 29, 2009)
  • Original Release Date: 2010
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: 482 Music
  • ASIN: B002PI4TX4
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #533,387 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Todd M. Steed on May 31, 2010
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Space. Freedom. ZEN. Jazz. Won't appeal to all, but to me, yes.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category