Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars honest opinion based on use
This washer does exactly what it says...it washes your clothes..you have to put clothes in, fill up with desired amount of water, use about 1/4 amount of usual detergent or you will pay for it later :)..set timer plug in and wash...it is a little noisy about the same noise as a regular washer and it fit right inside my tub..I have a small bathroom so the plug did reach...
Published on November 14, 2010 by therealdeal

versus
253 of 256 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Worth the Effort
Pros:

This unit, which uses an impeller rather than a central agitator, holds more clothes than you'd guess. It's difficult to gauge its size because there is no frame of reference in the photo, so I surprised it was large enough to hold a decent sized load of clothes, or, in one load, a king sized set of sheets. Also, the unit is monkey-simple to use...
Published on June 18, 2005 by K916


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

253 of 256 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Worth the Effort, June 18, 2005
This review is from: Koblenz LCK 50 Compact Portable Washing Machine (Kitchen)
Pros:

This unit, which uses an impeller rather than a central agitator, holds more clothes than you'd guess. It's difficult to gauge its size because there is no frame of reference in the photo, so I surprised it was large enough to hold a decent sized load of clothes, or, in one load, a king sized set of sheets. Also, the unit is monkey-simple to use.

Cons:

Boy, where to start. The unit is simply more trouble than it's worth. By the time you adapt your washing routine to accommodate its shortcomings, you've rendered the convenience, inconvenient. Just a few of the limitations:

1. It has a very short drain hose, less than 3 feet. Since there is no spin cycle, the unit relies on gravity to empty. This means you must lay the drain hose down to drain. The hose rests upright against the back, on a hook, during use, and you lift it off the hoke and lay it down to drain, against the ground. Consequently, forget about draining this into the bathtub or a sink, as it is neither long enough, nor will provide the necessity gravity, to drain up and over the side of a tub or sink. To get around this, I picked up the unit and literally placed it in my tub, and filled it with water and washed clothes in it while it sat IN the tub enclosure, so that I could lay the very short drain hose down in the tub's drain when I was finished. Which led to limitation no. 2.

2. It has a very short electrical cord. This cord is very short, so, because I had to set the unit in my tub enclosure to wash, it wasn't long enough to also reach the electrical outlet only 6 feet away. A grounded 3 print extension cord was required.

3. The cavity / wash tub of this unit is surprisingly large, so it holds more clothes than you think. This may seem like a pro, however, think about manually filling it with water. There are no hookups required, so you manually pour water into it. This may also seem like a pro, but it actually isn't. For me to wash a MEDIUM sized load of clothes, it took five sloshing full buckets of hot water. Now, think about the time involved in filling five buckets of water from the faucet, and carrying pouring it into the wash tub. I started with a pitcher of water and realized, geez, I'll be at this all day, and switched to buckets.

4. The cycle is 15 minutes long. This is barely enough time for an underpowered washer to get clothes clean. It's fine for lingerie and hand washables, but for anything heavy, you'll want to do two cycles, at least.

5. It says to use 2 tablespoons of detergent, but you'll need much more. Low sudsing is recommended, but I used the same amount I'd use on any other load. Remember, you've just added 5 buckets of water. 2 tablespoons of detergent did NOT get my clothes clean.

6. Once you've laid the hose down and drained the 5 buckets of now dirty water, you'll need to repeat the process and fill it up again with 5 buckets of clean water, and run a 15 minute cycle to rinse the clothes, and then gravity drain again.

7. Because there is no spin cycle, the clothes will be sopping wet, as if they sat in a 5 bucket container of water. Which they did. Hand wringing is required, with a period of drip drying before they'd be ready for a standard dryer. If you use a line, no problem, but they will be sopping. Thus, you wouldn't want to wash heavy towels or jeans in this machine.

