Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just imagine...
First, let me quickly mention KOI MIL GAYA, a 2003 film about a mentally handicapped man named Rohit who receives superhuman powers from a space alien. KRRISH is the 2006 sequel, which then tells the story of Rohit's son, Krishna. KRRISH also unleashes India's first film superhero, which probably has something to do with this film breaking all sorts of Indian box office...
Published on May 23, 2007 by H. Bala

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Superman, Spiderman, Batman in one. Should have rented not purchased this movie
What I haven noticed is that HR exploits his son's looks in his movies. Not bad looking but not the best in Bollywood. This movie is okay at the beginning, but then turns boring watching him smiling and posing and showing off his body and hair. Tooo long of a movie. This movie is a combination of Superman, Batman, Spiderman and The Black Mask. Don't know why I purchased...
Published 22 months ago by Sakae


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just imagine..., May 23, 2007
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Krrish (DVD)
First, let me quickly mention KOI MIL GAYA, a 2003 film about a mentally handicapped man named Rohit who receives superhuman powers from a space alien. KRRISH is the 2006 sequel, which then tells the story of Rohit's son, Krishna. KRRISH also unleashes India's first film superhero, which probably has something to do with this film breaking all sorts of Indian box office records.

KRRISH opens with the very young and chubby boy Krishna Mehra unveiling his precocious talents to his astounded school instructors, who begin to test him for his I.Q. level. Krishna's grandmother (Rekha), fearful of the consequences, takes Krishna far, far away and raises him in the isolation of the forests and mountains. Years later, Krishna (Hrithik Roshan) is now an innocent, sheltered (but very well muscled) young man, at peace with nature and its creatures. And he grins a lot, I'm assuming because he's pure of heart or something. It's at this stage that he meets the visiting Priya (Priyanka Chopra), whom he saves when her glider collides with a tree. In spending time with Priya, Krishna reveals his superhuman abilities as he becomes smitten with her. When Priya, who's only in India on a 15 day vacation, returns to Singapore, Krishna is grief stricken. Priya, too, doesn't feel too well, but it's because she and her friend Honey realize that they're reporting 5 days late to their jobs at a media network. On the verge of being fired, Honey tells their boss about Krishna and his talents. Honey convinces the reluctant Priya to use the pretense of love to get Krishna to Singapore. But, really, they want to put him on television and, thus, save their jobs.

If this sounds like I'm giving away the whole story, you're wrong. That's only a smidgen of what goes on in this film. I'll sum up the rest of the plot in one sentence: Krishna does end up in Singapore, inadvertently becomes a superhero, and foils the uncool plan of an evil, egotistical scientist.

For Bollywood, KRRISH is big scale movie making. It's your quintessential escapist flick and displays an unabashed sense of fun and enthusiasm. The filmmakers really went to work on this one, although there's still that trademark frivolity present, which is a signature of most Bollywood films. Now, this movie is 3 hours long, so when I say that the bulk of the movie's first half deals with the sugary-sweet love story between Krishna and career girl Priya, well, that's a lot of comedy romance for a superhero flick. The superhero element is still there, throughout, as Krishna does persist in engaging in impossible feats, but this element is overshadowed by the romance. But, following the sizzling musical number at the circus, Krrish is born and the action begins and then never relents.

I thought the special effects rocked. Stunt choreographer Tony Ching Siu-tung (HERO, SHAOLIN SOCCER, HOUSE OF FLYING DAGGERS) concocts exhilarating wire-fu stunts, quite reminiscent of CROUCHING TIGER, HIDDEN DRAGON. In his black leather duster and black, zigzagged circus mask, Krrish looks amazing, very cool. He performs acrobatics, swims like a dolphin, leaps to improbable heights, and performs wushu. There's also an undeniable nod to THE MATRIX. The fight scenes are slick and without the amateurish fight sound effects Bollywood usually inflicts on its films. Really, the only effect which sucks is the unconvincing sequence with the forest backdrop where Krrish is kicking ninja booty in super speed.

