Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting action adventure
This book has almost the feel of the prophetic even though it is a work of fiction. This is because Thomas had woven current realities of the shift from Intrinsic truths by many in the Christian community and extrapolated it into a very possible scenario of a wholesale degeneration of society due to its resultant relativistic nature. This is an action packed...
Published 14 months ago by GregC

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Story - Bad Theology
This would have been great story if the author had called it a "fantasy" and changed the religion from Catholic to some made-up name. I am giving it three stars for the story, but it deserves no stars for the theology and the implication that the Roman Catholic Church has the only people that are really fighting against evil. There were a some good theological...
Published 12 months ago by Santa Walt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting action adventure, August 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEAGUE OF ANGELS (Kindle Edition)
This book has almost the feel of the prophetic even though it is a work of fiction. This is because Thomas had woven current realities of the shift from Intrinsic truths by many in the Christian community and extrapolated it into a very possible scenario of a wholesale degeneration of society due to its resultant relativistic nature. This is an action packed apocalyptic-like story of the battle between good and evil.

This is a well researched story. Many of the rites and rituals of the Catholic church; prayers of exorcism and supplication are described in great detail and written with the feel of a news report.

This book can be read and enjoyed on many levels. From a simple action adventure to a thought provoking look at how relativism, secularism and existentialism can affect a society to the point where even the innocent can be involuntarily corrupted by intrinsic evil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for the next book!, August 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEAGUE OF ANGELS (Kindle Edition)
Epic characters, epic plot! This book is just awesome. I love the twists in the plot and it's almost as if you're with Chelsea as she runs from crazy Lumen killers, supernatural plagues and demons from hell.

A fast-paced roller coaster ride that will keep you at the edge of your seat as you plunge into action with the author's electrifying ability to write suspenseful, riveting confrontations between good and evil, while revealing the backstories of the lead characters. You can't help but root for the Archangels! Absolutely brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars None, July 20, 2013
This review is from: LEAGUE OF ANGELS (Kindle Edition)
A thrilling read, with a suspenseful narrative and well developed characters. Love the triumph of the good and the righteous. Looking forward to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, February 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEAGUE OF ANGELS (Kindle Edition)
I really did like this book. I am a Christian and to me, this hits really close to home. I can even get past the swearing to see the truth about what can and will happen. No, I am not a fanatic, but my belief and faith in God allow me to see the truths that are out there and the possibilities of how it is already starting. Good job Thomas Tan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Story - Bad Theology, October 25, 2013
By 
Santa Walt "Santa Walt" (Troy, TN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEAGUE OF ANGELS (Kindle Edition)
This would have been great story if the author had called it a "fantasy" and changed the religion from Catholic to some made-up name. I am giving it three stars for the story, but it deserves no stars for the theology and the implication that the Roman Catholic Church has the only people that are really fighting against evil. There were a some good theological statements, and some aspects of the evil being that were good, however, the theology that allowed the battle of evil against the Church to take on physical characteristics was completely un-Biblical and absurd. It also makes it seem that the only people fighting, or even capable of fighting evil in the end times are the Catholics and that is ridiculous. There are too many other real Christians in the world for that to be true. The idea that demons can be fought with swords, guns, or crucifixes is so theologically incorrect that I don't have words to describe how false it is. There are some good thoughts in the book. One is that salvation comes through Christ alone. Another is that the evil coming on the world in the end times is in great part caused by so many people sitting in the pews and standing in the pulpits that are not real, true servants of Jesus Christ. Tares among the wheat has always been a problem and is now growing by leaps and bounds like never before. When persecution of the church starts (as it already has), the tares will betray the true believers. As a non-Catholic, conservative evangelical, the theology of this book is offensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars League of Angels, September 22, 2013
This review is from: LEAGUE OF ANGELS (Kindle Edition)
This is a wonderfully written story that follows three priests during the end of days. They face demons, and hell hounds, they are chased by the henchmen of a international corporation bend on destroying God's church and all Christians. The priests , named after the archangels, fight valiantly to save a young woman who has spent her life deceived by evil and destined for hell if she refuses to repent and seek the salvation of Jesus. I loved this story, it is filled with action, conviction and an understanding of faith under extreme persecution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, September 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEAGUE OF ANGELS (Kindle Edition)
League of Angels is a chilling, prophetic vision of a tomorrow that has come too soon.

The world the author paints, a place enslaved by corporations and demons, is vivid and teeming with truth. And yet, even in the darkness of this journey, there is hope and it is a read that is at times spiritually uplifting as well. The story is loaded with high octane action that has the reader pulsing with excitement from the get go.

The archangels are the most bad ass collection of heroes since the crew that took on the Death-Star. And if need be, they can take confessions as well.

The book is also peppered with interesting insights into the rich tapestry of the Catholic faith.

If you want an exciting, thrill ride, packed with demons and the supernatural, going up against some of the most unique action heroes ever imagined, then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faith and Firepower, August 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEAGUE OF ANGELS (Kindle Edition)
I was slightly concerned when I started reading, as this book was definitely written from a Catholic viewpoint. Still, it is not tied down by dogma, and the key points of the story are quite good. I wouldn't recommend substituting it instead of daily devotions, and it is definitely not a book for the younger children, but anyone who enjoyed the premise of Left Behind will likely enjoy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book!, August 19, 2013
By 
Michelle Simmonds (Manchester, NH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEAGUE OF ANGELS (Kindle Edition)
I could not put this book down! There was so much action right from the beginning...and as a Catholic, I loved how the priests had so much faith, but were so very human as well, and kept on fighting evil with prayer even in the hardest moments. I really hope there is a sequel coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stupendous Beyond Belief, August 16, 2013
By 
Dorothy "DottieH" (Jersey Ciy, NJ, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEAGUE OF ANGELS (Kindle Edition)
Let me be honest here. I swore I would not do any reviews for the month of August to take a little vacation from doing them. Then came this book.....

For a work of fiction, this book has incorporated so very much of what is going on with the Catholic Church now, and what could very well be our future, that I find it an amazing and awesome read on many different aspects.

If anyone wants to read what the future will look like if we keep disallowing religious freedom in this world, just read this book.

If anyone just wants an awesome read, get this book.

If anyone simply wants to feel their faith renewed, get this book.

The story is very well written and contains many real world relevant facts. As the story unfolds, you will begin to see the many things going on in today's world and fear for the future of religion. Your feeling will be justified.

The characters are well described and very believable. As the story unfolds, you will find yourself so involved with them, what they are feeling and going through, that you will not be able to put this book down until you finish.

This book is about a trio of priests and the group that is fighting to bring back the Catholic Church and the Christian religion. You see, in the time setting of this book, the devil and all his minion are alive and well in the world. (Clarification here. Although I am Catholic and recognize the saints invoked to aid the group in the story, this book could apply to anyone of Christian faith.)

I don't know if this author wrote this book with so many real world facts on purpose or not, but I want to applaud him no matter what he was thinking. It takes courage to write a book with such an honest plot. I congratulate him more than he could ever know.

If I could rate the book to my satisfaction, I would give it 20 stars. Yes, it deserves all those.

I recommend this book highly. In fact, if you buy it, please pass it around after you read it, or recommend someone else buy it too. Who knows... reading this book might be able to save our freedom OF religion. Please note I did not say freedom FROM religion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

LEAGUE OF ANGELS
LEAGUE OF ANGELS by Thomas Tan
$4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.