Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return of the Master
Alas.....he has returned. Carradine is great. Only he could fill this leading role. The script is clear and intelligent, story line is captivating, camera work is professional, the acting is superb and the martial arts is serious as well as entertaining. And, there are tidbits of historical relevance of the time period. In a modern world of color belts and...
Published on January 16, 2009 by Vince "Gaku"

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Killing Blow: a Good Effort by the Late, Great Carradine
As one of David Carradine's last few films to gain wide release prior to his death, it was with some reserve that I - an uninitiated fan to the "Kung Fu" hero's work - put the DVD into my player and gave it a watch, well aware that this was a TV production (although you have to admit that, for a moment, the cover looked like a Dragon Dynasty release). One day later, I'm...
Published on June 26, 2009 by Mike Sehorn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Killing Blow: a Good Effort by the Late, Great Carradine, June 26, 2009
This review is from: Kung Fu Killer (DVD)
As one of David Carradine's last few films to gain wide release prior to his death, it was with some reserve that I - an uninitiated fan to the "Kung Fu" hero's work - put the DVD into my player and gave it a watch, well aware that this was a TV production (although you have to admit that, for a moment, the cover looked like a Dragon Dynasty release). One day later, I'm still not sure how much I like the movie, but I can say with certainty that even at age 72 and on a limited budget, Carradine was capable of giving the likes of Steven Seagal and Jean-Claude Van Damme a run for their money.

The story: set in the mid `30s, White Crane (Carradine, Kill Bill - Volume Two) is a caucasian master at a Wudang martial arts school that's attacked by the forces of the ruthless underground gangster/warlord Khan (Kay Tong Lim, Dragon: The Bruce Lee Story). Left for dead, Crane barely escapes with his life but vows revenge -submerging himself into the Shanghai crime scene in search of Khan. On his quest, he's aided by one of Khan's disillusioned lieutenants (James Taenaka) and an American cabaret songstress (Daryl Hannah, Splash, "Kill Bill") searching for her kidnapped brother.

I don't have nearly enough experience in wuxia cinema to be specific, but without a doubt, there is plenty of inspiration and nods to the golden age of kung fu films, particularly in story structure, motifs, and the insane level of violence. Indeed, if nothing else, "Kung Fu Killer" lives up to its title for the sheer amount of agony Carradine causes: within the first three minutes of the movie, he's snapped plenty of arms, lopped off many a limb, and even punched a man so hard in the chest that his spine is pushed out of his back (!). By all means, this film pushes the boundaries of television and is certainly not for the squeamish for all of the visceral carnage it has to offer, presented via six fights throughout the movie. With that being said, the hand-to-hand battles really are a mixed bag: though commendable for his minimal use of a stunt double, Carradine looks rather slow on more than one occasion, and despite the liberal bloodletting, only about half of his fights are actually good, with the lazy swordfight of the finale being the definite lowpoint. Luckily, "Killer" introduces us to a budding talent in Osric Chau, a 22-year-old student of Crane's whose three fast-paced, technical fights steal the show.

When the action dies down, the movie goes into noir mode, with Carradine walking the sin-ridden streets of Shanghai in a suit and top hat, sniffing out betrayals feigning allegiances to get closer to his target. Director Philip Spink (Voyage of the Unicorn) does a darn fine job of presenting the interracially tense atmosphere of coastal China at the time, and for the most part, the cast holds up decently; I thought that Darryl Hannah's role could've been cast better but her singing kind of pulls its own weight, while Carradine lisps his way through his role but is nonetheless redeemed by his commanding screen presence - quite the equal to that of the title character in "Kill Bill" (contrary to the IMDb entry, however, he does not play the flute in this film). On a low note, I thought the film had some problems with pacing: though running at a standard 93 minutes, I felt that the story should've been given more time to build and the characters more room to expand, so the final battle would feel a bit less anticlimactic.

As a side note, the great Pei-Pei Cheng (Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon) makes a cameo early on in the film - perhaps putting a bit of an exclamation point on how above-average the film has managed to be. While I'm still not a huge fan of the flick, its quality is more than apparent; while I have a feeling that newcomers to the late Carradine's work should start somewhere else, I don't think too many established fans will want to be without this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return of the Master, January 16, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu Killer (DVD)
Alas.....he has returned. Carradine is great. Only he could fill this leading role. The script is clear and intelligent, story line is captivating, camera work is professional, the acting is superb and the martial arts is serious as well as entertaining. And, there are tidbits of historical relevance of the time period. In a modern world of color belts and multi-colored-patched uniforms, televised caged fighting and publicized 10th degree self promotions, this production is refreshing. In Gassho,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, March 22, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu Killer (DVD)
I really liked the fighting and killing in this movie. I would recommend to anyone that likes stories of revenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REQUIEM FOR ANOTHER MOVIE MAVERICK , MY PROMISED REVIEW EDIT, February 12, 2014
By 
Roy Clark "rclarknv" (Edge of Toiyabe Nat'l Forest, NV) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu Killer (DVD)
KUNG FU KILLER was one of a dozen or dozens of movies in (mostly) post production when he was found murdered
in Bangkok. The US State Department soon after issued a tourist advisory to keep out of Thailand; notably Bangkok.