As directed by his father Rakesh Roshan (who also directed him in KOI MIL GAYA), I thought Hrithik did a fine job of acting in both the roles of Krishna and his look-alike dad Rohit. He portrays both Krishna and Rohit with such distinct and differing personalities that his playing dual parts never really becomes a distraction. His Krishna is so effervescent and (dare I say?) so soulful a character that I couldn't help but like and root for him. Even though he does fling that "Ain't I hunky?" grin way too often. Rekha as Sonia Mehra, Krishna's grandma, turns in a real good performance, especially when she strays from her character's stoic persona and turns on the water works. Naseeruddin Shah as the evil scientist Dr. Siddhant Arya gets a chance to cut loose, and he gleefully obliges us with a patented Master Villain-ish effort. Priyanka Chopra is beautiful, no doubt, but she's only decent here, suffering from Lois Lane-itis as she does. How could Priya not know that Krrish is Krishna? You think the similarity in names just might be a clue? And if she already knows someone with special powers, and then someone in the same vicinity shows up displaying special powers but in a costume, then this might be a hint that it's the same dude, right? Aargh!

And, of course, there's the songs, but only four of them here, although KRRISH oddly doesn't indulge in its first musical number until about 40 minutes into it. Once again, Hrithik shows off his grace and fluidity in dancing. I really like the circus number, where he busts some serious moves. Priyanka also acquits herself well in these musical numbers. But I've seen her do better. And since I'm babbling on about music here, a mention must go out to the appropriately grandiose score, which meshes very well with the superhero component.

The 2-disc dvd set is handsomely packaged. Disc one has the movie presentation. Disc two contains these following special features: "Hrithik's Journey: KOI MIL GAYA to KRRISH" which is your default making-of segment; "Action Cuts" (24 minutes long, focuses mostly on the stunts and includes Hrithik going to Hong Kong to train in wushu); "Making of the Music" - an in-depth, 21-plus-minutes-long look into the film's songs; Red Carpet for KRRISH in London, including interviews with the cast and director (21 plus minutes); and the theatrical trailer. For those concerned, there's enough English used in these features by cast and crew that the language barrier becomes a non-issue.

Even though the movie length is almost as long as this review, KRRISH is fun popcorn fare. No, it's not perfect or original. It borrows heavily from THE MATRIX, PAYCHECK, and, of course, a ton of superhero films. But the end result is worth watching for its sheer exuberance and gall. There really are some dynamic, visually cool action moments here. One of my favorite scenes (and I have quite a few favorites here) is Krrish set on a panoramic cityscape as he indefatigably pursues a helicopter. Very nice, extended chase sequence. With KRRISH 2 having already been announced, things are looking good for India's only superhero, and I cannot wait to see what happens next. To echo the oft repeated quote in this film: "Just imagine..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Actor..., January 25, 2007
By 
J. Chabot (Woodbridge, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Krrish (DVD)
I've been watching Bollywood films for only a few months, now, but I've been a movie buff all my life. I have to say I have been deeply impressed by Hrithik Roshan's sheer acting ability. Just between "Koi...Mil Gaya" and "Krrish" he should get every acting award going. So he can dance like his bones are made of water, so he's doggone attractive (not blind here!), he's also an incandescent actor, and "Krrish" is one of the most enjoyable films I've seen in years. A touch of Tarzan, a touch of "The Matrix", a touch of "Minority Report", plus romance and music. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must watch for lovers of Indian Cinema, September 24, 2006
This review is from: Krrish (DVD)
It's a must watch Indian movie. Good music, fantastic action !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hrithik Roshan international heart throb!!, January 4, 2009
By 
Ceci Widby (Pioneer, CA. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Krrish (DVD)
This folks is a GREAT family movie particulaly if you like nice, non grahphic violence, non graphic sex, beautiful scenery, family writing and excellent acting that is rated the "Best" for Hrithik by IIFA (India's Acadamy Awards)!! Well deserved for his portrayal of sweet and naive "Krrish" (Krishna), his father "Rohits", specially gifted son in this sci-fi action sequel to Koi....Mil Gaya (I found someone). This incredibly handsome, singing, dancing, talented young actor with the body of adonnis deserves all the praise (3 Best Actor Awards!!) that is being poured upon him by the international movie community. A nice popcorn and soft blanket movie to pass the night and well worth reading the english sub titles. Great family movies that should be dubbed into english for American and british families with kids too young to read. After viewing online I bought it!! Oprah, Jay Leno, ANYONE!!! Bring this yound man to America and introduce him to the women of the US!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable I like it, November 11, 2006
This review is from: Krrish (DVD)
I have a friend who is Indian and I borrowed a few of her films just to see what India movies were like. I ended up buying them on line. She has not seen this yet so I have one up on her. My daughter is 18 and she really liked it. She said "Mom he`s hot!" and now her friends want to watch it. Nice to watch a romantic /action movie with people who still have morals and respect their family and friends. I really like this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, even with the dancing, May 19, 2007
This review is from: Krrish (DVD)
This film is the only Bollywood movie I have seen, but the plot is so engrossing that it quickly takes away any preconceived ideas one might have about Indian movies. Although there are a few down sides, the overall "awesomeness" of this film makes up for it. The premise of the entire film is very unbelievable, but the fact that director was able to take that and still make a memorable film is a huge achievement in itself. The unintentional comedy is what makes this film so unique and good. Although it's not "good" like The Godfather, it's still good like a good old superhero film. With the extremely long and drawn out dance sequences aside, KRRISH is a one-of-a-kind film that has good morals and is still fun to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just really enjoyable, December 23, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Krrish (DVD)
A great sequel to Koi Mil Gaya. Again Hrithik brings off the action hero and the transformation from simple warm-hearted boy of nature.
The plot is good and the romance works fine. Hrithik has so much screen presence as action hero but romantic young man of integrity.
Nothing really to fault it on so why not a 5 as it was really enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just imagine, September 19, 2009
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Krrish (DVD)
First, let me quickly mention Koi... Mil Gaya, a 2003 film about a mentally handicapped man named Rohit who receives superhuman powers from a space alien. KRRISH is the 2006 sequel, which then tells the story of Rohit's son, Krishna. KRRISH also unleashes India's first cinematic superhero, which probably has something to do with this film breaking all sorts of Indian box office records.

