Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 106 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Partisan and Selective Account
One of the first books I read about Korea, Korea's Place in the Sun: A Modern History, illustrates the importance of interpreting history cautiously. Korean history, because of the division of the peninsula between two warring countries, is highly politicized. Cumings has been generally classified as a New Left historian and as sympathetic to the North Korean regime. The...
Published on December 29, 2000

versus
41 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting view on Korea, but questionable historical facts
It was very interesting to see rather different view on Korea. Maybe it's about time somebody getting away from the conventional view on modern Korean history as just "tragic". He discusses many aspects of modern Korean history, especially the outside influences from US, Japan and China. I agree on most of his points on modern history, however his knowledge...
Published on November 20, 2000 by Jinho C.


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 106 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Partisan and Selective Account, December 29, 2000
One of the first books I read about Korea, Korea's Place in the Sun: A Modern History, illustrates the importance of interpreting history cautiously. Korean history, because of the division of the peninsula between two warring countries, is highly politicized. Cumings has been generally classified as a New Left historian and as sympathetic to the North Korean regime. The second charge is just mud-slinging, but the first generalization is still an active question in South Korean politics and academia.
First, since the book's publication in 1997, the Koreas have undergone many changes, both domestically and in their relations. South Korea's media and academic industries have also matured, and expression is more lively and open. There are more generalist and expert histories available on the market, so the importance of Cumings' work is easier to evaluate.
Cumings is generally a proponent of unification. This taints his history in several ways. First, Choson is depicted as a golden age of unified Korean power. Cumings also supports the Conservative Korean line, that foreigners wrecked Choson and downplays evidence of aristocratic factionalism and the weakness of the Korean central government. His discussion of the Japanese Occupation downplays the role of Korean businessmen in the Occupation economy and government. His account of the Korean War is heavy on politics and military leadership discussions, but spare on soldier's recollections. Cumings' sections on North Korean industrialization are competent, but since 1997 the subject has been better researched. Cumings still cannot compensate for the dearth of economic data, which plagues accounts to the present.
Cumings also burdens his account of Korean history with questionable social psychological opinions about the nature of Korean culture. He reinforces the conservative Korean view of the unique mission and origin of the Korean people as offspring of divine forces, a tactic the Koreans share with the Japanese. His account is subtly anti-global and anti-foreign. For this reason, his account is by Korean standards mainstream unificationist, but his open-minded treatment of North Korea notwithstanding, he is aligned with the forces of anti-globalization.
Not that the book does not contain valuable information about Korean history presented with colorful prose. However, what Cumings omits is damning. Most of ancient Korean history is omitted, which accentuates Choson at the expense of earlier dynasties. Discussions of religion are downplayed for politics and sociology. Cumings does not hide his bias, but readers need to examine his opinions well and use his footnotes for independent evaluation. And, by all means, read other newer books about Korea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reads Like Literature, August 10, 2001
By 
Andrew (MERRICK, NY, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved this book and have read it twice from cover to cover in addition to refering to certain capters regularly. There is no other book that captures the colorful, tragic and compelling story of Korea's modern history half as well as Cuming's opus.
The book is a skillful blend of theory (he quotes Focault in the epigram), hard history and ideology. I especially enjoyed the juicy bits of gossip that more "serious" Korean histories always leave out. He writes about Kim Gu's womenizing, Sygman Rhee's paranoia and the CIA's dirty secrets.
The book has flaws that are glaring and annoying. Cumings details every attrocity that the dictators in South Korea committed, but writes only of the dubious "achievements" of North Korea, never mentioning things like how many of his own citizens Kim Il-son, North Korea's late "Dear Leader" sent to concentration camps. The harrowing accounts of North Korean defectors of life in the worker's paradise are a glaring and nearly unforgiveable.
I would be tempted to say that Cumings had two goals in mind in writing this book: getting in good with Pyoungyang (thus being assured his travel visas always get approved) and annoying the hell out of Seoul (thereby regaining the cult hero status he got in the 80s with his book on the origins of the Korean War with a new generation of South Korean college kids).
