Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Price:$112.07+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 20, 2010
First, I have been using scanners and photography equipment for many years and like to think that I have realistic expectations when it comes new products coming on to the market. After receiving this unit, I promptly followed all of the directions for setting the unit up and scanning my first batch of photos. After numerous trial scans and several calibrations, I have come to the conclusion that this unit will not meet any of my needs. Some of the problems that I have noted include:

1. Odd color shifts appearing in the resulting scans.
2. Very noticeable noise in resulting scans at both 300 dpi and 600 dpi.
3. It is very difficult to obtain a properly cropped photo. The auto-cropping function is particularly annoying and there are no user settings to adjust how it acts. The whole point of having a scanner like this one is minimize the post production work necessary.
4. The instructions provided leave a lot to be desired.

Some redeeming qualities include the speed at which the unit scans, which is fairly fast. The size and weight also is very appealing. Most of the descriptions of this product fail to mention that it will also work on battery power which is a great selling point if only the quality of the output was acceptable.

In conclusion, while no scanner in this class and size is going to produce the kind of scans available from a flatbed scanner, this scanner leaves of lot to be desired with the scan quality. I expected better from Kodak. I will be returning the unit and spending my money on a different option.
33 comments| 158 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2011
I love the Kodak P461 for scanning our old mounted slides! It is easy and doesn't take too long to scan. We had lots of trays of slides but it was such a pain to set up the projector and screen every time you wanted to see your pictures of the past. Now I can just put them through the scanner and they download effortlessly to my PC and I can make DVD's if I choose. It can also scan up to a 4X6 picture too! They come out just as clear as the actual picture or slide too. Love it and I am having a ball looking at our childhood pictures! The scanner is also very small and easy to store which is another good feature!I would definately recommend purchasing one.
22 comments| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2011
This scans photos okay, although after about 300 photos there are significant streaks even though I cleaned the scanner like it said. The negative scanner works well and converts the image to a positive, color photo quite well. The slide scanner is the worst of the three, the images came out very grainy if the slides were even a little on the dark side. Kodak does not make this product, they have licensed their name to another company which makes it. I contacted customer support about the streaking issue, and even though they said they would get back with me, they have not in three weeks. This product does what it says it will, but just not very well.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2012
I decided to embark on a journey by digitalizing my family's photos. As it turns out, my grandmother horded tons of pictures (10 unorganized file boxes worth). I was using my 3 in 1 printer/scanner which worked fine except for the time it took. I came home from work to find it waiting for me on my doorstep. All you have to do is plug it in and put the sd card that comes with it in and scan. The picture quality is just as good as I was getting (all at 600dpi), so I'm pleased with that. Also, in the time that I can scan one picture with my 3-1, save it to my comp, etc, I've done about 10 with this! Maybe I have a really slow scanner, I don't know, but considering how many pictures I still have left to scan, this already seems worth it!
44 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2012
Wasn't sure what i was getting when i ordered this scanner. Gotta say, it's made scanning incredibly convenient.

I had about 15 books full of photos that i was digitizing for my mother. I quite literally sat on the couch using this scanner on batteries for three nights watching TV while scanning all of them. It was a breeze and definitely the better alternative to using a flatbed scanner.

Fast, easy, and good quality scans. Definitely worth it.
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2010
This is the best portable scanner in the market so far. I have been looking for quite a long time and finally found this one. The picture quality is great.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2013
I had lots of old prints (over 2000) I wanted to digitize and share with my kids. I also had some slide to digitize as well. The 4x6 and smaller photos worked great. The larger photos I scanned on my flatbed multifunction Brother scanner. The Kodak does a very nice job on prints. The slides that were light turned out fine, but dark slides came out snowy and very poor quality.

I would sort a stack of pictures into years then scan directly to an 8GB memory card without being connected to a computer. I would first scan an index card with the year on it then a stack of photos, another card with the year and so on. Later I would plug in the USB cable and transfer the photos to my computer and sort and rotate the pictures as needed. Still a slow tedious job, but much better than a flatbed scanner for small prints. I am very happy with it... Many of my old prints now make up my screen saver!
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2011
Absolutely fast and easy, a no brainer. It automatically converts black and white or color slides to a photogragh. Copies photos very well. Excellent value!!!!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2012
Don't blame whoever made this thing for KODAK's bankruptcy. It's AWESOME!!!

You can have it going in five-minutes or less right out of the box. Plug it into the wall. Put the SD card in. Press the "on" button. Put your 4X6 pics in the slot and watch them slide right through the little box. Wait about three-seconds between scanning pictures. This deal doesn't even make any noise!

You've got all your pics on an SD card forever. Simple.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2014
This quite possibly the coolest little piece of electronics Ive ever bought. I have hundreds of photos in boxes that I was trying to decide -do I keep them? do I throw them away? They are taking up way too much room...then I find this little gem. Its plug and play, takes approximately 30 seconds to scan a 4x6 photo. (that is the largest photo you can scan) After a little trial and error I have it down pat. It names each file "EK_xxxx" So do not start and stop scanning and think once you dump the photos off the SD You will have cleared the drive. The numbering starts all over at "EK_xxxx" and the thumbnails will show the originally scanned file. This may sound confusing...here's a real example. First photo I scanned was of my baby and named EK-0001. I scanned about 75 photos and was afraid the SD would get full. ( not on a bet...it will hold thousands of files) So I pulled the SD dumped the files on my desk top computer, deleted the files on the SD. Started scanning again and the naming convention started all over again at EK_0001. I scanned a new photo of my other child but the thumbnail showed the original scan of my baby. so I dumped the files onto my computer again and got error messages that there is already a file named EK_0001 do y want to replace it? So needless to say, you can't change the file naming conventions. So once you get started, keep scanning and dump the files later.
The quality is very high res. you can choose either 300 or 600 dpi for photos and higher for slides or negs. I doesn't handle old Polaroids well at all -they are too thick. Other than that this scanner is great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 12 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.