Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Picky Eaters!
This product is GREAT for making food fun for your picky eater. It is super-easy to use. I've made rice shapes from both sushi rice (holds well by itself), or I melt a few shreds of cheese into brown rice to hold it together as it cools. I hope to try it with various grains soon, as well. My daughter loves these in her Bento box for lunch with some edamame and soy...
Published on October 31, 2010 by Amy

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's nifty
This mold looses 2 stars because of how difficult it can be to remove the rice. You have to oil it before adding the rice, add the rice while it's still warm, wait for it to cool, then whack it on your counter to get them out. That's all fine and dandy if you're only making them for one person, but when you want to make a bunch at a time, it's very time consuming. Plus,...
Published on April 25, 2012 by S. Minton


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Picky Eaters!, October 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rice Mold/4 Star-Heart-Triangle-Plum (Kitchen)
This product is GREAT for making food fun for your picky eater. It is super-easy to use. I've made rice shapes from both sushi rice (holds well by itself), or I melt a few shreds of cheese into brown rice to hold it together as it cools. I hope to try it with various grains soon, as well. My daughter loves these in her Bento box for lunch with some edamame and soy sauce. Fun for dipping and transports easily!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's nifty, April 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rice Mold/4 Star-Heart-Triangle-Plum (Kitchen)
This mold looses 2 stars because of how difficult it can be to remove the rice. You have to oil it before adding the rice, add the rice while it's still warm, wait for it to cool, then whack it on your counter to get them out. That's all fine and dandy if you're only making them for one person, but when you want to make a bunch at a time, it's very time consuming. Plus, now you've got oil on your rice, not the end if the world though if you use a cooking spray it leaves a film in your mouth once they've been sitting in your lunch box all day. I haven't found a better way to get them out w/o using butter or oil first.

On the up side, the kids will eat just about anything mixed w/ the rice and they are fun. I'm happy with the small size, and you can freeze/thaw them faster than larger rice balls. If it was just easier to get the rice out, this would get the full 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy to use, fun, April 7, 2011
By 
SD Mom (san diego, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rice Mold/4 Star-Heart-Triangle-Plum (Kitchen)
works well, easy to clean. have used with brown and white rice with good result. my toddler enjoys the teddy bear in his lunch. have also layered rice, ground meat with peas and rice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, July 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rice Mold/4 Star-Heart-Triangle-Plum (Kitchen)
Got them quicker than expected!i was confused at first because i have never owned one of these before i did not realize you Press down through the little holes to remove the rice. After i figured that out they are really easy to use!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tough to get the molded rice shapes out, November 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rice Mold/4 Star-Heart-Triangle-Plum (Kitchen)
I'm using Japanese white rice cooked in a rice cooker and find that it's not possible to get the shapes out without destroying them because the rice adheres too tightly to the sides of the mold. The mechanism for ejecting the rice shape is a little hinged circle in the bottom of each mold. The idea is that you push in on that with your finger to pop the compressed rice shape out after squishing the rice in with the lid. What I find is that I just dig a hole into the bottom of the rice block and the rest of it doesn't budge. The plastic is rigid, so you cannot twist or deform the mold to break the adhesion before trying to push. I've found the Tovolo Holiday Ice Cream Sandwich Molds, Set of 3 molds to work much better. The ejection mechanism there is that the mold is open on both sides and comes with a matching plunger. Once you've compressed your shape, you just use the plunger to keep pushing it out of the bottom of the mold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tough to get the rice out of the mold, January 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rice Mold/4 Star-Heart-Triangle-Plum (Kitchen)
Very sturdy with cute shapes, but hard to get the rice out of the mold.
It makes smaller sized rice balls, which is nice sometimes, but I probably won't use often because of the sticking issue. Probably spraying with oil would help, but I don't want the oil on the rice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute, easy to use, easy to clean., June 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rice Mold/4 Star-Heart-Triangle-Plum (Kitchen)
I've been using this mold set for weeks now, and I have no complaints. They work well, release the rice easily, and have been fine in the top rack of the dishwasher for cleanup.

If you want your rice to release more easily, dip all the parts of the mold into some cold water right before you fill it. (And dip or rinse the parts again before each use.) It's just like wetting your hands before forming a rice ball, and it works just as well on plastic. After you fill the molds and compress the rice, remove the "compressing" part of the mold and give the top a couple whacks on the countertop, flat, face down, with the openings toward the counter surface. Between that and the cutouts that assist removal, the rice should come right out with little to no damage to the shapes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun bento box food, December 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rice Mold/4 Star-Heart-Triangle-Plum (Kitchen)
these make it very easy to mold rice for my bento boxes. They are easy to use and to clean up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 9, 2014
By 
marcia06 (Havertown, pa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rice Mold/4 Star-Heart-Triangle-Plum (Kitchen)
Works great .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cute Food, May 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rice Mold/4 Star-Heart-Triangle-Plum (Kitchen)
My daughter loves making cute shapes with the rice and they are fun to eat too. Great healthy snack for kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rice Mold/4 Star-Heart-Triangle-Plum
$8.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.