But, ultimately, I can't stay mad at Cumings. His story of Korea's painful 20th century is told with the verve and deftness of great literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A passionate, opinionated history, March 29, 2003
A South Korean college student recently told me that he learned more about his own culture from the works of Bruce Cumings than from any number of Korean scholars. I believe it. Cumings knows and loves Korea, his passion and insight coloring every page of this book. Cumings can name all the significant players in modern Korea and how they fit into the nation's long, proud and tragic history. He rightly is anguished and disappointed by America's role in dividing the Korean peninsula and in keeping it divided (even if I think he exaggerates America's sins and significantly under-emphasizes North Korea's). This is a deeply personal book, too: Cumings includes observations from his own experiences in Korea and from his own family (his wife is Korean). In the hands of a less skilled writer and thinker, these personal insights might be a distraction; in this case, they enrich the book immeasurably. The virtues of Korea's Place in the Sun easily outweigh the vices, which (for this reader anyway) include Cumings' unrelentingly leftist politics. In short, Korea's Place in the Sun is an informed, passionate, opinionated and well-written introduction to a country (two countries, sadly) we should all know a lot more about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting view on Korea, but questionable historical facts, November 20, 2000
By 
Jinho C. (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
It was very interesting to see rather different view on Korea. Maybe it's about time somebody getting away from the conventional view on modern Korean history as just "tragic". He discusses many aspects of modern Korean history, especially the outside influences from US, Japan and China. I agree on most of his points on modern history, however his knowledge on ancient Korean history is very questionable. Relationships among three East Asian nations: China, Korea and Japan were not as simple as the author suggests. For instance, Bruce Cumings over amplifies the effect of Japanese cultural influence on Korea while the truth is that till mid-19th century it was minimal if not zero. Until mid-19th century, Korea has been influenced by Japan militarily, but not culturally. Even after Imjinwaeran(the Japanese invasion of Korea in 1592), unlike the usual situation where victims become the recipients of the aggressor's culture, it was reverse in this case. Japan became the recipient as she intentionally captured Korean scholars and artisans and brought them to Japan. However, it's not to say that Korea was never influenced by the Japanese culture. Ever since Japan became the military superpower in the 20th century and annexed Korea, Japanese culture has been the most influential for Korea. Once the author gets into relationship between Korea and China, it gets more problematic. But because it's so complicated I can't really explain it here.. Therefore, my point is: I recommend this book but read with caution on some historical facts..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful information and insights but WAY too political..., November 23, 1997
By A Customer
This book was easy to read and offered valuable insights on modern Korean history, and presented a lot of useful and interesting information. However, the author interjects entirely too much of his own rather extreme political opinion into the text, making the dissenting reader feel alienated when trying to read the other more pertinent information in the text. These comments are peripheral to the message of the text, and serve only to advertise what the author thinks about US domestic affairs, and other issues esentially unrelated to Korea. I think he gives a well-documented fair and balanced critique of both Korean regimes, but it is the frequent off-the-cuff political remark (not to mention the elitist comment that Americans might be better off if we placed our scholars in higher esteem) that were very distracting and annoying while trying to read this otherwise timely and well-written book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An important work, March 19, 2002
By 
Bruddy Dahl (Perth Amboy, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This book is important in that it draws focus on things not usually considered by people in the west, particularly by Americans. The first of these is the overall importance of Korean history and politics to Koreans themselves. In this sense, the book allows non-Koreans to gain a greater perspective of how Koreans might view their own country and its place in the world, a tremendously important point in understanding how America should act toward both the South and North.

Secondly, the book offers a stinging critique of the United States in its dealings with North Korea. Many readers may find Cumings' approach biased because of the degree of criticism he directs at America, while--in my opinion--somewhat glossing over the brutality of the North in its treatment of its own people; however, the book offers an alternative, non-traditional viewpoint, which is important to at least consider. The potential tragedy of the existing tensions on the Korean peninsula make it essential to view the problem from as many angles as possible in seeking a solution.