8. The force of the wash cycle is surprisingly strong on small loads. The impeller spins the water into a gentle whirlpool effect, swirling your clothes one direction, pausing, and then the other direction. This back-and-forth motion continues for the entire 15 minute cycle. Now, when the load is pretty small, the force of the whirlpool was really pretty decent. However, on a medium and full load, the force just disappeared completely. That's a lot of water to move around, and when you get to 6 or 7 buckets for a full load, the weight of the clothes and water just slow down considerably, and they swirl around slower than the most gentle of gentle cycles. This equates to clothes which do NOT get that clean, and really, are only being swirled in kinda murky soapy water. This is great if you only want to rinse them out, but forget about washing any dirty underwear or diapers with "biological klingons" -- as they will still be there when you're done.

9. Bottom line of all this? I was exhausted with all the effort I went to, to avoid going across the complex to the laundry room. I did NOT save money, because of the considerable investment of my time, energy, and manual labor.

Really, I think the only place I'd recommend this machine, is if you want a simple, fast, easy to use method of rinsing out bathing suits and towels near a pool or campground, and, you've set the unit up outside, on a patio, next to a hose. You can use the hose to fill it up without sloshing buckets, put the bathing suits and towels in it, wash out the chlorine and dirt, and drain it right into the ground or flower bed. Hang out the beach towels and suits, or clothes next to a clothesline, and you're done. Anything "INSIDE" your apartment or house, and you'll just get frustrated.

Remember, at anywhere between $60 and $100 for this machine you're better off using that to put down on a real compact washing machine with a water hookup, legit drain hose, and spin cycle.

So, I've got one more appliance that doesn't do what I really needed. I have once again "got what I could afford" instead of "got what I need." I'm now out the money, and, still have to use the laundry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars honest opinion based on use, November 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Koblenz LCK 50 Compact Portable Washing Machine (Kitchen)
This washer does exactly what it says...it washes your clothes..you have to put clothes in, fill up with desired amount of water, use about 1/4 amount of usual detergent or you will pay for it later :)..set timer plug in and wash...it is a little noisy about the same noise as a regular washer and it fit right inside my tub..I have a small bathroom so the plug did reach the nearest socket...If you have pretty nice size bathroom you will need an extension of some sorts to reach the outlet. after the clothes are done washing you let the drain hose down in the tub and let the water drain out by gravity...for the rinse cycle you put the drain hose back up behind the washer and repeat the process of adding the water and just add your softner if you use it...You can rinse a second time if you like to make sure all the detergent and softner is out. After draining the final time clothes are just as soaked as if you hand washed them..A spin dryer is a necessity not an option trust me...I have the small one and it was a life saver..This is a good machine if you don't mind putting in some work to fill it up...it does get the clothes really clean but please do yourself a favor and use as little detergent and softner as possible..To make clothes softer and cleaner I add alittle baking soda and white vinegar and alittle softner to the wash cycle before putting the clothes in..then I add alittle more white vinegar to the rinse cycle...1/2 cup for medium load and alittle more for larger loads...you can add just a touch of fabric softner if concerned about the smell. This helps alot to minimize the crunchy feel of clothes if you choose to dry outdoors or in...I would set aside a day to do laundry especially if you have let clothes pile up...The machine holds a good amount of clothes and it has great agitation but it will also twist your clothes so you will have to free them from one another after draining the water...this is a good buy with a spin dryer be prepared to get your workout on... ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if you camp or RV this is the ticket, April 25, 2005
This review is from: Koblenz LCK 50 Compact Portable Washing Machine (Kitchen)
I love mine. Got it for a better price though. How much work is it to turn on the hose to fill it? Let the water drain etc.?
It doesn't spin but I hang my clothes in the sun so it doesn't matter. It beats the wash board I used all last summer.
This is the ticket if you camp a lot or are a full time RV'er like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Washer!, June 24, 2010
By 
Cindy Lee (New York City) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Koblenz LCK 50 Compact Portable Washing Machine (Kitchen)
This is a great washing machine. If you want an automatic washer with wash, rinse and spin cycles, then this is not the machine for you.

The washer is small but it can hold up to a medium load of laundry including linens. I place the machine in the bathtub, make sure that the drainage hose is in the up position, then I load the laundry and use several small buckets of water to fill it. After adding the detergent I close the lid and set the timer for up to 15 minutes. When the machine stops I release the drainage hose. Then I repeat the steps above for the rinse(s). The clothes come out dripping wet, so I suggest using a spin dryer, like the Centrifugal Portable Spin Dryer, to remove the water.

