Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film STILL delivers.
I remain convinced that black and white film photography bests digital manipulation to this day. It may only be my subjective opinion, but I am not an old photographer - in fact I only started taking pictures about 6 years ago, when the digital craze had already taken over the world.

All that said, Kodak Tri-X remains one of my favorite non-professional films...
Published on March 8, 2012 by Ciaran

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
order it dec 16 got it jan 7
Published 14 days ago by Terry Hanson


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film STILL delivers., March 8, 2012
This review is from: Kodak Tri-x400 135-36 35mm Black and White Film - 10 Pack (Electronics)
I remain convinced that black and white film photography bests digital manipulation to this day. It may only be my subjective opinion, but I am not an old photographer - in fact I only started taking pictures about 6 years ago, when the digital craze had already taken over the world.

All that said, Kodak Tri-X remains one of my favorite non-professional films. The grain is very fine, but shows up beautifully in larger prints. Contrast is wonderful on the negatives and transfers well.

At less than $5 a roll, and with 36 exposures, this is a very economical way of shooting film!

Grab a roll, your favorite camera, and head off for a day of REAL shooting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best B&W film for certain effects, January 15, 2014
This review is from: Kodak Tri-x400 135-36 35mm Black and White Film - 10 Pack (Electronics)
Tri-X is a tried-and-true black & white film that is easy to process in various ways to get some interesting effects. As a film for standard black & white, it actually is not as good as my go-to film (Ilford Pan-F or Ilford Plus-X.) If you want wide ranges of tones and that silky-smooth, no-grain look for portraits and art shots, this isn't your film. But for fast exposures, push processing and extra-big grain gotten on right on the negative and not in post-photography digital software processing, there's nothing better.

Processing:

1. Standard--the basic D76 Kodak developer and Tri-X using the ISO 400 exposure. You'll see grain and it will be somewhat contrasty, but quite acceptable. If you don't like the grain and range of tones, you can drop down to Plus-X ISO 125.

2. Push processing: this lets you expose Tri-X at a higher ISO and thus use it in low-light situations. You will see much more grain and more contrast. The rule for push processing is to increase your development time by 20% per stop increase. This boils down to 400 ISO, 10 min, 800 ISO, 12 minutes, and for 1600, 14 1/2 minutes. 1600 ISO will be very grainy, but it's an attractive effect when you want it.

If you don't want appreciably more grain but want to process at 1600 ISO, you can use Acufine developer.

3. Underexpose and overdevelop: for high contrast, you can play with this to drop out mid range grays.

This film gives you that photojournalist look and is easy to use in a number of different light situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NICE TO SEE THAT SOME THINGS NEVER CHANGE!, October 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kodak Tri-x400 135-36 35mm Black and White Film - 10 Pack (Electronics)
It's nice to see that some things never change...like the good old camera film we used to use back in the day, when color anything was pricey. Since that long-ago decade, I had though that perhaps 35mm camera film, made (if not obsolete) less desirable with the advent of digital photography, would have dropped significantly in price. I see, however, that this is not the case...and that standard film is still costly. Perhaps the fact that there is a reduced demand works to cause higher manufacturing costs? Regardless, there is no doubting that Kodak makes a high quality product. This product was purchased for a photography course my college-aged child is taking, and I can't wait to see the black and white photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Job well done, September 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kodak Tri-x400 135-36 35mm Black and White Film - 10 Pack (Electronics)
The film came very fast and I noted that it had just been made so it has a long shelf life. This was a worry I did have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice, simple black and white film, February 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kodak Tri-x400 135-36 35mm Black and White Film - 10 Pack (Electronics)
The price is good, and the film is nice. I've been putting it through a Pentax k1000 and have been really happy with the results. Nice contrast and grain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what it sounds like., May 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kodak Tri-x400 135-36 35mm Black and White Film - 10 Pack (Electronics)
Really good price for this stuff, much cheaper than any photo stores. Had no issues; and I've developed these both professionally and in my own darkroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great film, ok price, June 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kodak Tri-x400 135-36 35mm Black and White Film - 10 Pack (Electronics)
This as close as one can get, I think, to the classic B&W high speed look (well 400 ISO, high speed in 1955). I don't know how close it is the the original Tri-X, and one would have to shoot with vintage lenses (in mint condition) to tell - and develop with vintage chemistry and wet print and so on, so one could never know for sure. But way more than close enough.

It works especially well with the Zeiss ZM lenses.

I bought the ten pack to get the really low price and because this is my choice for 400 ISO. Some of the big camera sites have individual rolls at the same unit price, which obviates the benefits even of Amazon prime shipping. Amazons provisioning of film is strangely spotty, with Ilford having the worst coverage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Is a Kodak, March 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kodak Tri-x400 135-36 35mm Black and White Film - 10 Pack (Electronics)
Great Product as always from Kodak. Film has a good shelf life, Is a must buy film any day highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best film, February 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kodak Tri-x400 135-36 35mm Black and White Film - 10 Pack (Electronics)
My son is studying photography in college -- this was for him -- he was absolutely thrilled with it and that's good enough for me.

Tri-X -- legend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great b/w film, February 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kodak Tri-x400 135-36 35mm Black and White Film - 10 Pack (Electronics)
I am a photo student and since receiving film I've had an enormous amount of fun learning the ins and out of bw photography and the cool things you can do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.