Finally, the book also provides an informative look at the long rich history of Korea. Those readers having an interest in Korean history will certainly appreciate it for this reason alone. Korea's Place in the Sun is a great starting point in exploring and understanding the Land of the Morning Calm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EMINENTLY READABLE. IRRESISTIBLE., August 23, 1998
By A Customer
I was warned against Prf. Cumings and his "unwholesome" views by some credible and respectable people. But when I asked them if they had actually read this work, I found out, as I had already suspected, that not one of them had! Naturally, I HAD TO satisfy my curiosity about this infamous author. AND I AM SO GLAD I DID. I know more for having read it. And reading it was so enjoyable.
Indeed, one of the most impressive aspects of this book is that it is so WELL WRITTEN. His prose is stylish and elegant. Do not expect of him the tedious and ponderous grandiosity adopted by the run-of-the-mill historians. His sentences are precise, energetic, and fluid.
And what's more, I was charmed by his irrepressible wit. Indeed, it rendered reading through the all too many dreadful passages in Korea's history somewhat less unpleasant. Yes, he is definitely opinionated (and isn't that the whole point of a historian's writing about alleged facts anyway?) but very charmingly so. His refreshing candor and avowed passions for his beloved subject is disarming, and touching.
As for the contents, they were shocking, to say the least. Take it from a Korean American who attended the draconian South Korean schools during the Park Chung-Hee regime; one becomes VERY skeptical when it comes to Korean "history". And I say as a skeptic that he has dug up some interesting facts, and I do believe that he did not manufacture them. Compared to the sloppily documented (if at all) slop they gave me in schools and the sleazy, bogus stuff circulating in Korean periodicals and papers, this version of history is far more plausible. And definitely possible - actually, make that probable - and certainly more compellingly presented.
Also of interests are his sources. He cites many works I had never heard of before, for some reason or other. And there are many. Just for these alone this book should be highly recommended.
*** Warning! You may get royally ticked off, especially if you are of Korean heritage or naive enough to trust that justice and wisdom prevail in this world.
And I'd like to add, as a Korean American, that it is a wonderful change to actually read a book on Korea by a non Korean-born person who actually does "know all about Korea". I am particularly appreciative of the fact that he kept taking words right out of my mouth regarding the patronizing Western attitudes, especially from the likes of Beatrice Webb, who kept calling the Korean race "horrid", "low vertebrates," etc. When I emigrated to this country in '79, the only books I could find in my school library on Korea were written by people such as she. I was twelve and I shook with an impotent rage when I came across such ignorant remarks from such half-educated, narrow-minded, "Christians" abroad, out to "help" a benighted yellow race but only succeeding in blinding people back home about what was really out there - people just like them struggling to modernize.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't read this book for its treatment of politics of Korean War to now. There's plenty of other books for that!, January 30, 2006
What makes this book GREAT is Cummings' ability to artfully and intelligently convey the cultural and historical flavor of Korea! He does this amazingly with honesty, insight and intelligence. This is what makes this book one of the best books about Korea. If you're interested in kearning about Korean culture, people history this is a good book to start.

The portions of the book when Cummings tells the story of Chosun Kings, Korea's troubled relations with Japan, or the last chapter describing personal experiences with his wife's family to illustrate Korean characteristics is gold. He weaves all of it to convey a heartful description of Korea and its people that's insightfully authentic and genuine.

The politics of the book and its treatment of events leading up to Korean War is may be left of center for some but it's still well-written. If you want to learn about politics and Korean War, etc., you're going to have to read other books.

If you want to get a genuine feel of Korean culture, history and insight into the character of Korean people, read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't Start Him About The Korean War, February 28, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Korea's Place in the Sun: A Modern History (Updated) (Paperback)
Professor Cumings has a talent for putting people in a rage. He is denounced by his critics almost as sharply as he denounces them. If the American Historical Association offers a course in anger management one day, they should invite him as guest speaker. Views about his books are heavily polarized. He is lionized by a generation of historians, many of them Koreans, who found in his work a source of emancipation and independence from received ideas and conventional views. Likewise, he comes under heavy criticism by an earlier generation of scholars and practicians, Americans but not only, who accuse him of being too harsh on the US and too lenient towards the North Korean regime. Until recently, he was considered as the authoritative source on the origins of the Korean war, about which he wrote a massive, two-volume study. His Modern History of Korea, more than 500 pages long, has been characterized by a New York Times reviewer as "passionate, cantankerous and fascinating".