The machine is light-weight and virtually quiet but very powerful. It moves the laundry around vigorously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Portable Washing Machine, July 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This machine is awesome. I am very pleased with the way it washes clothes and other items. I was very surprised with the extreme washing action that takes place when the machine is operating. Washes clothes very well. Even though it does not have a rinse cycle, I figured out a way to rinse (probably other owners have too) by letting the water drain while running more water into the machine at the same time with the timer set to around 2 minutes. Amway, very happy with mine. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Next to impossible to find parts, March 23, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Koblenz LCK 50 Compact Portable Washing Machine (Kitchen)
After less than 2 months of use, the drive belt snapped and for the life of me, I cannot find someone in the company that can help, and I can't find a belt to replace it. I'm a little miffed that I can't find someone to replace it under warranty, but I'm even more pissed that I can't even purchase the part. As a washing machine, it's relatively convenient, but if it doesn't work and cannot be repaired, it does me no good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Get the HAIER HLP21N instead., December 30, 2011
This review is from: Koblenz LCK 50 Compact Portable Washing Machine (Kitchen)
I bought this unit after using both the electric and hand-crank Wonder Washer machines, as the Koblenz tub holds more laundry. Now it is sitting in my mom and dad's basement since I bought the Haier HLP21N portable washer--which has a spin cycle, unlike the Koblenz.

I used to sit the Koblenz in my bathtub, using a handheld shower head to fill the unit with water. You need to purchase a spin dryer (water extractor) in addition to the Koblenz if you plan on spinning the water from your clothes in order to let them air dry, which makes the Haier washer worth the extra bit of money.

Also, the rotating disc at the bottom of the Koblenz unit's interior broke the first week I bought the washer. The company sent me a replacement which came loose and needed to continually be tightened.

The Koblenz washer does hold a substantial amount of laundry, but the more you fill it, the more your garments get tangled. I was excited when I first received the washer because of its capacity, but I found myself continuing to use the basement laundry room in my old building (up and down five flights of stairs) because it was easier than using the Koblenz.

I imagine this washer would be good to use outdoors for camping or cleaning beach or pool towels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Washer works on my boat, August 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Koblenz LCK 50 Compact Portable Washing Machine (Kitchen)
I live on my boat. This washer fits in the shower where I fill it with the hand held shower head. The washer has a drain hose in the back which hooks in the upright position. To drain, unhook the hose and lower it onto the floor. Gravity drains out the washer tub. The first load, I put 1 Tablespoon of powdered laundry detergent, fill with water about 2 inches deep and start the agitator. A couple minutes later, stop the washer, fill the tub with dirty clothes, and fill the rest of the way with water. Then, it is so easy to set the agitator for twelve minutes and walk away. In my routine, I drain the first wash, then refill with fresh water and a cup of vinegar to help the detergent to release from the clothes. Then, I refill a third time with fresh water to finish the load. It takes me about a half hour to do a load this way, and then I spin dry the clothes using another small spin dryer appliance. This works great for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Crappy Deal, August 7, 2005
This review is from: Koblenz LCK 50 Compact Portable Washing Machine (Kitchen)
This washer machine sucks really bad. I reviewed it, and it never said anywhere that it doesn't rinse or ring out your clothes. So I have to drain out the water, wash them again, and then ring them out, which doesn't do nearly as good of a job as the spin cycle does. I suggest to everyone to not purchase this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars it is not a normal washer, April 17, 2005
By 
Kwan Wong Cheung (Newton Auburndale, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Koblenz LCK 50 Compact Portable Washing Machine (Kitchen)
It is not I expected. A washer should have washing, rinsing and spinning cycle but it does not. It just having the washing cycle. I need spend time and energy to serving it. I need fill the washer tub with water by myself and after washing cycle I need twist the clothing because it is to wet and cannot put into the dryer. I just try it and want to return it. However I need spend postage and return fee.<br />
I have a bad day !<br />
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Koblenz LCK 50 Compact Portable Washing Machine
$246.87 $172.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.