Professional restaurant supplies Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon March 8, 2012
This may be my favorite black and white 120 film. The grain when developed correctly is fabulous, and it is a very easy film to develop. Sure, you're paying $5 per roll, but for a time-tested black and white film that's nothing to complain about! Let's face it, if you want cheap, go digital!

Totally recommend this film to any photographer, novice or pro! See customer images for some of my scans from this film!
review image review image
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2011
TMY-2 (T-Max 400) has exceptional dynamic range and tonal variety. I've been using this film (in 120) with a 6X6 medium format SLR for quite some time now, and it has never let me down. One of the most amazing things about it is its dynamic range - up to 17 stops or more if exposed and developed correctly. Its highlight retention surpasses most digital cameras and it is very, very easy to push process. I love shooting this film at 800 EI and it gives virtually no loss of shadow detail. My main 400 speed film.
22 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2013
I have always used TMAX film as a middle-tier film and have never been let down. I like the consistent quality and know I can rely on Kodak film to hold its end up on making my visions a reality on printed paper. It is hard to go wrong with TMAX and that is why I guess it was always recommended by photographers who I learned from.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2013
My first time using this Kodak 120 roll film B/W product, it worked flawlessly in my medium format Mamiya M645 camera. The images were really great. I would highly recommend this film to everyone who is into film Photography!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2014
This film, despite the special nature of T-grain film, is a joy to work with. I don't claim to be a professional photographer, but I can tell that Tmax is made for professional sharpness and quality. As a hobby photographer, I prefer using film with wide tolerances, which this film provides. When I use Tmax in my Diana camera, I don't have to worry about over/under developing images; the film provides enough wiggle room for rolls with varying exposure levels. I develop with XTOL and TF-4 (both are exceptionally well suited for this film) at the moment, but I plan on experimenting with Tmax reversal developer. That's right, you can use Tmax films to create slide positives!!

I plan on using this as my exclusive go-to 120 film from now on.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2015
I love using Tmax for situations where it's appropriate. You'll want to do your own experimentation and research to see if it's right for you, but I believe it delivers what Kodak says it should. At least, for me it does. I like to use it when I'm doing work in low light with my Mamiya RZ67. I also use the 135 size in my Nikon F6 with stunning results, too. Great for fine art work, especially still life work, sets, copy work, anything where shadows are emphasized. I've used it in all sorts of shooting situations in both formats and find it gives consistent results, isn't difficult to use if you've ever used something similar to Tmax like Ilford Delta. Even if you've used Tri-X before, Tmax shouldn't be a challenge to get right. Easy to develop too! I've developed it in D-76, Xtol, Ilfosol, Ilfotec DDX, and Tmax developers. The results from Xtol and Ilfotec DDX are my favorite and I find myself pairing them often. I use the standard stock/dilution amounts as noted at Digital Truth's devchart. Of course, Ilfosol isn't rated for this film speed really, but you may like the results. The emulsion is great, the plastic is thick and stays flat, and the printed images are absolutely wonderful. I've even scanned this film and had amazing results with my low cost Epson V600 flatbed. Retouching is possible even at the 120 size, but I've noticed with this modern film, it can be challenging more than Tri-X can be to spot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2014
The current TMY is one of the greatest b/w films ever made; in 120, especially with larger frame sizes like 6x9, it captures a staggering amount of detail with almost a completely linear response for 10+ stops of range. It is great for printing and is also great for scanning with relatively little grain aliasing at 4000dpi. If you liked PXP or VP, this is similar. The new(ish) thicker base is also easy to spool onto developing reels.

If you are wondering if this is better than Ilford Delta 400 (essentially their copy of it), I've had a lot better and more consistent results from the Kodak product. This is not surprising to me - Kodak sunk serious money in TMY twice (once when it created it in the 1980s and again when it spent hundreds of millions on a new production line in the early 2000s to make the improved version). Ilford has never had the scientific muscle or raw engineering abilities that Kodak had - and Ilford has been running on rickety machinery for decades (to say nothing of the fact that it has been out of business several times - Kodak is not alone there). And often, I wonder if the only reason Ilford gets any traction (other than price) is Kodak-spite driven by the fact that someone's favorite film (Triple-X Porn or whatever) got axed because it cost $500K to make a master roll and only three people were buying it. The attitudes toward Kodak are like cutting off one's nose to spite one's face. From a technical standpoint, TMY is the best and most consistent 400-speed tablet grain product. But hey, why let that get in the way of bitterness? I mean, I recovered from the axing of Tech Pan, Verichrome Pan, Plus-X, every 220 film, and Supra - and at the end of the day, Alaris Kodak still has a similar a b/w film selection to any volume manufacturer.

And all of that said, some people will say equal and opposite things in favor of Delta 400 based on their own particular needs, workflow, experience, etc. But to me, it's kind of like walking into a restaurant and asking for a Pepsi. :-) It's not a huge difference in product performance/quality at the end of the day, but when 120 film is running toward 80 cents a shot for 6x9, you start to look for incremental increases in quality. Or at least peace of mind. TMY gives it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2016
I was happy with this film. I've not found anything I like better in 400 speed film. I was surprised with the fine grain. While I usually shoot 120 film in Mamiya and Yashica TRL cameras with a tripod, I purchased the 400 Tmax for a couple of small 120 folding cameras I have that I intended to shoot hand held looking for a faster shutter speed. The sample pic was shot with a Zenobia 120 folding camera.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2015
Excellent grain structure. Shows very little compared to Tri-x/HP5+. This film has a "hard" look to it. Great for landscapes in mixed lighting or street photography. A lot people talk about how well Tri-X pushes and I've found Tmax 400 pushes even better. I've gotten exceptional results at EI1600. I develop it in Xtol and get great results but I've also used D76 and gotten great results. Xtol seems give a tad bit sharper negative and more shadow detail.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2015
Fine-grained, sharp, with great tonality. Easy to develop at home (I use Xtol). Scans nicely. Pairs really with with vintage medium format cameras to produce great prints. My favorite black-and-white medium format film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 11 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.