Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 17, 2012
I'm a firm believer in the concept that when you want to gain wisdom about a certain topic or issue or learn principles to govern your life by in a certain area, you go to someone who is an expert and leader in that area...someone who has the proven life experience in that area to teach and lead you. And when it comes to leadership, Pat Williams, Senior Vice President of the NBA's Orlando Magic, author of 75 books, motivational speaker and a father of 19 children, (that's right 19 children), is truly an expert and leader.

Author William's book is a must read book for anyone who aspires to be a leader or is already a leader as both will gain invaluable insights from reading this book. Author William's book is by far one of the best books on leadership that has ever been written. There are other excellent ones out there, but his book is definitely one that is at the top of the list.

In his book author Williams writes about seven important "Sides" of leadership that are essential for anyone to be an effective leader. The seven sides of leadership he writes about in his book are: "Vision," "Communications," "People Skills," "Character," "Competence," "Boldness," "A Serving Heart" and he concludes his book with an Epilogue titled, "A Leader Who Has It All," the incredible story of someone you probably have never heard of but should have, John Croyle.

Author Williams shares from the wealth of his own personal experience as well as from the experiences of other recognized leaders in our world including Sam Walton, the founder of Wal-Mart; President Ronald Reagan, Robert F. Kennedy, Lee Iacocca, Philip Yancey and many others to inform us what real effective leadership in the realm of the seven sides of leadership is all about. In this book that you get an up close and personal glimpse from the life of the author as well as from the lives of the leaders he refers to in his book as to what a real leader looks like...how a real leader thinks communicates and acts.

In his book there is one clear resounding message when it comes to leadership in all seven sides of leadership and that is that a real leader leads by example. Author Williams believes and writes passionately about the fact that a true leader leads with a servants heart and by example...that the most successful companies and organizations in our world today are led by leaders who model what a servant leader really is. And successful leadership starts at the top and then works its way down through the ranks of the employees of the entire company or organization. In short, an effective leader talks the walk and walks the walk themselves and as they do this, then the people they lead will follow them. And it needs to be noted that as goes the leader...so goes the company or organization.

If you are currently a leader in your field or have the desire to be one, you must read Pat Williams book. And the good news is you will enjoy reading it. It is not a boring book. It is quite the opposite actually...it is a book that is full of life and life lessons from real people who either have done leadership well or are doing it well now. I think you will find author Williams's book to be not only a life-changing read but a thoroughly easy and enjoyable read as well. So, my advice to you oh leader of some company or organization - GET THE BOOK and read it. I am certain that you will be glad you did.

I received a complementary copy of the book Leadership Excellence by Pat Williams From Barbour Publishing Company for reviewing It.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2012
How long has it been since you have told a person great job on the job site? How long has it been since you took the time to tell the person why you think they did a great job on the job site? How long has it been since you just walked outside of your office, classroom, building just to meet and greet your fellow workers, staff? Has it been that long?--This book, these lessons, these tools, these captions in this remarkable work will help guide you on what you need to set the standard for being a leader at any level--If you are a janitor,it will work for you. A parking attendent it will work for you. Movie ticket taker, it will work for you...The 7 sides to leadership work well hand in hand,it gives us a guide to help establish a means to being an effective leader...when I mean leader I mean a coach, teacher, fireman, boy scout leader, girl scout leader, the parent who drives their kids to 5 soccer games on Saturday and Sunday...this book will fit into the hands of all who are looking at growing their skills of communication, servanthood, management by walking around and so on... What I found intresting about this book, was that Pat Williams was intrested in sharing stories of what other people did to become leaders, he sharred what people see in public and what people hear behind closed doors. I feel the author put his heart and soul into this book, for Pat has been a leader for over 50 years--baseball, army, basketball, church, father of 19, author of over 60 books. Pat is 70 years old, and he still is striving to be better, working hard at sharing his knowledge, sharing his wisdom with us...Leadership Excellence is a must read--pick it up and grow....today....it will only help you grow your future into a better place.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon February 13, 2012
This is a treasure of leadership teachings, tips, techniques, and tales about how leaders excel in the 21st Century. Written by a person who learns leadership through his parents, and through the school of hard knocks, Williams shares generously his insights over the years. For the author, leadership is a three-legged stool: viewing onself as a leader, preparing to be a leader, and stepping up to be a leader. As a sports management consultant, an experienced leader in the Disney organization, and now a leadership guru, Williams draws on his experience and learnings from 700 other leadership books to give us a concise book on seven important sides of leadership. An outstanding leader will have or aim to have: vision, communication, people skills, competence, character, boldness, and a serving heart.

This book is a great collection cum reference book on many things on leadership. I like the many different anecdotes and wisdom from the different books and leaders Williams have learned from. The book is systematic in its presentation of the leadership traits. It is backed up with stories and multiple references to other leadership literature. It teaches. It motivates. It inspires. This is what leadership is all about. Williams has done a great service for all of us keen to learn and to practise leadership.

I strongly recommend this book to be read by all leaders, past, present and future. The old will nod their heads. The young will be wowed. For the rest, they will be actively challenged to pursue after leadership challenge. Great book!

Ratings: 5 stars of 5.

