Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc The Jayhawks Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer seeso seeso seeso  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 7, 2013
Used with Android, can data at ~10-14Hz on a regular basis which is a good scan resolution for most things. I have had this for over a year and it has survived in the glovebox at least one winter and a whole bunch of bouncing around (cheap electronics don't like vibration and thermal cycling).

Effective, durable, cost effective. A+
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2011
used with android app "Torque". adapter works flawlessly with 19 different vehicles. was told by torque programmer that cheap adapters will not work well with app, this works perfectly save for slightly slow transmission of data. (thats expected over BT)
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2012
This review is based on only 2 days use and in those 2 days I've been trying to learn how the Torque app works, so it's a beginner's review.

Connection: I plugged it into the ODB2 port of my 2003 Mitsubishi Spyder, used the Bluetooth settings on my Android 2.3.5 phone (Samsung SGH-T679)to pair with this (code 1234 worked) and it paired right away. I opened the Torque app and all systems seemed to be working. Some gauges (such as ambient air temp) were unavailable, but I suspect that is because they are not available from the Mitsubishi OBD2.

Pros: cheap and works

Cons: It has some red and yellow blinking LEDs that operate while the engine is on AND OFF. I hope I remember to take this sucker off before parking for several days. It could drain the battery.

Edit after a month: I bought an old HTC Eris to install as a full-time car-computer. However, it is refusing to connect to the ODB2 Koolertron. Like other commenters, I get "paired but not connected" for the Eris. I haven't tried the Samsung to see if it still works.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2012
I already have a similar one of these devices - Soliport ELM 327 Bluetooth OBDII OBD2 Diagnostic Scanner - which works flawlessly with every android device that I've paired with it. The one that I'm reviewing (Koolertron), however, came with no instructions, no CD, no pairing PIN number. So it was basically useless.

I tried all of the common PIN numbers - 0000, 1111, 1234, 9999, etc. I tried pairing to 3 different devices (Google Nexus phone running Android 4.1, Samsung Galaxy S phone running Android 2.2, Toshiba Thrive 10.1 tablet running Android 4.0). All failed to pair, simply stating that the PIN was incorrect.

Item returned, and I purchased another Soliport ELM 237 Bluetooth OBDII Device...which, again, worked flawlessly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2012
EDIT!!!!! I bought the mini ELM327( the blue one) after this, and it started doing the same thing. I then tried this one, and it worked once more. Have read up on it, and it is a problem with the bluetooth drivers on ICS Android 4. I have the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0. Supposedly Samsung's next firmware will fix it. In the mean time, the fix is to reboot your Android device, and maybe even unpair/pair the device. So I am two for two on getting a working ELM327.

I tried this with my laptop first because I was impatient. It worked. The software on the disk is demo versions and seemingly hacked versions( includes keygens). Hope I didn't get a virus or hacker from China. I then bought an Android tablet, and using the Torque app, it worked for the first day. Left it in the car. Now it rarely works. Most of the time it keeps prompting me to pair it over and over.

So I'm not sure whether to take my chances and buy another one, or just go the expensive route. The problem is, the "good" ones are north of $100. So I could buy 5 or more of these before I'd come close. Surely I can get a good one out of 5,......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2012
Got this to use with my android phone running the Torque application. Connects and gives me information for:

2002 Chevy Malibu
2004 Ford Explorer
2005 Ford Mustang
2007 Ford Expedition
2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Lets me view and clear fault codes which is great. Very pleased with this unit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2012
OBDII devices can cost a bundle. If you want to read fault codes, this will give you all for not so much; some external decoding will be required.

If you want supported sensor data, this will give what you ask but some data interpretation may be required.

There are some limitations, such as multiple data packages from multiple responders, but that is generally not an issue.

This will give you nearly all of the SAE J1979 data that the vehicle supports.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2012
Followed instructions as posted on one of the amazon reviews and paired it with my original Motorola Droid.
Here are the instructions, slightly updated for the free version of Torque I downloaded tonight (May 17, 2012):

1) Plug the ELM 327 device in the OBDII port under the car's dashboard
2) Turn the car ignition "on", but don't start the car
3) Go to your smartphone Wireless & Networks settings and turn Bluetooth ON.
4) Go to the the phone's Bluetooth Settings and "Scan for Devices" and look for "CBT" to be found, which is the ELM 327.
5) Pair with the this device (The code is 1234).
6) Then start the "Torque" app.
7) Go to the "Settings" in Torque, in the OBD2/ELM Adapter preference section, choose "Connection".
8) Pick Connection Type = Bluetooth.
9) Go to Choose Bluetooth Device and pick "CBT."
10) Suggest also select "Auto Bluetooth On/Off" and "Only if BT was already off."
11) Then go back to the "Torque" main screen and things should be working!

Read the codes on a 1996 BMW X5 and a 2000 Cadillac Catera with no problems.
Used the clear function after reading the diagnosis and all was fine.

So much more cost effective and efficient than on "old" CAN OBD2 reader I purchased on ebay.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2012
Product worked as advertised for my 2010 Subaru STi. Hooked right up to Torque Android app on my Galaxy Nexus without any issues. Able to read ECU parameters right to my phone now. Haven't tried with any other cars however, or connecting to my bluetooth enabled laptop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2012
This Bluetooth OBD II reader worked perfectly with Torque on my Android phone. One of the reasons I bought it, though, was to work with my son's new-to-us 1998 Ford Taurus. I figured it would be handy having something like this for use with an older used car. Well, I knew from my research that it had the possibility of not working, and indeed it didn't work. It worked fine with my wife's 2010 Ford Fusion and my 2003 Jeep Wrangler, though. I ended up also buying the BAFX reader and it did what we needed, so I ended up giving this one to a friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.