KRRISH opens with the very young and chubby boy Krishna Mehra unveiling his precocious talents to his astounded school instructors, who then begin to test him for his I.Q. level. Krishna's grandmother (Rekha), fearful of the consequences, takes Krishna far, far away and raises him in the isolation of the forests and mountains.

Years later, the boy has grown up an innocent, sheltered, but very well-muscled young man (as Hrithik Roshan now takes over the role). Krishna is at peace with nature and its creatures. And, boy, does he smile a lot, I'm assuming because he's pure of heart or something. It's at this stage that he meets the visiting Priya (Priyanka Chopra), whom he saves when her glider collides with a tree. In spending time with Priya and becoming smitten with her, Krishna reveals his superhuman abilities. When Priya, who's only in India on a 15 day vacation, has to return to Singapore, Krishna is grief stricken. Priya also doesn't feel too good about her leavetaking, but it's more because she and her friend Honey realize that they're reporting 5 days late to their jobs at a media network. On the verge of being fired, Honey tells their boss about Krishna and his talents. Honey convinces the reluctant Priya to use the pretense of love to get Krishna to Singapore. But, really, they want to put him on television and, thus, save their jobs.

If this sounds like I'm giving away the whole story, you're wrong. That's only a smidgen of what goes on in this film. I'll sum up the rest of the plot in one sentence: Krishna does end up in Singapore, inadvertently becomes a superhero, and foils the uncool plan of an evil, egotistical scientist.

For Bollywood, KRRISH is big scale movie making. It's your quintessential escapist flick and displays an unabashed sense of fun and enthusiasm. The filmmakers really went to work on this one, although there's still that trademark frivolity present, which is a signature of most Bollywood films. Now, this movie is 3 hours long, so when I say that the bulk of the movie's first half deals with the sugary-sweet love story between Krishna and career girl Priya, well, that's a lot of comedy romance for a superhero flick. The superhero element is still there, throughout, as Krishna does persist in engaging in impossible feats, but this element is overshadowed by the romance. But, following the sizzling musical number at the circus, Krrish is born and the action begins and then never relents.

I thought the special effects rocked. Stunt choreographer Tony Ching Siu-tung (HERO, SHAOLIN SOCCER, HOUSE OF FLYING DAGGERS) concocts exhilarating wire-fu stunts, quite reminiscent of CROUCHING TIGER, HIDDEN DRAGON. In his black leather duster and black, zigzagged circus mask, Krrish looks amazing, very cool. He performs acrobatics, swims like a dolphin, leaps to improbable heights, and performs wushu. There's also an undeniable nod to THE MATRIX. The fight scenes are slick and without the amateurish fight sound effects Bollywood sometimes inflicts on its films. Really, the only effect which sucks is the unconvincing sequence with the forest backdrop where Krrish is kicking ninja booty in super speed.

