Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book to learn about Kundalini or the "Energy of Awakening"
Although you may have heard about Kundalini in yogic texts or even other books on spirituality it still remains shrouded in mystery, not understood and often feared like any other powerful unknown phenomena. Many books address the topic of awakening the Kundalini and steps to follow, but this book addresses the basic question - What is Kundalini? Do we really need to...
Published on August 28, 2009 by AmazonDiva

versus
93 of 113 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and Contains Much False Teaching
As a person who has suffered "Kundalini" awakening over a period of 12 years now, I found this book to be disappointing and to contain typical mis-understandings and mis-interpretations of the process of awakening. These mis-interpretations are due to people's attachment to a particular religion or spiritual tradition through which they filter their perception. Ken Wilber...
Published on January 21, 2011 by Mage1111


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kundalini Demystified, July 15, 2010
By 
MyBeesWax "A Music Fan" (The Heart of the Golden State) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Kundalini Rising: Exploring the Energy of Awakening (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I had 3 fundamental questions that I had hoped to get answers to when I picked up this book. What is Kundalini? What will it do for me? How can I awaken it?

The book has more than adequately answered the first two questions. I now have a fundamental understanding of what kundalini is and what an awakened Kundalini can do for me. However, my third question remains largely unanswered because what this book will not do is to serve as a guide on how to awaken your kundalini. It is intended primarily for demystifying the Kundalini phenomenon.

For the uninitiated, Kundalini is an energy that lies dormant at the base of the spine until it is awakened. It is also called "serpent power" or "serpent goddess," and accordingly, it is often depicted as a serpent coiled at the base of the spine.

Fully awakened, Kundalini is the wellspring of wellness, genius, and creativity. It is a lifeforce that comes into it's own as it guides you, transforms you, and leads you towards self-actualization. It can put you in a constant state of bliss and rapture. The awakening of Kundalini is irreversible; once awakened, the Kundalini cannot be reverted to its former state of dormancy.

The book is an anthology of 24 essays divided into 4 parts:

Part 1: The Experience. This section contains the personal accounts of those who have experienced Kundalini.
Part 2: Kundalini and Your Health. This section explores Kundalini from a scientific perspective. It includes contributions from health experts, therapists, scientists, and researchers.
Part 3: Kundalini At Large. This section explores Kundalini from a historical, philosopical, and cultural context.
Part 4: Kundalini In Motion. This section contains contributions and musings from Yogis.

This book is an illuminating read for the uninitiated. It will serve as a very good springboard for those who are considering embarking on the quest to awaken their Kundalini. For those looking for a practical how-to approach to Kundalini, I would recommend Kundalini Awakening: A Gentle Guide to Chakra Activation and Spiritual Growth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twenty-four essays concerning "kundalini", the power to spur one's spiritual evolution and fully awaken consciousness, October 14, 2009
This review is from: Kundalini Rising: Exploring the Energy of Awakening (Paperback)
Kundalini Rising: Exploring the Energy of Awakening is a selection of twenty-four essays concerning "kundalini", the power to spur one's spiritual evolution and fully awaken consciousness. Topics range from personal testimonies to yogic practices, modern brain research, examinations of kundalini throughout history, and more, Kundalini Rising touches on a wide range of aspects and is an excellent tool for spiritual readers of all backgrounds to educate themselves and promote inner growth. "The Life Review showed me a dance that pulls us back and forth between light and dark, good and evil, neediness and extension. It's this dance that leads us to waking up so we have choices in all our relationships: with ourselves, with others (including our community and this planet), and with the God of our understanding. As we wake up, we seem to move along a healing continuum toward Unity consciousness."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spiritual Awakening, August 23, 2009
This review is from: Kundalini Rising: Exploring the Energy of Awakening (Paperback)
A powerful collection of essays on different aspects of the kundalini experience. Especially compelling is the essay written by Lawrence Edwards, PHD. His wisdom is grounded in both direct experience as well as in the knowledge of Jungian archetypal psychology, Eastern and Western mysticism and mythology. Edwards shares his profound and inspiring experience with Kundalini, during which he encountered Maha Kali.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars read it!, April 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kundalini Rising: Exploring the Energy of Awakening (Paperback)
This book is wordy, but worth it! very insightful and detailed information about kundalinin awakening! great minds in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to know!, November 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kundalini Rising (Kindle Edition)
This book is a great book on the subject of Kundalini. I had an experience of Kundalini , not knowing what it really was. I searched Amazon and eventually settled on this book. I was not disappointed, I couldn't put it down. I think it covers just about every aspect you would need to know. The book is a contribution by various and interesting people who are for the most part extremely knowledgable on the topic. I loved reading each authors different views and contributions, it was incredibly interesting and well written. I thank them all for making this available and sharing with readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars informative collective experiences , that seem helpful in understanding this system of technology, from personal experiences., August 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kundalini Rising: Exploring the Energy of Awakening (Paperback)
The group of souls that choose this path, are interesting characters to study, and share the expansive experiences that can be accessed in the human experience. There are many practicing yogis in the world but not many practicing Kundalini Yogis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book on a not well known topic, May 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kundalini Rising: Exploring the Energy of Awakening (Paperback)
This was a very interesting book on a subject that hasn't been written about much, the nice thing it used several peoples experiences with this subject to gain insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much information in one book !, April 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kundalini Rising (Kindle Edition)
This book covered the topic of Kundalini from a variety of perspectives. Good for both novice to Kundalini ,as well as those with more background. No book has all the answers, However this book gives much to consider and think about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, January 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great book for yoga practitioners craving to know more about kundalini. Easy to read, we'll organized book of essays on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Suzie Housley, Midwest Book Review, June 8, 2010
By 
Suzie Housley (Oak Ridge, Tn United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kundalini Rising: Exploring the Energy of Awakening (Paperback)
For centuries Kundalini has been a sacred state in which its existence has been closely guarded. Its theory revolves around the ultimate form of energy source of the highest spiritual awakening.

Through Kundalini Rising you will discover and in-depth look of the true meaning of Kundalini and how it has the power to change your life.

This one is divided into four different sections. Part one is entitled The Experience; this is where you are able to read actual events of people who have experienced Kundalini and all its majestic wonders. Part two is Kundalini and your Health it is essays from medical practitioners who show how Kundalini provides health benefits. The third part is called Kundalini at Large it shows how Kundalini has evolved throughout history. The last section is Kundalini in Motion it discusses how Kundalini has been incorporated into meditation and yoga.

In all there are twenty six essays that allow the reader to fully understand Kundalini and how it has the power to change one's life.

Kundalini Rising: Exploring the Energy of Awakening provides a comprehensive look at a spiritual energy that has existed for centuries. I felt that I gained not only knowledge for a deeper appreciation for all the greatness Kundalini has to offer once I finished this book. Gurmukh Kaur Khalsa is a highly talented author who has brought to light one of life's greatest mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Kundalini Rising: Exploring the Energy of Awakening
Kundalini Rising: Exploring the Energy of Awakening by Gurucharan Singh Khalsa (Paperback - Sept. 2009)
$19.95 $12.74
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.