Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A portraiture photographer's dream!
This is hands down one of the best portrait films around. The new ISO160 edition is ideal, leaving little to no visible grain for enlargements! Now for those who started digital and are working their way backwards, you probably won't enjoy the muted colors and contrast...I find the popular trend right now is to over-process in terms of saturation and contrast. That said,...
Published on March 22, 2012 by Ciaran

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The film is fine, the expiration date is another thing
The film appears to be fine (read professional articles on how the film nuisances) but be warned that the expiration date that I got was very close (a few months) so don't buy in bulk expecting to use it for many years to come. (This is more an amazon problem.
Published 11 months ago by Jay


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A portraiture photographer's dream!, March 22, 2012
This review is from: Kodak 120 Professional Portra Color Film (ISO 160) 1808674 (Electronics)
This is hands down one of the best portrait films around. The new ISO160 edition is ideal, leaving little to no visible grain for enlargements! Now for those who started digital and are working their way backwards, you probably won't enjoy the muted colors and contrast...I find the popular trend right now is to over-process in terms of saturation and contrast. That said, I challenge you to take a look at a dozen high-fashion shoots and tell me whether the majority of them are over-saturated or muted...exactly.

PROS
- True-to-life skin tones
- Comparatively slightly desaturated, perfect for portraits
- Extremely fine grain structure
- Trusted by most pro film shooters
- Scans VERY well

CONS
- NONE.

OVERALL
Most experts agree, there is little to match this film for portraiture. Many medium format editorial/fashion shooters that have not gone digital still trust this as the only film to give that high fashion look! As a wedding photographer, the skin tones this film produces alone make this worth the minimal price premium. Throw it in a 645, and enjoy portraiture GOLD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic film, May 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kodak 120 Professional Portra Color Film (ISO 160) 1808674 (Electronics)
I'm just getting into medium format photography, and this is amazing. I'm enjoying this film so much I'm considering selling my digital camera. Some day, perhaps, film will no longer be made, but until then, I'll be shooting this and Tri-X . The colors are wonderful and accurate, the grain is superfine, and it scans well.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this film, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kodak 120 Professional Portra Color Film (ISO 160) 1808674 (Electronics)
I have used this film and am able to obtain such magnificent tones & colors. Film is beautiful and really spot on when your camera settings are set properly. I suggest playing with your settings and experimenting with the right look for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The film is fine, the expiration date is another thing, October 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kodak 120 Professional Portra Color Film (ISO 160) 1808674 (Electronics)
The film appears to be fine (read professional articles on how the film nuisances) but be warned that the expiration date that I got was very close (a few months) so don't buy in bulk expecting to use it for many years to come. (This is more an amazon problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good ol' Kodak!, October 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kodak 120 Professional Portra Color Film (ISO 160) 1808674 (Electronics)
Another excellent product from Kodak!
For some applications, however, the extra speed of the 400 is needed.
Kodak is a major plus for the United States.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best currently made, October 5, 2012
This review is from: Kodak 120 Professional Portra Color Film (ISO 160) 1808674 (Electronics)
Kodak discontinued the VC film. THis is what you are left with. If you shoot film photography with a 120 camera this is the best you can get. 160 is a truly fantastic speed for landscape and portrait. FOr skateboarding or warfare you want 400 asa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adore this stuff, February 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kodak 120 Professional Portra Color Film (ISO 160) 1808674 (Electronics)
I absolutely adore the look this film gives. I mostly take "people" shots, and this stuff handles colors beautifully.

I also shoot a lot of digital, but when I want that "look", I reach for my medium format camera and shoot Portra. It really IS better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Skin tones, great color, Made in the USA., August 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kodak 120 Professional Portra Color Film (ISO 160) 1808674 (Electronics)
Portra 160 is my favorite of the Kodak Portra Line, Skin looks absolutely Beautiful with this film. Looks good shot at box speed, but I really like the way it looks overexposed 1 stop, and it can easily handle more exposure than that. Meter correctly (don't underexpose) send it to a good lab and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Portra is spiffy, April 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kodak 120 Professional Portra Color Film (ISO 160) 1808674 (Electronics)
Dig it! I did C-41 kit processing at home with great results. Accurate color, speed and nice fair price for this grade of film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favorite Portrait Film..., March 12, 2014
By 
Colby Blair (Atlantic Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kodak 120 Professional Portra Color Film (ISO 160) 1808674 (Electronics)
What can i say - using the old Halina or the Yashica TLR I have yet to find a better portrait film - skin tones are beautiful and colors are warm and true - I really love this film and wait in anticipation every time I send a roll off for developing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.