Customer Reviews


315 Reviews
5 star:
 (239)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great palce to start and a great storage tool
Once you start using the Pocket-Hole systems, you will settle into the sizes you use most. This kit is a great assortment to get you started and then a good storage place for the screws later. Once you settle on the size or sizes you use most, you can buy them in bulk and store enough "project sized quantities" in this case while you're working. Besides, you never know...
Published on February 8, 2009 by Henry Wolford

versus
83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kreg Pocket Screws
Nice case for a variety of screws, but most people work with 3/4 inch wood and I don't think the other variety of screws would be necessary. I myself usually worked with 1/2-3/4 inch plywood or hardwood so I only needed two sized screws. Would reccommend you only buy the coarse screws...better bite and holding. The finer threaded screws recommended for hardwoods more...
Published on March 7, 2011 by R. Forrest


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great palce to start and a great storage tool, February 8, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kreg SK03 Pocket-Hole Screw Kit in 5 Sizes (Tools & Home Improvement)
Once you start using the Pocket-Hole systems, you will settle into the sizes you use most. This kit is a great assortment to get you started and then a good storage place for the screws later. Once you settle on the size or sizes you use most, you can buy them in bulk and store enough "project sized quantities" in this case while you're working. Besides, you never know when you might need that one or two different sizes in a project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kreg Pocket Screws, March 7, 2011
This review is from: Kreg SK03 Pocket-Hole Screw Kit in 5 Sizes (Tools & Home Improvement)
Nice case for a variety of screws, but most people work with 3/4 inch wood and I don't think the other variety of screws would be necessary. I myself usually worked with 1/2-3/4 inch plywood or hardwood so I only needed two sized screws. Would reccommend you only buy the coarse screws...better bite and holding. The finer threaded screws recommended for hardwoods more likely to strip the work your screwing into from personal experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Starter Set from Kreg, March 31, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kreg SK03 Pocket-Hole Screw Kit in 5 Sizes (Tools & Home Improvement)
I got the set as a starter set for the K3 Master Hole Jig System that I purchased at the same time. The set seems to fit the bill exactly as I had expected. There is an obvious oil treatment on the screws as it has completely soaked the description lab on the inside of the lid. I think I will be cleaning/wiping the screw before use but I suppose that is better than having them rust before I can use them. From here I will just refill this set as needed or add different screws as needed. I do like the case as it is a very good way to carry the very sharp screw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Assortment of Pocket Screws for the Kreg System, June 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kreg SK03 Pocket-Hole Screw Kit in 5 Sizes (Tools & Home Improvement)
I highly recommend Kreg joinery. If you do not know what that is, then watch some of the Kreg videos on a popular video website. This kit provides a nice assortment of screws for use with the Kreg pocket screw system. With this kit, you get an assortment of five Kreg screws (in a handy plastic carrying case), including: 150 1 inch fine; 150 1-1/4 inch fine; 150 1 inch coarse; 150 1-1/4 inch course; and 75 2-1/2 inch coarse.

The "Fine" Kreg screws are for hardwoods as they reduce the chance of splitting. Use "Fine" screws in woods such as ash, oak, maple, birch, ash, walnut, cherry, hickory, or mahogany. The "Coarse" Kreg screws are for softwoods and composite materials such as MDF and plywood. Use "Coarse" screws in woods such as pine, cedar, poplar, plywood, basswood, melamine, or particle board.

Material Thickness; Screw Length; Kreg Jig Setting

1/2" (12 mm); 1" (25 mm); 1/2" Marking
5/8" (16 mm); 1" (25 mm); 5/8" Marking
3/4" (19 mm); 1-1/4" (32 mm); 3/4" Marking
1-1/2" (38 mm); 2-1/2" (64 mm); 1-1/2" Marking

The Kreg pocket screw jig entirely changed the way I join wood. I no longer use a dado set or a router, I simply set up the jig, drill the pocket holes, and join the wood with the proper Kreg pocket screw. I own the old Kreg K3MS K3 Master Pocket Hole Jig System. The new model is the: Kreg K4MS Jig Master System. If you don't want to spend that much money, try either the Kreg Jig K4 Pocket Hole System or the Kreg R3 Jr. Pocket Hole Jig System. The Jig Master is best if you wish to make a large number of consistent pocket screw holes (for example, if you are building book shelves or kitchen cabinets).

