Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Fifth Harmony Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer bighero bighero bighero  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Style: USB|Change
Price:$19.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 26, 2006
The headset is very light and comfortable, it might seem fragible but it is made of pretty good material. It will not apply pressure to your ears, and the earbuds are very comfortable, as well as having a slight 30º degree rotation (on its axis).

As far as sound quality goes, it is above average compared to other cheap headsets out there (~20$US seems to be the above average price). The speakers sound pretty decent, as long as you use them for voice. The high notes are pretty notable (accentuated a little bit too much), the midrange is ok, and the bass surprisingly manages to perform very well for the price. It is there and it serves the purpose of voice chat.

As far as the mic goes, it is not a professional mic (those are $30-$200), but it manages to perform well.

The microphone is very omnidirectional, so keep in mind for example I have a somewhat loud computer fan half a meter away from the mic, and you will hear it in the background.

As far as voice range goes, it manages to capture low notes pretty decently, again I have to restate, for the price, it is what you get. If you are not doing a radio show or a podcast, then this is great for voice chatting, gaming, voice recognition, etc.

A good tip would be to adjust the mic to be above the mouth by a few degrees and also turn its inner face way from you. Doing so allows for a better sampling of your voice as the recording will not be crippled by constant air noises from your breathing.

On the technical side, you might want to note that the microphone also has an outer side, so not only it captures your voice, but the ambient noise. The cord is pretty long, just enough to be comfortable, but not long enough for you to roam freely (I have it plugged in the front of my computer).

Final note: Good headset for the price, good for people on a budget.

Recommendation: If you want better quality, pay more, but if you just want to voice chat on Skype, this is great and cheap. Always test audio products before you buy them.
66 comments|352 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2002
I found the fit and weight to be just fine, but the most important thing with a Speech Recognition Headset is the clarity of the Microphone, and I have found the microphone on these headphones to work better than any of the other Voice Rec Headphones I have owned.
0Comment|178 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2004
Its perfect for in-game chat or when using teamspeak (or other IP-talk applications). Sound is Koss style (excellent), but not as good as Koss Porta Pro of course. The Mic is perfect. The fixed part of the arm rotates down to the mouth, the rest of the mic-arm is flexible and can be easily adjusted to any wish. Clear and good microphone. The cord is long compared to other headsets (more than 3 meters / 10 feet)
0Comment|91 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2007
I use them for dictating into Dragon Naturally Speaking, and they work great for the most part (as anyone who's used this program knows, you have to be patient and continually "train" the program). My only complaint (and it's probably not really a fault of the headset) is that if someone pops their head into the office and says "Hi!", or if the phone rings, the headset picks up this extraneous noise and the dictation recognition is affected. Maybe I should just close the door... Bottom line--I would definitely buy them again.
0Comment|99 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2005
I do a lot of on-line gaming (Aces High with built in voice, WWII Online with Teamspeak, Battlefield 1942 with Teamspeak). These headphones are perfect for what I want. They are not the most-comfortable headphones in the world, but they are adequate, and the price is very cheap ($15 or so). More importantly, the dynamic range on the sound is great so that I can localize sound sources in the game (good for locating where a shot came from). Even the low-end rumble is good (so that explosions and tanks sounds good, for example). The microphone on this headset is outstanding. My voice quality on these games is better than what the majority of players achieve. People who use crappy mics sound crappy in the game (static or distortion) -- my voice quality is very clear. I have recommended these headphones for everyone I know who does on-line gaming.
0Comment|77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2007
Excellent item. Great sound and blocks out other noises. This is perfect to use with our Rosetta Stone voice recognition software.
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2006
This is such a fantastic headset! It sounds great! and its comfortable and perfect for gaming. I especially love the adjustable Mic. I recenly accidentally broke my old one of this same type. (dropped heavy boxes on it*crunch*) Ilove this headset so much that I bought another exactly like it. It's cheap enough that it's no big deal. I recommend to all my gaming pals that they get this as well. several have :)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2013
Audio functionality and sound quality is fabulous.

HOWEVER..
The ear cover material is rough and presses too tightly -- with no padding to speak of. Ears become irritated and painful right away. Can't really use it more than 5 min or so, if that.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2010
The fit, feel, and sound are great but the performance with Dragon NaturallySpeaking 10 was horrendous. The headset is now sitting in a drawer, perhaps someday to be used for Skype or some other VoIP service.
33 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2009
Actually, this headset was recommended by University Alaska Southeast for an inexpensive but reliable product for use during an online webmeet class. I was pleasantly surprised by the clarity and white noise reduction. The headset has a long enough cord where you could get up and move around without having to stretch to reach for something.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 117 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.