Start reading Kyrie on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available
 

Kyrie [Kindle Edition]

Alan Wade
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: $2.99

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Book Description

Kyrie is the story of a bunch of high school kids in the aftermath of a school shooting, and about how they cope with this disaster that comes to them out of the blue, while also struggling with all the other things kids struggle with, like sex, and drugs, and parents, and school, and their gradually coalescing identities. The protagonist, and narrator, is in the midst of a religious crisis, bouncing between his overwhelming desire to sleep with his very chaste Mormon girlfriend, and his duties as an altar boy, escaping from both with his stoner friends. It builds to a violent and surprising climax involving the narrator's girlfriend and sister, that leaves the narrator religiously and personally beached in a new life.

Product Details

  • File Size: 494 KB
  • Print Length: 153 pages
  • Publisher: Alan Wade (November 9, 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0065LOX06
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,097,560 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
(3)
5.0 out of 5 stars
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Kyrie May 24, 2012
I loved this book. The characters are intense and well rounded. The plot is intriguing and moves along at a quick pace. It is Wade's portrayal of his teen-aged characters' lives and the trauma they endure that most impressed me. This book is both gut-wrenching and tender. I could not get this story out of my head for days. It is a wonderful read and highly recommended.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Kyrie is a searing portrait of adolescent angst. A high-school senior struggles to endure and understand the trauma of witnessing a Columbine-like rampage at his school. The world of author Alan Wade's protagonist has turned upside down and he has no idea what to make of it. He is obsessed with the sex he's not having with his Mormon girlfriend, tormented by flashbacks and survivor's guilt, bewildered by the religion that has previously comforted him, and momentarily relieved by the company of his stoner friends. It all comes to a head in a harrowing climax that left me reeling for days after. Very much in the tradition of Catcher in the Rye and A Separate Peace, Kyrie is young adult fiction that is too good not to be read by everyone.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book! November 21, 2011
Verified Purchase
Kyrie is a very moving, and surprisingly funny, evocation of what it is to be a teenager and to deal with a large public tragedy at the same time as one is dealing with all the smaller challenges that make being that age so difficult, like sex, and religion, and drugs, and parents and teachers, and how one should shape one's evolving personality. The narrator, Dave, is a wry observer of his friends and of his own weaknesses, and an entertaining companion as he leads us through the events of this book, from the shooting that starts it off to the unexpected act of sacrifice that makes up the book's climax. This reminded me in different ways of A Separate Peace, and Catcher in the Rye, and also of how, in the aftermath of 9/11, we all went around saying that everything had changed, though mostly we had no idea how.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category