Kodak z990 vs. Nikon coolpix L120 -- Recommendations? Comments? Cameras seem to be about the same price and have similar features.
The Kodak has a longer telephoto lens, but otherwise them seem similar.
I'm an amateur.
Any thoughts? Comments?
Thanks.
Mike
asked by M. Henderson on October 12, 2011
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-10 of 20 answers
A
They both do have similar features (I've listed several below). The Kodak can take a longer exposure, the Nikon can take a faster picture. The Kodak's zoom is far longer. The Nikon has a lower ISO equivilant setting. The Kodak also comes with rechargable batteries and a budget charger. It all depends on what you're looking for. On paper, other than the zoom difference, they're fairly similar.

Nikon - 25-525mm
Kodak - 28-840mm

Nikon - 720p HD Video
Kodak - 1080p HD Video

Nikon - CCD Sensor
Kodak - CMOS BSI (back side illumination) Sensor

Nikon - 14 MP
Kodak - 12 MP

Nikon - f/3.1-5.8
Kodak f/2.8-5.6

Nikon - 4 - 1/4000 sec.
Kodak - 16 - 1/2000 sec.
Keith Blodgett answered on October 13, 2011
Comment | 1 of 1 found this helpful. Do you?  Yes No | Report abuse

A
I'm considering the same two options so thanks for posting. I bought a similar Canon model and am very disappointed. The Kodak was recommended by a friend who said it takes great low light pics and the zoom was tough to beat for the price. Yet, after reading the Nikon reviews, I wonder if I would be happier with quicker response time. Will continue to monitor the responses you get and hope a clear cut winner reveals itself! Again, thanks.
Cammie answered on October 13, 2011
Comment | Do you find this helpful?  Yes No | Report abuse

A
Scooter says:
"Both have program mode - but I want the full flexibility of A (aperture priority) and S (shutter speed priority)"

And the Kodak has PASM modes. Program, Aperture, Shutter, Manual.
Keith Blodgett answered on October 30, 2011

A
Mike (and Keith),