Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book About Leadership By A Proven and Successful Leader - A Good Read!, March 17, 2012
By 
I'm a firm believer in the concept that when you want to gain wisdom about a certain topic or issue or learn principles to govern your life by in a certain area, you go to someone who is an expert and leader in that area...someone who has the proven life experience in that area to teach and lead you. And when it comes to leadership, Pat Williams, Senior Vice President of the NBA's Orlando Magic, author of 75 books, motivational speaker and a father of 19 children, (that's right 19 children), is truly an expert and leader.

Author William's book is a must read book for anyone who aspires to be a leader or is already a leader as both will gain invaluable insights from reading this book. Author William's book is by far one of the best books on leadership that has ever been written. There are other excellent ones out there, but his book is definitely one that is at the top of the list.

In his book author Williams writes about seven important "Sides" of leadership that are essential for anyone to be an effective leader. The seven sides of leadership he writes about in his book are: "Vision," "Communications," "People Skills," "Character," "Competence," "Boldness," "A Serving Heart" and he concludes his book with an Epilogue titled, "A Leader Who Has It All," the incredible story of someone you probably have never heard of but should have, John Croyle.

Author Williams shares from the wealth of his own personal experience as well as from the experiences of other recognized leaders in our world including Sam Walton, the founder of Wal-Mart; President Ronald Reagan, Robert F. Kennedy, Lee Iacocca, Philip Yancey and many others to inform us what real effective leadership in the realm of the seven sides of leadership is all about. In this book that you get an up close and personal glimpse from the life of the author as well as from the lives of the leaders he refers to in his book as to what a real leader looks like...how a real leader thinks communicates and acts.

In his book there is one clear resounding message when it comes to leadership in all seven sides of leadership and that is that a real leader leads by example. Author Williams believes and writes passionately about the fact that a true leader leads with a servants heart and by example...that the most successful companies and organizations in our world today are led by leaders who model what a servant leader really is. And successful leadership starts at the top and then works its way down through the ranks of the employees of the entire company or organization. In short, an effective leader talks the walk and walks the walk themselves and as they do this, then the people they lead will follow them. And it needs to be noted that as goes the leader...so goes the company or organization.

If you are currently a leader in your field or have the desire to be one, you must read Pat Williams book. And the good news is you will enjoy reading it. It is not a boring book. It is quite the opposite actually...it is a book that is full of life and life lessons from real people who either have done leadership well or are doing it well now. I think you will find author Williams's book to be not only a life-changing read but a thoroughly easy and enjoyable read as well. So, my advice to you oh leader of some company or organization - GET THE BOOK and read it. I am certain that you will be glad you did.

I received a complementary copy of the book Leadership Excellence by Pat Williams From Barbour Publishing Company for reviewing It.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most helpful book I've read (besides the Bible), April 24, 2012
This review is from: LEADERSHIP EXCELLENCE (Hardcover)
Pat William's Leadership Excellence is a great motivational tool. He shares experiences, anecdotes, insight, and his faith. He has written many books. This is the first book I've read of his and I'll be sure to read some of his others. He's successful but very humble. I highlighted over 40% of the book because I felt like that is how important the information was.

Great book.. I'd recommend to anyone in sports, business, military, or anyone who just wanted to be a better leader/person. He uses many different scenarios and stories to connect with his readers.

Very helpful book.

Thanks Pat.

JS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 7 sides to Leadership---from a LEADER, February 21, 2012
This review is from: LEADERSHIP EXCELLENCE (Hardcover)
How long has it been since you have told a person great job on the job site? How long has it been since you took the time to tell the person why you think they did a great job on the job site? How long has it been since you just walked outside of your office, classroom, building just to meet and greet your fellow workers, staff? Has it been that long?--This book, these lessons, these tools, these captions in this remarkable work will help guide you on what you need to set the standard for being a leader at any level--If you are a janitor,it will work for you. A parking attendent it will work for you. Movie ticket taker, it will work for you...The 7 sides to leadership work well hand in hand,it gives us a guide to help establish a means to being an effective leader...when I mean leader I mean a coach, teacher, fireman, boy scout leader, girl scout leader, the parent who drives their kids to 5 soccer games on Saturday and Sunday...this book will fit into the hands of all who are looking at growing their skills of communication, servanthood, management by walking around and so on... What I found intresting about this book, was that Pat Williams was intrested in sharing stories of what other people did to become leaders, he sharred what people see in public and what people hear behind closed doors. I feel the author put his heart and soul into this book, for Pat has been a leader for over 50 years--baseball, army, basketball, church, father of 19, author of over 60 books. Pat is 70 years old, and he still is striving to be better, working hard at sharing his knowledge, sharing his wisdom with us...Leadership Excellence is a must read--pick it up and grow....today....it will only help you grow your future into a better place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leadership is a 3-Legged Stool: To View, to Prepare, and to Step Up, February 13, 2012
This review is from: LEADERSHIP EXCELLENCE (Hardcover)
This is a treasure of leadership teachings, tips, techniques, and tales about how leaders excel in the 21st Century. Written by a person who learns leadership through his parents, and through the school of hard knocks, Williams shares generously his insights over the years. For the author, leadership is a three-legged stool: viewing onself as a leader, preparing to be a leader, and stepping up to be a leader. As a sports management consultant, an experienced leader in the Disney organization, and now a leadership guru, Williams draws on his experience and learnings from 700 other leadership books to give us a concise book on seven important sides of leadership. An outstanding leader will have or aim to have: vision, communication, people skills, competence, character, boldness, and a serving heart.