To drive these screws, you will need a power drill equipped with a "square drive" bit. A bit may come with your kit. If not (or if you want a spare) you can order the bit here: Kreg DDS 3-Inch No.2 Square Driver Bit and 6-Inch No.2 Square Driver Bit for Kreg Pocket Hole Systems. To drill out the pocket-screw holes, you will need the Kreg pocket-screw drill bit. A drill bit should come with the Kreg kit. If not (or if you want a spare), you can order one here: Kreg KJD Replacement Twist Step Drill Bit for Kreg Manual-Pocket Hole Systems.

I recommend using Kreg-brand pocket screws. Considering the expense of wood and value of your free time, it does not make much sense to save just a few pennies by purchasing cheaper, generic screws.

Please note: For outdoor projects, you need Kreg "Blue Kote" screws.

Update (02/26/14): This was a great little kit when I first started using the Kreg system. Since I typically work only with three-quarter inch hard woods, I now buy (500 count) boxes of 1-1/4 inch fine screws Kreg SML-F125-500 1-1/4-Inch #7 Fine Pocket Hole Screws with Washer-Head, 500-Pack. However, it is good to have a collection of course screws, as well as shorter and longer screws (for that occasional odd job).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 96 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kind of pricey for a set of screws. Quality is there., February 18, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kreg SK03 Pocket-Hole Screw Kit in 5 Sizes (Tools & Home Improvement)
These are the screws to use from the company that makes the Kreg Pocket-Hole kit but you can save a ton of money if you use other no-name screws.
These are quality screws and provide for a selection of applications. From hardwood to MDF and different thicknesses of wood. Once you learn the length of screw needed for the different thicknesses of wood and the thread type for the type of wood, you can then use no-name screws and save significantly compared to these over-priced screws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great quality, good value, November 18, 2009
By 
Tom Leeds (Oak Lawn, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kreg SK03 Pocket-Hole Screw Kit in 5 Sizes (Tools & Home Improvement)
My only complaint about Kreg screws are that they are expensive for screws but they are top quality so you get what you pay for.
With that said this is a great buy for two reasons. First you get a nice assortment that on there own are a fair bit cheaper than if you bought them in the standard 100ct. packs. The second is the case they come in is exceptional quality and design, and I'm a designer so I know. It closes tightly and locks securely and on the inside the screws are in a separate tray which I believe, not only makes it stronger but also helps keep the screws from getting out of their individual bins and getting mixed up. Throw in the fact that you get a great price with Amazon and this makes it a perfect buy for anyone just starting out with the Kreg pocket joiner system!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Plastic Box of 5 types of Screws ranging from 1" to 2 1/2", June 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kreg SK03 Pocket-Hole Screw Kit in 5 Sizes (Tools & Home Improvement)
You should be forewarned that you only get 75 - 2 1/2 inch screws and 150 each of the other 4 types.

Looking at it by "size only" you get 300 1" screws, 300 1 1/4" screws --and of course 75 2 1/2" total.

There is no 2" or 1 1/2" provided.