Don't expect me to take sides in this debate, or to feel passionate about this book. For a start, Cumings introduces his book as written "by an American, for Americans, and for Koreans who are now of America." Well, America is not my country, and neither is Korea. Both are, to use the title of another book about North Korea by the same author, "another country" to me. I do take Korea seriously, but with the dispassionate gaze of a student of world history. If the Korean War was the defining moment of Korean-American relations, Europeans take a longer-term view, and tend to put events into context. To be sure, the French did participate in this war, as did other European nations. France sent a battalion who fought with honors as part of the UN coalition, and is still party to the UN Command that monitors the armistice in Korea. But one thing is for sure: we didn't start this war.

I say this because Bruce Cumings distributes the blame very evenly for who is to be held responsible for the start of the Korean War. He reminds me of the game of Cluedo or of a whodunnit novel: everybody, at some point or other, is suspected of being the culprit. And, like in a good Agatha Christie novel, in the end all the suspects took part in the crime. Cumings ends his investigation with the conclusion that "civil wars do not start: they come. They originate in multiple causes, with blame enough to go around for everyone--and blame enough to include Americans." And Mr. Cumings being an American, and having accessed mostly American archives, it is not surprising that he concludes by assigning the blame disproportionately to his country: "it is Americans who bear the lion's share of the responsibility for the thirty-eight parallel."

Zhou Enlai, when asked by Kissinger about the origins and consequences of the French revolution, famously replied: "It's too early to tell." Similarly, Cumings states that "we still know too little to determine the respective North Korean, Soviet, and Chinese roles in initiating the June fighting." Part of this indetermination comes from limited access to the written archives. Despite his best efforts, Cumings was not able to get access to key US archives, even though the Freedom of Information Act provides easier access to classified documents. Archives from China and from the Soviet Union, not to mention North Korea, will have to wait for the investigation of future generations of historians. But the difficulty to answer the question: "Who started the Korean war?" also comes from the complexity of the issue at hand. It was, to use a psychoanalytic term, a case of overdetermination: everybody is to blame, and nobody bears full responsibility.

So my advice to people debating with Professor Cumings is: don't start him on the Korean war. He just cannot be stopped. He reminds me of this end-term history class assignment, when the instructor gave the following subject: "Describe the origins of the First World War. Use the next page of the answer sheet if necessary." Bruce Cumings would certainly have used this second page, and many more. The reason was because the Korean War was, as he puts it, an American war. Americans still have to come to terms with their Korean past. When the author first travelled to North Korea in 1981, a stern custom officer asked him bluntly whether he had done penance for American crimes in Korea. Cuming's act of contrition is to play on America's guilt. His conclusion is that the United States should have stayed away from Koreans' internecine war, for their intervention solved nothing. He sees the alternative counterfactual as vastly preferable: "a civil conflict purely among Koreans might have resolved the extraordinary tensions generated by colonialism, national division and foreign intervention." In the absence of the Americans, "a leftist regime would have taken over quickly, and it would have been a revolutionary nationalist government that, over time, would have moderated and rejoined the world community--as did China, as Vietnam is doing today."

