Customer Reviews


163 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


181 of 188 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb-riamos!
This wand operates on 2 AAA batteries, which are included.

BUILD QUALITY
The whole thing is made of plastic. Kind of disappointing for an item that costs almost a Benjamin. The quality of the plastic is mediocre. It's definitely not the same quality of solid plastic you'd find on a DSLR. The metal end of the wand where the batteries are inserted is not...
Published on January 2, 2011 by NeoEngineer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fun idea, doesn't work
Got two of these and neither one really worked. First one was completely defective. Second one worked a little but not enough to actually use it to control the TV. It was a quirky gift for my Dad who's is a real gadget guy and even he couldn't have fun messing around with it
Published 8 months ago by Lauren


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

181 of 188 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb-riamos!, January 2, 2011
This review is from: Kymera Magic Wand Remote Control - Universal Gesture Based Remote Control by the Wand Company (Accessory)
This wand operates on 2 AAA batteries, which are included.

BUILD QUALITY
The whole thing is made of plastic. Kind of disappointing for an item that costs almost a Benjamin. The quality of the plastic is mediocre. It's definitely not the same quality of solid plastic you'd find on a DSLR. The metal end of the wand where the batteries are inserted is not metal, just metal plated plastic. That part is the cheapest feeling part of the wand. There's also a green, plastic gem-like accent, which cheapens the overall look/feel of the wand rather than enhance it. They could've at least used a real metal end cap with a glass accent gem. The end cap is a bit difficult to screw on and off the wand.

LOOKS
Overall, the wand looks really similar to its pictures on the web. However, the metal end piece looks cheaper in real life. It does come with a really nice sheet of instructions, definitely several grades up from the cheap instructions that come from Ikea products.

OPERATION
This wand is able to learn 13 functions. 11 of them are fairly easy to master. However, there are 2 gestures that are almost impossible to execute. Here's a list of all the gestures, listed in order from easiest to impossible to do:

- Big swish
- Flick up
- Flick down
- Flick left
- Flick right
- Tap on top
- Double-tap on top
- Rotate clockwise (do it slowly)
- Rotate counter-clockwise (do it slowly)
- Push forward
- Pull back
* Tap on side (never works)
* Double-tap on side (never works)

The wands gives you feedback by vibrating. It vibrates different numbers of times to return different types of feedback confirmations. It would've been SO MUCH COOLER if the tip of the wand glowed (like in the movie) to show feedback.

SUMMARY
This wand looks decent and works fairly well. It's definitely fun to use and your friends will all want to attend Hogwarts after they watch you cast spells and magically control your tv! However, this product could be so much better, wait for version 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My husband loved it!, November 5, 2010
By 
KN (Mt. Clemens, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kymera Magic Wand Remote Control - Universal Gesture Based Remote Control by the Wand Company (Accessory)
Purchased this "magic wand" for my husband, a huge Harry Potter fan and a remote control addict. He loved it and immediately began to teach the wand various commands. I find it a little hard to get used to, thus the slightly lower rating on ease of operation. He finds it all kinds of fun and can't wait to show it off to our friends and guests. Delivery from the supplier was on time and as expected. The wand came in a beautiful box which is used to store and display. I'd recommend this for any magic lover or remote control freak!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worht if for the wow effect alone, September 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kymera Magic Wand Remote Control - Universal Gesture Based Remote Control by the Wand Company (Accessory)
Length:: 0:41 Mins

ok so i paired it with a bunch of remote control led candles hanging in lanterns from my patio ceiling like in the harry potter great hall, thats where i got the idea for useing the wand as a remote control. works great. very good, plus with 13 commands i can also control my stereo and other devices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TV Wizard, December 26, 2010
By 
This review is from: Kymera Magic Wand Remote Control - Universal Gesture Based Remote Control by the Wand Company (Accessory)
This is a great wand for any muggle aspiring to be a witch or wizard. I felt confident, once I held the wand, that it had chosen me due to the friendly vibrations it emanated. Takes a bit of practice to get the gestures right but certainly less effort than 'wingardium leviosa' for a first year student at Hogwarts. There is a very detailed instruction sheet included that is easy to read and understand. If you go to the Kymera website, you can download an ownership certificate and read up on the wand origins and frequently asked questions.

