Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DS Game
This was for my son and he has spent countless hours on it since it arrived. He is very impressed with the game overall. It's got great movie tie-in action. The characters talk, which is extra fun.
Published 21 months ago by drygulches

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Differences between handheld and console versions
So, I'm going to make comparisons between this game for the DS, what has been shown of the game on the consoles via convention demos (look on youtube), and my experience with other Lego games:

Unlike Lego Batman 2, which got rid of the open world for the handheld version, Lego Lord of the Rings has a semblance of open world. Whether it is similar or different...
Published 21 months ago by BSW


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Differences between handheld and console versions, November 3, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
So, I'm going to make comparisons between this game for the DS, what has been shown of the game on the consoles via convention demos (look on youtube), and my experience with other Lego games:

Unlike Lego Batman 2, which got rid of the open world for the handheld version, Lego Lord of the Rings has a semblance of open world. Whether it is similar or different to the console I cannot tell. It is not an open world like, say, Skyrim (which I haven't actually played). Its not even an open world like Pokemon games... However, there is no central hub but rather multiple, large resting zones between groupings of levels. You can replay the levels from these safe zones. There is an individual map for each zone and then a large map of middle earth so that you can quickly jump between zones. So far I have seen The Shire, Bree, Rivendell, Pass of Caradhras, Lothlorien, Rohan, Edoras, Helm's Deep, Dunharrow, and Osgiliath. There is also Minas Tirith and Mordor and possibly more but I have not completed the story yet. So (as of yet) you cannot walk everywhere, such as up to the Lonely Mountain. However, this is better than I was expecting for a DS game. Here are the let downs:

There are levels/fights that are in the console games that are not in the handheld. One example is Gandalf fighting the Balrog in the air as he falls down the large crack in Moria. Spoiler: You do get to fight the Balrog on top of the mountain later, though. (There is no Palantir option; the game switches between storylines as it pleases). Other levels that are missing but that I am not sure if they exist in the console either are: Battling the Warg riders, Battle of the Ents, the final encounter with Saruman afterwards, etc. The cutscenes are confusing due to lack of these encounters. There is also missing dialogue. The developers promise the most iconic dialogue would be in the game but there was no "One does not simply walk into Mordor" in this version.

There is no item/ability wheel to select for for each character as was shown for the console. In story mode, your character simply gets a new item or armor and has different abilities. Some abilities are missing, such as using Legolas' knives. In free mode, you see that you have multiple characters representing each level of their progression. Example: In free play, you part could consist of Frodo (Shire), Frodo, Frodo (Adventurer), Frodo (Phial of Galadriel), Sam (Shire), Sam, and Sam (Elven Rope). These can obviously be switched out with any character you have unlocked via Super Free Play button. (You only get two onscreen at a time of course). You get these items/character levels via the story mode. There is no Mithril blocks or Blacksmith forge to create new items as the console is supposed to have.

The "side quests" are not extra playable levels (unless I have yet to unlock them). Side quests are simply treasure tokens that you find throughout the game. These tokens have one purpose: to give to characters found in free play in return for red bricks. I believe most of these characters are unlockable at some point. Listing these characters might be an important spoiler... *wink wink*

My last complaint is that there is no multiplayer mode unless it must be unlocked. So no playing with friends on the DS...

Other important info for buyers: I believe there are 62 characters (many of which have variants (like Urukhai) plus three customs, probably totalling to over 80 but I haven't actually counted each variation. There are about 12 of the previous listed safe zones and 13 fighting levels, to my knowledge. No minikits or red/gold bricks in levels, only character and "treasure" tokens.

Final word: Not as good as console version is supposed to be. If you are going to buy the handheld version, buy the cheapest (DS). Even the better graphics of the 3DS won't make up for what the console version is lacking. However, this is based on the assumption that the DS, 3DS, and PS Vita games are all the same (as usual), but I have not played the others the latter to to know that for sure. All that said, I am still enjoying the game very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DS Game, November 18, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
This was for my son and he has spent countless hours on it since it arrived. He is very impressed with the game overall. It's got great movie tie-in action. The characters talk, which is extra fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not like the other games..., July 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
I'm just not a fan of this game. I enjoyed other ones like Star Wars and Indiana Jones because of the fun nature and ease. But this isn't a bit more difficult and the graphics are awful. They're really sketchy and jumpy. I wish I would've listened to the other poor reviews. Wouldn't recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game, September 19, 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
My son writes: This is a good game for the DS. I am sure it is better for the ps3 and 360 due to better graphics (I have neither of those systems). For $15 it is a good game.
You can play as over 80 characters, such as Aragorn, Frodo, Sam, Legolas, Gandalf, Tom Bombadil and Sauron. Over all: 4 stars to this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lego Lord of the Rings, December 26, 2012
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
My son gives this 5 stars. He thought they did a good job with the bonus levels. He also enjoyed the characters and how they each have special task/ abilities to complete levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game, February 24, 2013
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
Lord of The Rings is one of my favorite movies of all time, I also enjoy Lego games. So it made sense to get this game. Now I couldve gotten this for the XBox360 but didnt want to pay much so I got it on the ds knowingnthe graphics wont be that good and wont look as cool as the counsel versions.

But it was a fun game, took me over a week to beat it including the side stuff. It was nice to hear the voices from the movie rather then just kiddish noises and grunts. One other gripe is how you unlock the red bricks. Instead of finding them in levels you have to find items to give to people in the hub in exchange for the red bricks.

Now in the councel version, you can explore middle earth as the hun. Make the walking journeynfrom the Shire to Mordor. I was expecting it to be in. Kt ks but a very toned down version. But still nice.

Lego LOTR fornthe ds is a fun game even though they leave a lot of characters (you can still unlock them) and plot points from the movie. If you have a counsel get it on that...if you dont or want to save money or want a good ds game get this.

Pros:
-Fun game
-Lego versions of the characters
-Takes a week to beat everything
-Dialouge from the movies
-Open worldish hub

Cons:
-They leave out a lot of plot points from the movies
-The graphics
-Not as cool as counsel versions
-The way to unlock the red bricks...not that great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great game, February 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
I purchased this for my son who is 11. He's a fan of the movies and has enjoyed other Lego ds games. He loved this one too. wouldn't put it down...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ds game, February 8, 2013
By 
Doris G. Culverhouse (Forest, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
This was a gift to my grand daughter at Christmas, one that she put on her wish list and I bought it for her. She liked it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LEGO LORD OF THE RINGS, January 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
GREAT GAME, ENJOYED PLAYING AND FAMILY MEMBERS DID TOO. WOULD GET THIS GAME AGAIN. I PLAYED FOR HOURS AND HOURS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars YOUR KIDDING ME, July 6, 2014
This review is from: LEGO Lord of the Rings - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
Not what i was hoping for! If you're getting this game get the console version. Way too easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

LEGO Lord of the Rings - Nintendo DS
LEGO Lord of the Rings - Nintendo DS by Warner Home Video - Games (Nintendo DS)
$19.99 $9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.