It is, of course, difficult to remake history. But the opposite viewpoint can also be held: the Korean War was the first act of the Cold War, and a defeat by the allied forces would have been a terrible omen for the Western camp. If one looks at the grand scheme of things, the Korean War is the last war Americans can claim to have won. Only in Korea can they say: here we drew a line in the sand and we stood firm; here we didn't bulge. In comparison with more recent wars, Americans did not overstretch their goals in Korea. They stopped when war had to be stopped. Even more important than the doctrine of containment, they managed to contain their own demons, and exercised self-restraint when nearing the edge of the cliff. This lesson was certainly remembered when the US government was confronted with other fateful challenges in Cuba or in Western Europe. The only other clear American victory since WWII is provided by the First Gulf War, in which the US-led coalition rolled back the Iraqi invaders from Kuwait. But then this victory planted the seeds of hubris and chaos that blossomed with the war for Iraq and its aftermath. With the experience of Japan's and Korea' battlegrounds, Americans still stand as victors in Asia, a fact that certainly hasn't been lost to its allies or to China.

There is a second issue for which Cumings is bound to enrage some people: the way he deals with North Korea. Here I have to confess that I found his treatment of the Pyongyang regime more even-handed and balanced that his reputation for revisionism would have led me to expect. He provides a convincing explanation of the regime's ideology, which obeys its own rules and forms a coherent whole. He exposes North Korea for what it is: "a tightly held, total politics, with enormous repressive capacity and many political victims--although no one really knows how repressive it is." He prides himself of having made the right prognosis on the regime duration, forecasting a smooth transition from father to son when other pundits were predicting immediate collapse following the death of Kim Il-sung.

I was not convinced, however, with his treatment of the North Korean economy. Here again, I am not an expert, but as an economist I have learned to treat some facts and figures with caution. The author provides a vast array of data to demonstrate that, until the early 1980s, North Korea was at least as prosperous as the South, and outpaced its neighbors on some dimensions ranging from production of electricity and fertilizers to life expectancy and social welfare. There is no denying that North Korea is quite unlike third-world countries: it is modern, urbanized, and has the technological ability to build an atomic bomb. But is official data to be trusted, even when validated by CIA estimates? What is one to make of the statement that "the North's total production of electricity, coal, fertilizer, machine tools, and steel was comparable to or higher than South Korean totals in the early 1980s, even though its population was half that of the South"? Transition economics has taught us that command economies were based on false metrics, and produced a tremendous amount of waste. More than current production levels, one should also assess a country's growth potential and its resilience to external shocks. People who bet their dollars on the North Korean economy, as some foreign investors did in the 1980s, ultimately made the wrong bet and lost their capital, as Pyongyang fell heavily into debt and accumulated arrears.

Bruce Cumings, or so the book cover tells us, claims for himself the role of a "leader in the fields of Korean history, East Asian political economy, and international history". I don't know where he got his economics credentials, but to me his economic analysis seems plain wrong. As for his talent as a historian, I will defer to the opinion of members of the profession. But there are things that can be tolerated from the part of a historian and other things that put him squarely outside the boundaries of the discipline. He laces his narrative with constant references to the present, mixing periods and genres to offer a very personal vision of history. He alludes to Jihad in the context of resistance to imperialism, compares Korea under Japanese rule to Vichy France, and refers to the Shinkansen when discussing railroad building before 1939. His scholarly references include an uncanny roster of modern philosophers, from Deleuze to Foucault and to Wallerstein. The real subject of Korea's Place in the Sun is actually himself: how he encountered Korea, how he came to his conclusions on the Korean war, as well as his direct observations of street scenes and everyday life of ordinary Koreans. Other historians have put a lot of themselves in their books, offering essays in auto-analysis or personal history. But there were careful to separate the genres and to keep disciplinary boundaries. Not so with Cumings: he treats Korean history as a pretext for subjective digressions and personal aggrandizement. This, and not his controversial opinions on the Korean War and on North Korea, is what I found most irritating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Typos and Misspellings Aplenty, December 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The content of this book is great. But, I bought it in Kindle form, and the amount of typos is ridiculous. From around Chapter 8 on, there is some severe problems. "Came" tends to be spelled as "Carne". Many other words are misspelled, and it is very distracting. The editor or author needs to go through this version and fix the mistakes. It is very distracting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Korea's Place in the Sun: A Modern History (Updated)
Korea's Place in the Sun: A Modern History (Updated) by Bruce Cumings (Paperback - September 17, 2005)
$19.95 $11.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.