Customer Reviews


302 Reviews
5 star:
 (269)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Larger than you think and excellent for play value...just a little spend
Most look at Lego value regarding the average amount per piece being below or above 10 cents. With a retail of $79 and a piece count of 449 this baby comes in at a robust 17.5 cents per piece. This is daunting at first glance however I have seen consistently that Lego will price according to the size of large pieces that are included in each set. Note that the Coast...
Published 18 months ago by RW

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Eventually boring
Like any other Lego set with almost exclusively specialty pieces: put it together, get excited for 30 minutes, then forget about it and gather dust. I have a 5 year old who needed minimal help with putting it together.
Published 24 days ago by porkister


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Larger than you think and excellent for play value...just a little spend, August 25, 2013
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Coast Guard Patrol (Toy)
Most look at Lego value regarding the average amount per piece being below or above 10 cents. With a retail of $79 and a piece count of 449 this baby comes in at a robust 17.5 cents per piece. This is daunting at first glance however I have seen consistently that Lego will price according to the size of large pieces that are included in each set. Note that the Coast Guard Ship itself is one big piece (as are all Lego ships) molded together that then has the bridge and other pieces attached to it. Due to the hulking nature of that piece as well as the molded raft, the value is solid, although not spectacular.

Every Lego build is unique and fun in its own way and this one is no different. The first bag is the pontoon helicopter which is straight forward and has solid playability with the 2 rotor blades and the hatch that opens and hinges easily to take the minifig in and out. There is also a small rotor on the rear. Next comes the Submersible which is small but unique and fun, followed by the lighthouse which is actually quite pedestrian. The ship itself is vast and full of playability. The helicopter has a place to sit on the front and the sub connects on the back and can be lowered and released down. The bridge has a roof that hinges so you can easily take a driver out and put a different one in. This still leaves plenty of room on the rear of the ship for minifigs to play or pose.

There are 6 minifigs and a dog as well as 3 sharks and a small crab so the accessories are nice. I would value those separately at $25 ($3.00 per mini fig and $2 for the dog/crab and at least $5 for 3 sharks) which means the remaining large peices would be about $45-$50. My son drives the boat around and puts people on and takes them off and flies the helicopter and floats the sub around. The dog adds a new a different twist which he can play with as well.

I am an expert builder so I found the build to be quite easy but I think most that have built Lego even here and there would not find this build to be challenging. It's a solidly built piece but like all Lego can certainly fall apart. It has lots of potential with the other new Coast Guard sets or other CITY sets. I combined mine with 60013 the Coast Guard Helicopter and although the total was a whopping $120 for both, it's a lot of play value. TIP: Keep the instructions and all the parts and then when you are done playing with it, sell it on eBay and buy something else. The trick is to make sure you aren't missing any parts!

Summary: Solid value if not excellent, but strong playability that is through the roof with possibilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptionally good value, November 8, 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Coast Guard Patrol (Toy)
This set offers a ton of play -- the boat floats, the raft floats, there's a helicopter (with pontoons -- DOES NOT FLOAT), there's a submersible (DOES SINK, heh heh), a lighthouse, and sharks. Plus 6 minifigs! Pilot, captain, first mate, second mate, and a happy couple. Plus a dog. Plus a popsicle!

So much goodness.

Some very nice details, like the bridge windows, the way the helicopter and submersible launch from the main vessel, and the outboard motor.

Great set at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty awesome Lego set, September 3, 2013
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Coast Guard Patrol (Toy)
This ship is much bigger than I expected. My 7 YO son had the whole set built in a short period of time, I think less than 2 hours. It has lots of fun stuff to do, a submarine, a helicopter, the ship, a lighthouse, and a separate raft. He brings everything into the bathtub of course, which this set is designed for.

On this hull, unlike the smaller fire boat, there seems to be a little spot to connect a water proof enclosed motor.

I wish Lego will continue to build these larger ships. A ferry that the Lego cars can drive onto would be fun. Like the ferries in Staten Island or Seattle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great bday fun, April 2, 2014
By 
zoomlens (Central VA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Coast Guard Patrol (Toy)
Hubby turning a major bday this year and grumbling about getting old. Very involved with the CG and the CG Aux so I decided to let his inner "Coastie" come out and play. He laughed, he swore and then laughed some more, and now can't wait to take his new "boat" to the next CG Aux meeting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun set, better for kids than adult collectors, July 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Coast Guard Patrol (Toy)
Not the best set for adult collectors, though my kids did like it for all the animals included within -- a dog, a crab and THREE sharks! The build for the Coast Guard boat is okay. It's designed to be a bathtub toy, so the base of the boat (the entire white area from the deck on down) is just one gigantic plastic piece. The lettering and graphics you see are stickers as opposed to being printed on, and I can't imagine they'll last long after being played with in water.

The set does have a lot of play value, again making it better suited for kids than adult Lego fans. The submersible robot and helicopter are both sturdy builds and fit well on the boat (which transports them). The lighthouse is grossly, hilariously out of scale, but I won't complain about a blue plate getting tossed into this set. The minifigs are pretty standard, though I like the radio headset the one Coast Guard minifig wears.

Oh, and I should just mention one more time -- SHARKS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous Value, a Real Play Set That Can Be Built Over and Over!, December 7, 2014
By 
This review is from: LEGO Coast Guard Patrol (Toy)
This was an early Christmas gift for our 4 (soon to be 5) year old son from his grandparents. His ability to build legos has increased steadily over the past year, starting with Lego Junior sets, with this being his first true "Lego" set for older children. He loves boats and airplanes, so right at the unwrapping he was hooked. Later that day, he sat down and proceeded to spend close to 3 hours straight building the entire set. At not yet 5, he needed a little help, but all in all, not to much - he followed the instructions and put most of the pieces on himself. Here are the huge selling features with this set:

1. Playablity - besides just the joy of building the legos themselves, this give your children a real playset - with the main boat, the submarine, a helicopter, a small boat, a lighthouse island, and don't forget - Sharks! My son loves to play with the entire set and act our various scenes.

2. It floats! A lego se that can be used in the bathtub, a huge added bonus!

3. Value - You get all the additional small features, and the set itself takes quite a long time to build. Our son got a ton of value from the building process (including some great time with his grandad).

Of all the lego sets we have in our home, this is the best one we have owned so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good bargain!, July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Coast Guard Patrol (Toy)
My little guy had seen this in a lego pamphlet, and had to have it. Problem was...I couldn't locate it in any of the big box stores or known toy stores. Amazon to the rescue again. There are alot of pieces and it takes a long time to put together. It was my son's favorite Christmas toy from Santa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful product, November 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Coast Guard Patrol (Toy)
It's wonderful to have a non-violent, constructive Lego product that features the sea, smiling people, and a positive rescue theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best birthday present ever, grandma!, October 14, 2013
By 
joan pagano (KENDALL PARK, NJ, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Coast Guard Patrol (Toy)
Anything that can keep an active six-year old boy engrossed for hours of quiet play is worth its weight in gold!
The Lego Coast Guard Patrol gets five stars for doing that! It is a wonderful hands-on activity that can be enjoyed
alone or with friends, sibs, or parent. Fun and educational, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LEGO Coast Guard Patrol, October 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Coast Guard Patrol (Toy)
Super Set! . My son loved loved this.. It was a happy Surprise for him and he enjoyed putting it all together so he can now play with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

LEGO Coast Guard Patrol
$79.99 $73.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.