This book is provided to me free by Barbour Publishing and NetGalley without any obligation for a positive review. All opinions furnished above are mine.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2012
Pat William's Leadership Excellence is a great motivational tool. He shares experiences, anecdotes, insight, and his faith. He has written many books. This is the first book I've read of his and I'll be sure to read some of his others. He's successful but very humble. I highlighted over 40% of the book because I felt like that is how important the information was.

Great book.. I'd recommend to anyone in sports, business, military, or anyone who just wanted to be a better leader/person. He uses many different scenarios and stories to connect with his readers.

Very helpful book.

Thanks Pat.

JS
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2015
Mark F. LaMoure, Boise, ID

"LEADERSHIP EXCELLENCE," By Pat Williams is a great, well-written book filled with a big load of practical leadership advice. Whether you are a seasoned or aspiring leader, this book's wisdom will help take your leadership to the next higher level. The book contains a bank of valuable ideas to use to develop excellence. An inspiring book, I rate it 5 Gold Stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2012
I love reading great books on leadership. And Pat Williams', Leadership Excellence, did not disappoint.

In Leadership Excellence, Pat Williams describes the 7 sides of leadership - Vision, Communication, People Skills, Character, Competence, Boldness, and a Serving heart - that make leaders into great leaders.

I enjoyed how Pat fused stories of great leaders past and present across the spectrum of American life, i.e. politics, religion, sports, military, and business, and used each story to expanded on the 7 sides of leadership.

I've read many leadership books that highlight leaders usually in the business arena. But Leadership Excellence made it clear that great Leaders are in every area of life, not just in business.

The epilogue was especially profound. Pat Williams profiles the life of John Croyle, founder of Big Oak's Boy Ranch, and how John exemplifies all 7 sides of leadership. Pat could've have profiled a great business leader, but chose to profile John Croyle, a great leader, whose passion is to serve others, not just himself.

The book challenged me personally to take a look at how I exemplify the 7 sides of leadership, and not just emulate some of the great leaders discussed in the book, but to also find my style and voice in each of the sides.

Leadership Excellence was an attention grabber and holder. I read one of the sides of leadership a day for 7 straight days. I wanted to digest the information and really think how I could improve in my own life the 7 sides of leadership.

This book ranks on top of my list with some of the many other books I've read on leadership from well known authors and experts on leadership.

I recommend this book to aspiring leaders, and current leaders that want to make the leap from being good leaders to becoming great leaders.

Pat, thank you for your "Leadership Excellence"!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2012
"Leadership Excellence" is a treasure trove leadership insight. The writing is exceptional and the stories are powerful. Whether you have been leading for awhile or just getting your feet wet, you will find "Leadership Excellence" a rich source of guidance and inspiration.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Mr. Pat Williams is an American treasure who walks the walk, talks the talk, and loves all, he truly is an inspiration.

Pat's logic, willingness to share his massive library condenses what many great leaders have shared. His library of over 7,000 books, many on leadership prove that his depth of knowledge is just impeccable. I cannot say much more except that this is a simply great read.

Thanks Pat for such quality work, you are truly a boomer who rocks!

Tom "Trainer T" Matt
Host-
"Boomers Rock" radio
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Thank you seven billion times for your powerful book on Leadership. My heart leapt as I read about your family
and the impact your parents had on improving the lives of children with special needs. The strength, wisdom, and
fortitude of your mother rekindled the passion for my vision that has lain dormant since my husband's death in 2009.
The epilogue was brilliant. John Croyle embodied all seven sides of leadership in a compelling way. Unforgettable.
As always, your book was timely, well researched, and well written. I can't count how many of your books I've read
and given as gifts throughout the years. You have led by example and exemplified the essence of leadership excellence -
a man of substance: the Babe Ruth of vision and communication.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2013
Pat Williams does an excellent job dissecting leadership at it's core making recommendations for people who desire to be a leader. Williams crosses both political sides recognizing leadership qualities. Putting Ronald Reagan, Harry Truman, John F. Kennedy and in some examples George W. Bush as some with great leadership qualities shows his only agenda is the topic at hand. Many authors with inflated egos will write only from their head. Pat Williams combines his life experiences as well as doing extensive research on the great leaders in America and the World. His "End Notes" and bibliography verify this. The stories he tells proves that leaders get things done. He cites example after example. One has Mother Teresa influencing Mayor Ed Koch and Governor Mario Cuomo to okay an AIDS treatment center in New York in a matter of a couple of days that normally would have taken months or even years. Leaders have to be sensitive also. One example Williams cites is Ronald Reagan letting a group of blind people touch his face with the condition that the press does not cover this event. Another has a football coach dealing with one of his player's personal issues in a meeting in his office and his secretary calls in that Bob Hope, Spiro Agnew and Roone Arledge are all on the phone holding. The coach, Bobby Bowden tells her that he will call them back. Stories like this and more make you want to change the way you approach everyday of your life.

Williams leaves the best story for last about John Croyle. He was an Alabama football star who saw his life calling and sacrificed an NFL career to help people. You'll have to read the book to capture this incredible story.

Whether you are a leader, a leader in training or even a follower, Leadership Excellence packs a powerful punch! This is highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse