Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not my favorite film, but decent.
I have spent quite a bit of time with various black and white films, and so I will try to not be too judgmental about the Tri-X Pan. Let's start with the pros:

PROS
- Nice grain
- Decent sharpness and contrast
- VERY reliable in the darkroom
- Great for beginners
- Cheaper than others

CONS
- Image quality is lacking...
Published on March 21, 2012 by Ciaran

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Maybe Bad?
I'm not sure if it was the film or the developer, but none of the photos I took with this came out. I was really excited to see how the professional B&W would look, too.
Published 16 months ago by The Ever Guest


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not my favorite film, but decent., March 21, 2012
This review is from: Kodak Tri-X 400TX Professional Black & White Film ISO 400, 35mm, 24 Exposures (Electronics)
I have spent quite a bit of time with various black and white films, and so I will try to not be too judgmental about the Tri-X Pan. Let's start with the pros:

PROS
- Nice grain
- Decent sharpness and contrast
- VERY reliable in the darkroom
- Great for beginners
- Cheaper than others

CONS
- Image quality is lacking compared to Kodak and Ilford films at $5

Listen, if you can get this cheaply, or find it somewhere (garage sales), it's definitely a decent film that is a huge step up from what they used to sell in touristy areas (remember when instead of memory cards they had batteries and film?) That said, if you are serious about black and white photography, there are other films that vastly outpace this one in terms of quality, contrast and detail, and they are only about a dollar or so more expensive. It does have a nice grain to it, and one huge thing going for it is that it is VERY reliable in the darkroom.

Beginner darkroom-ers, this one is for you. Enthusiasts...I would suggest Ilford HP5 Plus, Black and White Print Film, 135 (35 mm), ISO 400, 24 Exposures (1700646) or Kodak 400 TMAX Professional ISO 400, 35mm, 36 Exposures, Black and White Film instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, April 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kodak Tri-X 400TX Professional Black & White Film ISO 400, 35mm, 24 Exposures (Electronics)
Perfect Kodak Tri-X 400TX Professional Black & White Film ISO 400, 35mm and nice deal
i will comback for buying more soon.
Thank you
Cheer cheer cheer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, November 20, 2013
This review is from: Kodak Tri-X 400TX Professional Black & White Film ISO 400, 35mm, 24 Exposures (Electronics)
Works great especially for beginners using a black and white camera. I'm taking a I'm class and it's the recommended black and white film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Maybe Bad?, August 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kodak Tri-X 400TX Professional Black & White Film ISO 400, 35mm, 24 Exposures (Electronics)
I'm not sure if it was the film or the developer, but none of the photos I took with this came out. I was really excited to see how the professional B&W would look, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, July 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kodak Tri-X 400TX Professional Black & White Film ISO 400, 35mm, 24 Exposures (Electronics)
This is great, very forgiving, b&w film. The 400 speed makes it very versatile. I like how the grain is there, but not so much that it overpowers the picture. You can push this film to 1600 or even 3200 with great results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quality fast B&W film, September 23, 2014
By 
Leo Babic (Honolulu, Hi USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kodak Tri-X 400TX Professional Black & White Film ISO 400, 35mm, 24 Exposures (Electronics)
Nice black and white film for action, lower light or quick moving subjects like a toddler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films ever made, December 21, 2010
This review is from: Kodak Tri-X 400TX Professional Black & White Film ISO 400, 35mm, 24 Exposures (Electronics)
Since Film has basically been abandoned, and for a bunch of reasons...This is a great film. Get it while you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.