Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Luxury Beauty Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals Black Friday Video Game Deals Outdoor Deals on DOTD

Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$3.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

77 of 85 people found the following review helpful
on December 26, 2009
While I understand that there is a market for this book for Vonnegut completists, it is available at Project Gutenberg for free for those who just want to read it. here is a link, if Amazon doesn't publish the link just Google Project Gutenberg and search for Vonnegut on that site, it'll come right up.

33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
on January 7, 2010
If you are a fan of Vonnegut's work, 2BR02B is a quick read that reminds me of an old "Outer Limits" or "Twilight Zone" episode. This short story is a small sample of Vonnegut's quick-witted cynicism in conjunction with his signature macabre comedic feel. I give the book a rating of 3 stars due to the length of the book and the fact that some of his more well known books are frankly better than this in comparison. Overall, if you want a small sample of Vonnegut's work or are a big fan that would like to add another story to your collection, order it up.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon November 9, 2009
Kurt Vonnegut, Jr., who's mostly known for his irreverent fiction, wrote a number of science fiction novels and stories in his early years (though some of his later fiction borders on science fiction as well).

The short story 2BR02B was originally published in 1962 in the magazine Worlds of If and never published anywhere since. Now it is available in an inexpensive paperback edition that is simple, but nicely done.

In the not so near future, long after humanity has recovered from 20+ billion people on the planet, disease and aging have been conquered and the people of the planet live in harmony with it and each other. And, now that the population of the United States has stabilized at 40 million souls, all living as long as they want, having a child requires for someone to voluntarily end their life at the Federal Bureau of Termination.

But, what is a father to do if his wife is now scheduled to have triplets?!?

2BR02B is a simple tale of a Utopian future where not everyone is perfectly satisfied.


A Guide to my Book Rating System:

1 star = The wood pulp would have been better utilized as toilet paper.
2 stars = Don't bother, clean your bathroom instead.
3 stars = Wasn't a waste of time, but it was time wasted.
4 stars = Good book, but not life altering.
5 stars = This book changed my world in at least some small way.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on May 24, 2010
I love Kurt Vonnegut and this story didn't disappoint me. But paying a "book" price for what should have been a chapter in a book did upset me! Somehow I don't think Kurt would think this was a good way to make money.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon April 15, 2011
I bought this for two reasons - 1) I love Vonnegut and 2) at that price even if I didn't like it, at least I didn't spend much. Well you know what? It was still a ripoff. I spent 2 dollars and change for 17 pages of text... text that was available online for free, there are more blank pages in this book than there are pages with writing on them. I am highly disappointed.

As far as the short story itself... it's not one of his better works, it's about a world where there is no more death or aging and the effect that has on people. It's very short and belonged in a larger collection rather than a few folded in half pieces of paper labeled a "book."
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2012
This review is about the product not the story.

The story is a short dark shocking take on a (not-so?) brave new world. The title is a phone number as well as a play on Hamlet's soliloquy. No further spoilers. Read it, its free and it's short. It meets Vonnegut's stated rules for short story writing and then some.

This story is available free both at Project Gutenberg and as a PD $0.00 kindle version from Amazon. This product offering seems to be exploiting one of the few Vonnegut works that has to have slipped into public domain. It is a poor value for such a slim item at $2.99 when the two main collections are surely a better deal, or free if one really just wants the one story. Perhaps it has a purpose in life as a stocking stuffer.

There is no question of an item for "Vonnegut Completists" involved here. A Vonnegut completist will already have "Welcome to the Monkey House", and "Bagombo Snuff Box" (which includeds "2BR02B") that between them cover almost all of Vonnegut's published short story career.

The odd story is "The Big Space ****"(1). Written for Harlan Ellison's "Again, Dangerous Visions" (also found in the collection "Cybersex"), it is safely, if unobtrusively, tucked away in the Obscenity section of Vonnegut's "Palm Sunday", not a pure fiction collection but it is all-Vonnegut. Add to that the recent posthumous short fiction releases such as While Mortals Sleep, Look at the Birdie, and Armageddon in Retrospect you will have the short fiction well covered.

A determined completist will also invest in "Canary in a Cat House", the first collection from the early sixties which is completely redundant next to the two major collections above except for the original version of "Hal Irwin's Magic Lamp". Vonnegut re-wrote three of the stories in "Bagombo Snuff Box" describing the results as "Piltdown fakes, part human and part the orangutan I used to be". The truly determined completist will have to excavate the other two originals from a magazine archive it seems. The present state of "Hal Irwin's Magic Lamp" certainly provokes my curiosity.

Then, of course, there are the several essay and autobiographical books.
(1) **** is the usual f-word which even my earlier rendering with dashes for the middle two letters was too much for the Amazon review filter, notwithstanding that the title with all the words spelled out completely is a well known work in print.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2013
I've been reading Vonnegut since he was at the Un. of Iowa in the 60's and when I saw this title available I assumed it was s novel he had written before his death and was just now being published. $10 for a very short story is the height of a publisher making money off a celebrated author after their death. Ridiculous. Don't waste your money.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2013
Leave it to Vonnegut to cut right to the chase on the issue of overpopulation, and assisted suicide.

You choice, live forever and have no children and joy, or die to give someone a chance to be born in a controlled society... which one will u choose.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2013
The cover is very thin, as a paperback. The design on the front is surprisingly beautiful. It's no more than 15 pages as a short story but so moving, I had to own it.

I suggest buying as long as you expect it to be kind of pamphlet-like.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2013
This was actually a believable story. Fascinating, chilling, curious. I originally got the Kindle version which wasn't as beautiful as the book , but the book was for a gift , otherwise not worth the money for such a tiny book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Welcome to the Monkey House: Stories
Welcome to the Monkey House: Stories by Kurt Vonnegut (Paperback - September 8, 1998)

A Man Without a Country
A Man Without a Country by Kurt Vonnegut (Paperback - January 16, 2007)

The Big Trip Up Yonder
The Big Trip Up Yonder by Kurt Vonnegut (Paperback - December 10, 2009)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.