The wand works well and is fairly easy to program. I have successfully programmed buttons from two remotes (Cox cable box and Samsung TV) into the wand. Essentially, you put the wand into program mode, perform the wand gesture to be programmed, point the TV remote at the wand tip and press the desired remote command button. Just follow the included instructions. Here is a roadrunner/HP inspired summary of spells I'm using:

Teknus Initiatus (Tek-nus I-ne-she-'ah-tus); big swish
Teknus Terminatus (Tek-nus Ter-me-'na-tus); big swish
Kabulonicus (Ka-bool-'on-i-cus); push

Volum Incremantus (Vol-oom In-cre-'man-tus); rotate CW
Volum Reductus (Vol-oom Re-'duc-tus); rotate CCW
Chanellus Incremantus (Cha-'nell-us In-cre-'man-tus); flick right
Chanellus Reductus (Cha-'nell-us Re-'duc-tus); flick left

Navagatio (Na-va-'ga-she-o); flick up
Selecto (Se-'lek-toe); flick down
Increcio (In-'cree-she-o); side taps 1 & 2
Reducio (Re-'doo-she-o); top taps 1 & 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gift, November 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kymera Magic Wand Remote Control - Universal Gesture Based Remote Control by the Wand Company (Accessory)
This was a gift for teenage Harry Potter fan. She loves it!
She has programmed all the electronics in her room and uses this wand to control them.
Her friends are impressed as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dont be mistaken.., April 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kymera Magic Wand Remote Control - Universal Gesture Based Remote Control by the Wand Company (Accessory)
Don't be mistaken, the 3 starts that I gave the wand for ease of operation is not a bad thing, it's a great thing! If you are a true Harry Potter fan than this is the perfect wand for you! It requires true talent and honing of your craft. The wand itself is very sensitive and responds to the perfect casting of spells. You can't just thrust the wand in the general movement and hope that it works, you have to actually learn the gesture and master it. I'm not saying it's impossible to do, it just requires a slight level of practice.

I personally loved it, and so did my brother, whom I got this wand for. We are both huge Harry Potter fans and let me just say that the amount of will it took me to not open the gift before I actually gave it to him is to be admired (in my opinion :] ). So if you're looking for something that makes you feel like a true wizard and not just a wannabe, then THIS IS IT. Don't hesitate at the price, it's only a number, you can worry about the financial stuff later. This was the perfect gift and to see the excitement on my (22 year old!) brother's face was absolutely priceless.

In addition to the wand itself, the box that it came was perfect as well. So if you're on the fence about this wand, GET IT. I promise, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so awesome, February 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kymera Magic Wand Remote Control - Universal Gesture Based Remote Control by the Wand Company (Accessory)
This product is for those who are die hard windsurfing fans and a must have. This is so cool how you control anything that requires a remote. I recommend this for both the young and the young at heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MY SON LOVES THIS., January 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kymera Magic Wand Remote Control - Universal Gesture Based Remote Control by the Wand Company (Accessory)
Perfect gift for the hard to gift lot. Something quite magical about this, and who doesn't love magic? Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic device, December 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kymera Magic Wand Remote Control - Universal Gesture Based Remote Control by the Wand Company (Accessory)
The wand seems well made and the commands are easy to do (all of them, even tap on the side, unlike what others have reported). It didn't work 100% for my setup, but it is at no fault of the wand. It won't turn on my Samsung TV (it will turn it off, but for some reason my TV requires a long press to turn it on, no big deal) and it will not learn any command from my Dish Network remote control (because by default it is a RF remote, not an IR remote). However, you CAN make it work with such devices, like I did for my Dish Network receiver, by finding out how to switch my receiver from RF to IR and then my remote control from RF to IR then teach the wand like normal. So it does work 100% as advertised and I have used it on all kinds of devices at both my house and my friends houses and it works great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fun idea, doesn't work, February 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kymera Magic Wand Remote Control - Universal Gesture Based Remote Control by the Wand Company (Accessory)
Got two of these and neither one really worked. First one was completely defective. Second one worked a little but not enough to actually use it to control the TV. It was a quirky gift for my Dad who's is a real gadget guy and even he couldn't have fun messing around with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.