Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lego's first 2014 Creator building, January 3, 2014
This review is from: Mountain Hut 31025 (Toy)
This set arrived on the market January 1st, 2014. MSRP is 39.99. It is often wise to cross check with Lego on price and availability.

What a great set! Every year, Lego produces two or three Creator houses, most of which are pretty good. This one is great. It has a lot of detail and many ingenious design touches. I highly recommend this set for its playability and the value of its parts (for making other models). There are three designs in this set (build one at a time) and all of them are variations on the mountain hut theme. They are all mini-figure size, so it fits well with other Lego themes (e.g., City, Friends). If you are looking for a less expensive Creator set, try the treehouse (#31010).

The main model for this kit features a small house with a mottled roof and chimney (with smoke coming out the top). The hut swings open for easy access and has a modest amount of interior detailing (cabinet/dresser, fireplace topped with an animal skull, table, firewood). The detailing on the hut is fantastic and the way that it opens (with a split window at the top) is a cool trick. The hut is situated next to a small alpine-like mountain with a waterfall and stream. The mountain has a hollow inside with a red gem hanging down from the inside. There is a single mini-figure (with a helmet) along with an ATV, brick-built eagle, tree, and a small number of accessories (pick-axe, coffee mug).

The second and third models are slight variations. The second places a small log cabin (with bed and stove) at the top of a mountain and features a bridge over a waterfall and stream. This one is brilliant with a lot of wonderful detail to the stream and the tree. There is a little brick-built kayak which is okay, but not as good as the kayak from set #5766 (Log Cabin) which this set effectively replaces. The last model is again a mountain hut but with the rockwork built into the hut. This small hut is hinged and includes a fireplace stove and a table.

I am a big fan of the Creator sets. They use, primarily, general use bricks and they have directions for different models. This encourages rebuilding and it provides a great source of varied bricks, much better than the basic brick boxes that have too many large bricks (e.g. 2 x 4s). The Creator designs get better each year with more detail and more innovative building techniques. This set has nice red and brown sloped pieces, different grays, and lots of brown (which is more useful than one might initially think). I was disappointed to see the use of what Lego fans call LURPs (large ugly rock pieces) in the construction of the mountain. I would have preferred an entirely brick-built design. But LURPs can be handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally! Lego set for my daughter., January 5, 2014
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mountain Hut 31025 (Toy)
I have two little boys ages 1 and 3 busy with Lego Duplos and a 9 yr old into Star Wars Legos, but my 10 year old daughter has never been interested in Legos until we found the Creator line today. She picked out this mountain set 31025 and also the treehouse set 31010. We are both excited to have a fun mother/daughter project we can spend time doing together.

The Friends line of Lego doesn't appeal to her at all, but she does want to have a set that has instructions and isn't just open-ended play. This particular set reminds her of upstate NY. It has an ATV just like the one she rides. I am sure she will find other neat details as we begin building, especially since 1 of the 3 configurations allows the mountain house to swing open for a good look inside. I also like the glass-like bricks (precious jems or crystals in the mountain) which add variety to the set and are pretty, I think.
I hope Lego continues to make sets that have dynamic, interesting, and fun play value which appeal equally to both girls and boys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really rad set!, January 9, 2014
This review is from: Mountain Hut 31025 (Toy)
Well I'm about 15 years too old for this set but it was a very fun and surprisingly challenging build!

As another review points out, the MSRP is $39.99 so don't pay more than that but it is definitely worth that. I also recently got B004478GGK and like this one a lot better. It's more complex and detailed which makes for a more satisfying build. I've been out of the LEGO game for a long time but apparently the cool new thing is to make sets that open in half to reveal the inside. I have mixed feelings about that design move but I like that this set incorporates little touches that allow it to snap together while open; a nice idea for display.

Overall a very solid set that any kid or kid at heart should enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THREE in one at a bargain price, March 15, 2014
This review is from: Mountain Hut 31025 (Toy)
This is a great set! All three build options focus on an outdoors cabin and scene. Although there is one minifigure, there is a LOT going on wiht this set! First, I'm a Lego lover. I couldn't pass up on this unique set because, unlike City or other Lego themes, this one is out doorsy. For those interested in bargains, there are 550 pieces in this set. On average a set this large would cost upwards of 50$ no matter where you look. For example, Lego Movie set "Super Cycle Chase" has 514 pieces and is 70$ (on Amazon). What I'm saying is, for the price you are getting a bargain amount of pieces which is excellent because this set allows your Lego building (or you if you are the Lego builder) to make three different things and experiment.

Each scene, or instruction, is easy to build. The instructions are easy to follow and each one has enough variation to feel like your creating a whole new scene. I particularly love the one featured on the box because there is a Bald Eagle, a mountain peak and a large cabin that opens up in the back (on hinges) to reveal the inside of a cozy, woodsy cabin. I'm not sure this set can compete with the thrill and excitement of a Batman, Star Wars or Lego Movie set but it is a unique, relaxed, fun, imaginitive, large set that will challenge any builder and expand any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looks great, but doesn't move very well., May 21, 2014
By 
F. Dixon (West Jordan, UT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mountain Hut 31025 (Toy)
This set takes a bit of time to put together. It look looks very nice, but there aren't enough pieces holding the base plates together, so the mountain part breaks up nearly every time it is transported from the shelf to the play area. Still, it is a very cool set, and we love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legos rock, February 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mountain Hut 31025 (Toy)
Excellent easy to put together my son loves Lego and put most of it together himself extra pieces for roof would have been good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lots of fun--and I'm 30 years old, February 20, 2014
This review is from: Mountain Hut 31025 (Toy)
This is my first new lego set, and I'm enjoying it at age 30. It's kind of like building Ikea furniture, except fun. I like that the set was reasonably priced compared with the insane cost of most Lego kits, plus you can build three different stages with it, so that's an even better value. This would make a great gift for kids--or grown-up kids--who like puzzles. Also a great starter Lego kit if you're not sure if you will enjoy Legos and don't want to break the bank finding out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Birthday Gift!, June 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mountain Hut 31025 (Toy)
I purchased this toy for my son's birthday. He is very creative and loved that he could construct three different homes with this set in addition to whatever he dreams up on his own. His birthday was last month and he is still thinking of new ideas with this great Lego set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good building for basic play. Like having multiple options for indoor and outdoor minifig adventures, June 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mountain Hut 31025 (Toy)
We like that this provides 1) a building for all of the other minifigs in the house to play in and 2) a setting for minifigs to explore. We use a couple of sets of buildings as a setting for minifigs to have adventures, so having a couple of options for both indoor and outdoor adventures for play is very helpful. Instructions were good as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lots of enjoyment, June 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mountain Hut 31025 (Toy)
my 7 yr. old grandson had lots of fun putting it together. directions were easy for him to follow and no missing pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mountain Hut 31025
$47.49
In stock on December 26, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.