If you were to buy these screws separately at Home Depot you'd spend roughly double what this set costs. The comparison is complicated since you would be hard pressed to find this limited quantity of each type. The box is a heavy impact plastic, brief case latches, and a handle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A screw review? Sure!, April 13, 2010
By 
elaY (Dallas, TX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kreg SK03 Pocket-Hole Screw Kit in 5 Sizes (Tools & Home Improvement)
The washer-head screws are perfect for pocket screw joinery and having a decent number and variety of screws on hand keeps you from having to run to the store (or place Amazon orders) every time you get the kreg jig off the shelf. The square drive is GREAT! I wish that all screws were like that so I could stop stripping the heads off of so many screws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best way to get started..., March 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kreg SK03 Pocket-Hole Screw Kit in 5 Sizes (Tools & Home Improvement)
Unless you already know exactly the widths of boards you will be joining the with the Kreg system, this is a perfect starter kit. Just enough variety to get you going with any project. The screws that come with the K3 master system are hardly enough to complete even a mid sized project. This is the best way to get right into the game with your pocket hole jig.

So far they have been pefect. No defective screws. No burrs or damaged threads. No sheared heads. Perfect fit with the square bit every time.

Also, I was skeptical about the "self-tapping". I am a predrilling fanatic. But, so far so good. Not a single split piece of wood. Now I'm a believer.

The screws do come coated with a light oil film, (probably to prevent rust). Just have a paper towel on hand if it bothers you.

The case is well made compared to other cases I've used in the past. This gives the impression it will hold up for a few years as long as I don't do anything dumb. I'm usually skeptical of plastic storage cases, but this one is sturdy enough, and snaps tight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great assortment - here's what you get, September 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kreg SK03 Pocket-Hole Screw Kit in 5 Sizes (Tools & Home Improvement)
Here is exactly what is in the box:

NOTE: The product description says the screws come "in five sizes." That's a bit misleading; it sounds like you are getting five different lengths. You are actually getting only THREE lengths (for three sizes of stock); two of the lengths come in both course and fine threads. So you get five varieties, but only three lengths.

Course threads are for use in soft woods (pine - including hemlock, MDF, particleboard, etc). Fine threads are for hardwood (maple, oak, etc).

For 3/4" stock, 1.25" long screws, bright finish:
- 150# SML-F125, Maxi-Loc head #7 shank, fine threads, for 3/4" hard stock
- 150# SML-C125, Maxi-Loc head #8 shank, course threads, for 3/4" soft stock

For 1/2" stock, 1" long screws, bright finish:
- 150# SPS-F1, Pan Head, #6 shank, fine threads, for 1/2" hard stock
- 150# SPS-C1, Pan Head, #7 shank, course threads, for 1/2" soft stock

For 1.5" ("two-by") stock, 2.5" long screws, Blue-Kote finish:
- 75# SML-C250B, Maxi-Loc head, #8 shank, course threads, for 1.5" soft stock

Maxi-Loc heads have a molded-in "washer" which increases the surface area of the head compared to the Pan Head variety. All screws use the same size square-bit driver.

"Bright" finish means electroplate-galvanized zinc. This finish won't stand up to long term exposure to adverse weather. Blue-Kote finish (used only in the screws for 1.5" stock) is weather resistant. As the name suggests, these screws are blue.

The case is sturdy and should last for years, and it REALLY adds a lot of value to the kit. The locking tabs are nice and tight - if you drop the case it is unlikely to pop open and mix up your screws on the floor. My only complaint is that the case does not have a provision to hold the square-drive bit. A "bit compartment" would make it a little more useful (and an included bit even more so - an extra bit would be a nice bit of insurance).

Kreg OEM screws are the highest quality. You should always set your drill clutch to a reasonable torque (not much more than it needs to be for your stock), but you are unlikely to twist the head off of these screws or strip out the square socket if your clutch is too tight.

I'll be buying a bunch more fine screws for 3/4" hard stock, which is my most common requirement. The other screws I will need much less frequently, but when you need an oddball screw, it's a bummer to not have it. The set makes no attempt to include screws for REALLY oddball stock sizes (how many people really use 1" stock?)

This is a good and generous assortment of high-quality screws for the most common stock sizes used in cabinet-style joinery. An excellent value.

(if you find my review helpful, please "like" it. thanks!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Kreg SK03 Pocket-Hole Screw Kit in 5 Sizes
$29.99 $23.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.