As directed by his father Rakesh Roshan (who also directed him in KOI MIL GAYA), I thought Hrithik did a fine job of acting in both the roles of Krishna and his look-alike dad Rohit. He portrays both Krishna and Rohit with such distinct and differing personalities that his playing dual parts never really becomes a distraction. His Krishna is so effervescent and (dare I say?) so soulful a character that I couldn't help but like and root for him. Even though he does fling that "Ain't I hunky?" grin way too often. Rekha as Sonia Mehra, Krishna's grandma, turns in a real good performance, especially when she strays from her character's stoic persona and turns on the water works. Naseeruddin Shah as the evil scientist Dr. Siddhant Arya gets a chance to cut loose, and he gleefully obliges us with a patented Master Villain-ish effort. Priyanka Chopra is beautiful, no doubt, but she's only decent here, suffering from Lois Lane-itis as she does. How could Priya not know that Krrish is Krishna? You think the similarity in names just might be a clue? And if she already knows someone with special powers, and then someone in the same vicinity shows up displaying special powers but in a costume, then this might be a hint that it's the same dude, right? Oy!

And, of course, there are the songs, but only four of them here, although KRRISH oddly doesn't indulge in its first musical number until about 40 minutes into it. Once again, Hrithik shows off his grace and fluidity in dancing. I really like the circus number, where he busts some serious moves. Priyanka also acquits herself well in these musical numbers. But I've seen her do better. And since I'm babbling on about music here, a mention must go out to the appropriately grandiose score, which meshes very well with the superhero component.

Even though the movie length is almost as long as this review, KRRISH is fun popcorn fare. No, it's not perfect or original. It borrows heavily from THE MATRIX, PAYCHECK, and, of course, a ton of superhero films. But the end result is worth watching for its sheer exuberance. There really are some dynamic, visually cool action moments here. One of my favorite scenes (and I have quite a few favorites here) is Krrish set on a panoramic cityscape as he indefatigably pursues a helicopter. Very nice, extended chase sequence. With KRRISH 2 still waiting in the wings, things look good for India's sole superhero, and I cannot wait to see what happens next. To echo the oft repeated quote in this film: "Just imagine..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Krrish: Bollywood's answer to superman, September 11, 2009
This review is from: Krrish (DVD)
"Krrish" is the sequel to "Koi Mil Gaya" but there is no need to watch the original before seeing "Krrish", since everything you need to know about it is told during a flashback sequence about halfway through

Krishna is the son of Rohit, who twenty years before had an encounter with aliens, ala "E.T.". In return for protecting him, the alien Jadu gave Rohit extraordinary abilities. After Jadu returned to his home planet, Rohit's abilities worked against him and stole both him and his wife away from his mother, Sonia Mehra. For that reason, when Sonia (played by the fabulous Reika)discovers that her grandson, Krishna, has also been blessed, not only with advanced mental capabilities, but with superhuman strength, speed, and agility, she spirits him away to a village high in the Himalayas (The scenery is truly breathtaking).

Fate steps in, in the form of a lovely young woman named Prya, with whom Krishna promptly falls in love. Although, for obvious reasons, Sonia doesn't want to allow Krishna to go to Singapore and ask Prya's mother for her blessings on their marriage, she eventually gives in. Krishna takes his lady love to a circus, where a deadly fire breaks out, forcing Krishna to face his destiny. Using his superhuman abilities, he saves everyone trapped inside the tent, donning a mask to hide his identity. Thus, the superhero Krrish is born.

Again we are on familiar territory here, but this film rises above the average superhero film. The almighty hand of karma guides Krishna into an encounter he never thought possible, giving him an opportunity to right the wrongs, not only of the present, but of the future and the past as well.

Krrish is not just and action film. It is truly a thing of great beauty. Hrithik Roshan's performance is not just heroic. It is also vulnerable and touchingly innocent. And no matter how many times I see this film the last scene brings tears to my eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic BWood Film, October 13, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Krrish (DVD)
This was THE BEST, Action BWood film I've seen to date. Hrithik Roshan's performance was brilliant. I was pleasantly surprised to see this film turn out so action packed and well just so great. I really can't say enough, and as a bonus ladies Roshan is oh so easy on the eyes. I highly recommend this film to families, men, women, and children alike all are sure to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Krrish
Krrish by Rakesh Roshan (DVD - 2006)
$9.67
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.