This book is a great collection cum reference book on many things on leadership. I like the many different anecdotes and wisdom from the different books and leaders Williams have learned from. The book is systematic in its presentation of the leadership traits. It is backed up with stories and multiple references to other leadership literature. It teaches. It motivates. It inspires. This is what leadership is all about. Williams has done a great service for all of us keen to learn and to practise leadership.

I strongly recommend this book to be read by all leaders, past, present and future. The old will nod their heads. The young will be wowed. For the rest, they will be actively challenged to pursue after leadership challenge. Great book!

Ratings: 5 stars of 5.

This book is provided to me free by Barbour Publishing and NetGalley without any obligation for a positive review. All opinions furnished above are mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful lessons in leadership, February 2, 2012
This review is from: LEADERSHIP EXCELLENCE (Hardcover)
"Leadership Excellence" is a treasure trove leadership insight. The writing is exceptional and the stories are powerful. Whether you have been leading for awhile or just getting your feet wet, you will find "Leadership Excellence" a rich source of guidance and inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an awesome book, January 5, 2013
By 
This review is from: LEADERSHIP EXCELLENCE (Hardcover)
I can't think of the last time I couldn't wait to get back to reading a book. This is certainly one of those books that you don't want to put down. I've highlighted something in every chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Leadership Excellence by Pat Williams, July 26, 2012
This review is from: LEADERSHIP EXCELLENCE (Hardcover)
I love reading great books on leadership. And Pat Williams', Leadership Excellence, did not disappoint.

In Leadership Excellence, Pat Williams describes the 7 sides of leadership - Vision, Communication, People Skills, Character, Competence, Boldness, and a Serving heart - that make leaders into great leaders.

I enjoyed how Pat fused stories of great leaders past and present across the spectrum of American life, i.e. politics, religion, sports, military, and business, and used each story to expanded on the 7 sides of leadership.

I've read many leadership books that highlight leaders usually in the business arena. But Leadership Excellence made it clear that great Leaders are in every area of life, not just in business.

The epilogue was especially profound. Pat Williams profiles the life of John Croyle, founder of Big Oak's Boy Ranch, and how John exemplifies all 7 sides of leadership. Pat could've have profiled a great business leader, but chose to profile John Croyle, a great leader, whose passion is to serve others, not just himself.

The book challenged me personally to take a look at how I exemplify the 7 sides of leadership, and not just emulate some of the great leaders discussed in the book, but to also find my style and voice in each of the sides.

Leadership Excellence was an attention grabber and holder. I read one of the sides of leadership a day for 7 straight days. I wanted to digest the information and really think how I could improve in my own life the 7 sides of leadership.

This book ranks on top of my list with some of the many other books I've read on leadership from well known authors and experts on leadership.

I recommend this book to aspiring leaders, and current leaders that want to make the leap from being good leaders to becoming great leaders.

Pat, thank you for your "Leadership Excellence"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to lead, learn from the best! Mr. Pat Williams, July 9, 2012
This review is from: LEADERSHIP EXCELLENCE (Hardcover)
Mr. Pat Williams is an American treasure who walks the walk, talks the talk, and loves all, he truly is an inspiration.

Pat's logic, willingness to share his massive library condenses what many great leaders have shared. His library of over 7,000 books, many on leadership prove that his depth of knowledge is just impeccable. I cannot say much more except that this is a simply great read.

Thanks Pat for such quality work, you are truly a boomer who rocks!

Tom "Trainer T" Matt
Host-
"Boomers Rock" radio
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Leadership Treasures - Personal Thanks to Pat Williams, March 14, 2012
This review is from: LEADERSHIP EXCELLENCE (Hardcover)
Thank you seven billion times for your powerful book on Leadership. My heart leapt as I read about your family
and the impact your parents had on improving the lives of children with special needs. The strength, wisdom, and
fortitude of your mother rekindled the passion for my vision that has lain dormant since my husband's death in 2009.
The epilogue was brilliant. John Croyle embodied all seven sides of leadership in a compelling way. Unforgettable.
As always, your book was timely, well researched, and well written. I can't count how many of your books I've read
and given as gifts throughout the years. You have led by example and exemplified the essence of leadership excellence -
a man of substance: the Babe Ruth of vision and communication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, December 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEADERSHIP EXCELLENCE (Hardcover)
After hearing about this book on ESPN radio, I quickly looked it up and had to purchase it. My wife took it before I could finish, and we both agree that it was a wonderful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

LEADERSHIP EXCELLENCE
LEADERSHIP EXCELLENCE by Pat Williams (Paperback - March 1, 2013)
$12.99 $7.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.