This film is mixed bag of anachronisms, typical martial arts mayhem and ersatz Chinese culture, nasty warlord, twisted Shaolin monk mysteries and myths mixed with
lightning-fast martial arts. The spiritual beliefs/aspects in TV's KUNG FU, which this film could have been either inspiration or a rationalization for the blood-letting.

Oh, even a sexy singer played by Daryl Hannah.
She sang pretty good, as good as she looked.

The Shanghai location of KFK is ironic, to say the least. especially Kane on a boldly revenge rampage. The film is rife with ludicrous social and historical inaccuracies.
The only real saving grace of KFK is Carradine's stoic, spiritual monuments. He was a victim of the product's script, direction and apparently, budget restrictions.

If one can see the humor of the juxtapositions and inaccuracies, it can add a star or two, and the over-all action is pure adrenalin. I'll add three stars for Carradine's
maybe anguished 'the show must go on' presence with the frequent corn, cliches and creative gaffs. It must have been quite a come down from KILL BILL, the TV series
and his so unorthodox career and personal life. It was amazing the grace and drama of his martial arts skills came from his earlier career as a dancer. Just as 'Duncan
McCloud of the Clan McCloud, AKA The Highlander.

I'm keep my KFK DVD has a homage to him. Too bad he hadn't had better scripts and directors like another movie great who just passed on, Peter O'Toole.
Among other off-beat stars I have many of their best films, mostly to enjoy his performances. And at times, eccentric off-screen life. Edit fulfilled. Carradine
still shines.

. . . But complaints that KUNG FU KILLER depicts an older Kane, leading to under five stars (but not many less) is sad. Objections KFK didn't involve Kane wandering from his temple/monastery worse. It was distilled out of his TV adventures seeped in 'Ah, Grasshopper lines', sage wisdom and into a semi-modern parody frenetic Shanghai. Young guy, senior man. His bad-guy KILL BILL triumphs came before this in his rich and often raunchy career. Carradine always was his own man and so took roles at his often bizarre fancy. A maverick of mavericks. It must've been painful to be covered with blood in so many revenge scenes. He'd even been a San Francisco hippy. Overall, he had some great parts.

His career was a real roller-coaster ride. As were his movies. Most always entertaining, the independent and smart
Kane characters were perfect for him, and he for the characters. I really look forward to seeing KFK
to see if his peculiar brilliance still shines...

As soon as the DVD arrives (ordered on 11th, today's the 12th) I'll come back to
edit this high hopes review... (probably will say, 'yeah, 5 star for sure') rc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cool movie!!!, March 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu Killer (DVD)
Interesting movie; very violent though! I did not see any space for extras on the dvd menu. As a martial arts I found the techniques in the fight scenes quite interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where is part two???, December 2, 2009
By 
This review is from: Kung Fu Killer (DVD)
This movie is awesome. It's a shame Carradine is no longer with us to make more great movies like this. Take Bill and Qwai Chang put them together, you get this. Now we need part two of the story. Why has it not been released on DVD yet??? RIP David
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An action packed martial arts movie with a good story line., March 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu Killer (DVD)
This interesting (Kung Fu Killer) and action packed DVD stars the late David Carradine and Daryl Hannah, who looks older in this film, but is still a very beautiful woman. I have always been a fan of David Carradine and used to watch his old Kung Fun T.V series and also loved the movie Circle of Iron; however I did not realize he made several other martial arts films.

This film takes place in China in 1929 and begins with a scene inside a Wudang monks training temple, where the vicious criminals kill numerous monks including the chief instructor who was White Crane's teacher. When White Crane's (Carradine) Kung-Fu teacher is killed by ruthless drug lords he becomes determined to seek justice and joins forces Daryl Hannah who is a cabaret singer in a gangster's club.

If you are looking for some great acting this film is not for you, but if you enjoy lots of martial arts action you may want to check out this DVD. I found it to be entertaining.

Rating: 4 Stars. Joseph J. Truncale (Author: The Samurai Soul: An old warrior's poetic tribute).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't measure up to the first 3 seasons, February 20, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu Killer (DVD)
I have the first 3 seasons and felt this is a low grade imitation. Even the episodes with Chang's son were better but the DVD isn't out yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT CARRADINE`S BEST, July 9, 2009
By 
L. Carrara (morelia, mich., MEXICO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu Killer (DVD)
If you like martial arts and David Carradine, this is a good movie, but it`s not one of Carradine`s best. Unlike the Kung Fu t.v. series (both of them), The Silent Flute or even Son of the Dragon, this movie is a little "dark", definately blood spurtingly violent and lacks the spiritual/philosophical link to the martial arts that we associate with Carradine. Still, it IS Carradine, and that makes it worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Carradine, February 24, 2009
By 
AHALOW (Dallas, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kung Fu Killer (DVD)
Kung Fu Killer is a very entertaining and well done action movie staring David Carradine and others too numerous to mention. The plots are familiar for these martial arts thrillers. Nice job !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Kung Fu Killer
Kung Fu Killer by Philip Spink (DVD - 2009)
$14.93 $11.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.